HELP: windows server 2003 IIS

alfeoturbo

Nov 19, 2003
Sel
dear guys,

my company is going to upgrade to a new server soon where i need to migrate all the IIS(internet information services) configuration/setting, to the new server so that we wont interup our customer IIS settings.
does anyone out there know the steps on how to migrate these IIS from the old server to new server?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
alfeoturbo,

from what platform to Win2003?
any customise .DLL and cluster environment involves? If not, it shall be very straight forward.
If I'm not mistaken, looks like Win2003 using IIS 6.0 (Windows 2000 server using IIS 5.0), but you never know what the Microsoft change at the backend.
http://netg.com/catalog/detail.asp?c=US73326

authentication mode? are you using AD? or simple login name and password? watch the step for AD.

what you can do is
best way is to ask ur boss to send you for a training, Microsoft have tones of course out there for upgrade from older version to newer.

use VMware to simulate the entire migration before you touch on the production server, or go and play around with your customer staging environment.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
If NT4 or 2000 to 2003... not easy my friend. I ended up entering the settings manually. If 2003 onwards, there is an export tool built into IIS6 itself. So far, I've migrated 2003 IIS6 to another 2003 IIS6 in less than 5 mins. Just remember to replicate the directory structure on the new machine.

Now, back to topic... anyone has better ideas? There is an export tool for moving IIS5 sites to IIS6 but it's commercialware and very expensive.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
acbc, i dun think alfeoturbo still care.. hahaha
NT4 migration to 2003 is a pain of ass.

how to make my kancil faster without changing the engine or upgrading it with a turbo