ICE recommendation

intrigue

Jan 2, 2004
Hie guys,

My first post in ZTH so don't be too harsh on me if i make mistake. hehe..

Ok. This is the case here.. i'm a newbie in ICE thingy but i'm going to upgrade my stock ICE system on my Toyota Vios to a better one which is 50% on clear voice and 50% bassy ( if i want to listen clear music (pop, chinese song, etc ) i can also and sometime listen to trance,techno on weekend night )

So here's my plan..

i'm looking at this PIONEER DEH-P7750MP HU which is very nice. So already RM1000 gone for this HU with trade-in of my stock HU ( i'm not sure the price of it ). So with another around RM1000 max. What can i get for front speaker, tweeter, amp and sub? Or is there any better recommendation for budget around 1K or perhaps a lower HU unit model

BTW, for the HU i saw someone selling for 9XX only.. so if budget went out of it i might get it at forum.

So guys / ice-er pro @ ZTH, hope u guys can help me out with this.

I'm not into pro ICE but just want a better ICE system from my car.
Thanks a lot.

intrigue

Jan 2, 2004
ya.. that's what i wanted. Hopefully i can get some recommendation here before i make a trip to those audio shop since i'm a newbie sure kena chop chop kepala one.

HU, Amp, Sub, Component set.

BTW, do i need to change rear speaker? Or is it sufficient to just change front speaker.

elaineho

Oct 11, 2005
Hi Intrigue,

I would like to suggest U an Eclipse 3403 MP3 player,2 pair RCA out,50watts 3 band EQ Xetec 4 channel amp,100 watts RMS & up grade speakers next time,if any other questions give me a buzz........
:tee:

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
What type of bass you want? A solid bass or normal bass, what is the volume you want when you want to blass? Is it until people outside can see the car vibrate? If not, then a decent 6"X9" 3 way will do the job already.

fathi

Sep 21, 2005
malacca
elaineho said:
Hi Intrigue,

I would like to suggest U an Eclipse 3403 MP3 player,2 pair RCA out,50watts 3 band EQ Xetec 4 channel amp,100 watts RMS & up grade speakers next time,if any other questions give me a buzz........
:tee:

Hi Elaineho

First question if you don't mind : Are you a girl ?
Second question : Do you know houw much Xetec 4 channel cost, actually I am considering to purchase that amp for my speaker but not sure about the match with my speaker Focal.

To Intrique;
Changing Head Unit to eclipse is one way to go, I am using eclipse HU (5425) and uyou won't regret it. it is just below RM 1K. In term of Sound Quality regular Pioneer could not go nowhere close to eclipse.

Fathi :rock: :rock:

intrigue

Jan 2, 2004
fathi,

how does eclipse 5425 HU compare to pioneer 5750 / 7750?

I saw the player for eclipse but it isn't that nice compare to 7750. hehe.. how about the functionality?

How much is 5425 and 5435 in the market now?

I notice that 5435 is better than 5425 in terms of support WMA, 5 light illumination and remote control.

fathi

Sep 21, 2005
malacca
intrigue said:
fathi,

how does eclipse 5425 HU compare to pioneer 5750 / 7750?

I saw the player for eclipse but it isn't that nice compare to 7750. hehe.. how about the functionality?

How much is 5425 and 5435 in the market now?

I notice that 5435 is better than 5425 in terms of support WMA, 5 light illumination and remote control.
Hello Intringue

If you compare all those feature & Function (illumination, graphic etc) off course Eclipse do not have that, For that you could go ahead for Pioneer & Kenwood, they are better in that area.

But if you go for Sound Quality you go for Eclipse; they have 5 volts 55 ohm, (High Volts low impendance). The signal Loss is reduced. 5525 & 5535 differed in term of 5535 have remote, support WMA and 5 color display(illumination)

Eclipse goes for somebody who want a good sound to be listened but not much of a fancy picture on display. Some other barnd like McIntosh and Nakamichi and High End Denon, Clarion & Alpine also good but they are expensive.

But Pioneer also have high end product like premiere series but that expensive.

Well this just my opinion do not really want to put down any brand instead

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
for 2k just upgrade HU & front component first, will give u lot more improvement over your stock system. use this as foundation for future upgrades to get better sound quality.

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
fathi said:
Hi Elaineho

First question if you don't mind : Are you a girl ?
Second question : Do you know houw much Xetec 4 channel cost, actually I am considering to purchase that amp for my speaker but not sure about the match with my speaker Focal.

To Intrique;
Changing Head Unit to eclipse is one way to go, I am using eclipse HU (5425) and uyou won't regret it. it is just below RM 1K. In term of Sound Quality regular Pioneer could not go nowhere close to eclipse.

Fathi, hopefully you go to www.gr8Tunes.net There has 2 person selling his Xetec amp..but U must hurry..

1) Xetec 4G-600 (4 x 100wRMS) used = RM1000, 012-2112375
2) Xetec 4G-300 (4 x 75wRMS) New = RM1150 nego, 016-2217111

As I know this distributor (last time laa..Audioactive) has been stop bring/import Xetec amp to malaysia.

fathi

Sep 21, 2005
malacca
oldskolboyz said:
Fathi, hopefully you go to www.gr8Tunes.net There has 2 person selling his Xetec amp..but U must hurry..

1) Xetec 4G-600 (4 x 100wRMS) used = RM1000, 012-2112375
2) Xetec 4G-300 (4 x 75wRMS) New = RM1150 nego, 016-2217111

As I know this distributor (last time laa..Audioactive) has been stop bring/import Xetec amp to malaysia.
Thanks Dude .. appreciate it

intrigue

Jan 2, 2004
just went to a local accs. shop and get quoted

1X 800W AMP ( brand i forgot already ) for RM 8XX

4X infinity mid speaker for RM XXX

2X 10" MOMO Subwoofer RMXXX

Altogether is RM2000 including installation.

HU i was recommend by them pioneer 5750 there selling RM588.00 which i think can be much lower.

What do you guys think?

Hi Sifu,

Please throw some light on me as I don't understand how "ignition coil" convert voltage. Let's say:-

1. Power input is 12vdc, coil ratio is 100:1 but the ignition coil output becomes about 24kv.

2. CDI output of 350vdc is sent to the input of ignition coil with 100:1 ratio but the ignition coil output becomes about 50kv.

Regards.