Experience on 3SGE Beams on AE111

normality78

Rusty bro,
cukup bro. As u can see in BEAMS forum, so far there is only 1 very siao fella dump in $$$ to get 200whp mark which i personally dont feel wise to do so.

my ex setup enable me 160whp which i felt really enough for street fun. If Kajang boss still charge the same rm8k+ for full 3S conversion, i'll go for this route instead 20V.

cabut 1st, sure kena kao from 20v....

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
Rusty bro,
cukup bro. As u can see in BEAMS forum, so far there is only 1 very siao fella dump in $$$ to get 200whp mark which i personally dont feel wise to do so.

my ex setup enable me 160whp which i felt really enough for street fun. If Kajang boss still charge the same rm8k+ for full 3S conversion, i'll go for this route instead 20V.

cabut 1st, sure kena kao from 20v....
Bro Normality,

Cukup or not, that's rather individual opinion la. I have 185 ps whp but still feel not enough leh, maybe I'm damn greedy lor :biggrin:

I'm merely pointing out that with the list of mods, it should or should I say, expected to produce more horsepower than 170 whp.

I'm just using my 3SGE Redtop Beams (same engine as subject) as comparison because I'm only using a piggyback blue e-manage with hardly any mods but producing slightly higher whp than the mentioned car, that's all. You know, kinda surprise & curious la.

Discussion only, not to say who power or not / enough or not enough power...:laugh:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Bro Normality,

Cukup or not, that's rather individual opinion la. I have 185 ps whp but still feel not enough leh, maybe I'm damn greedy lor :biggrin:

I'm merely pointing out that with the list of mods, it should or should I say, expected to produce more horsepower than 170 whp.

I'm just using my 3SGE Redtop Beams (same engine as subject) as comparison because I'm only using a piggyback blue e-manage with hardly any mods but producing slightly higher whp than the mentioned car, that's all. You know, kinda surprise & curious la.

Discussion only, not to say who power or not / enough or not enough power...:laugh:
Really respect you...

Not many would be willing to spend the time, trouble and money on this project. I've Considered this option before too... But after taking into account the cost an all, Blacktop + turbo will be much less trouble and cheaper... Haha.... I also thought of 3S-GTE and 2ZZ-GE before...

Hope all goes well with your plans bro.. Please keep us updated! :burnout:

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
BT turbo much less trouble & cheaper? Dude, I dont think so...else we would be having plenty of BT turbo around here. FYI, turbo charging any NA high comp engine is not gonna be much less trouble and cheaper. If ZGE, yes... but for 20V, a big no-no unless the engine is built up and compression lowered.

Btw sifu, 3SGE Beams redtop should make 160-165whp out of the box right?

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
I guess so, judging from the BEAMS Owners Group forum & my own. Mine was 160 whp (200ps@crank-claimed) bone stock. General guidline for transmission loss is about 22%. So 200 x 0.78 = 156...correct lor.

2ZZGE stock = 140-150 whp. 190 ps@crank x 0.78 = 148 whp.

BT20v 165 ps@crank x 0.78 = 129 whp (should be PS@wheel).

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
I guess so, judging from the BEAMS Owners Group forum & my own. Mine was 160 whp (200ps@crank-claimed) bone stock. General guidline for transmission loss is about 22%. So 200 x 0.78 = 156...correct lor.

2ZZGE stock = 140-150 whp. 190 ps@crank x 0.78 = 148 whp.

BT20v 165 ps@crank x 0.78 = 129 whp (should be PS@wheel).
So much loss? But I've seen stock BT dyno and get around 140 whp.

---------- Post added at 05:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:55 PM ----------

BT turbo much less trouble & cheaper? Dude, I dont think so...else we would be having plenty of BT turbo around here. FYI, turbo charging any NA high comp engine is not gonna be much less trouble and cheaper. If ZGE, yes... but for 20V, a big no-no unless the engine is built up and compression lowered.

Bro... Yes it's costly and troublesome if go high boost. GZE much easier. But low boost < 0.4 bar can. No need change low com pistons. Just 2mm metal head gasket. And another alternative instead of using GZE is to change the BT conrods to SVT rods.

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
So much loss? But I've seen stock BT dyno and get around 140 whp.
"General" guideline, bro. Not exact figures mar, haiyar.

Even atmospheric changes could cause you a few Hp & not to mention different dyno machines giving different reading.

I've seen with my own 2 eyes, a Vtec gaining extra 10 whp due to cold air induction on the dyno, bro. So, my advise is not to be too sensitive about the dyno figures la, Hehehe.

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
"General" guideline, bro. Not exact figures mar, haiyar.

Even atmospheric changes could cause you a few Hp & not to mention different dyno machines giving different reading.

I've seen with my own 2 eyes, a Vtec gaining extra 10 whp due to cold air induction on the dyno, bro. So, my advise is not to be too sensitive about the dyno figures la, Hehehe.
Just CAI give a diff of 10 whp?!?! Serious? Then I think I should invest on one...

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
Just CAI give a diff of 10 whp?!?! Serious? Then I think I should invest on one...
I haven't tried it myself but that Vtec did. It was running on a standalone ECU & quite highly modded; produced over 200+ whp.:adore:

normality78

Rusty bro, so far, what car u ever "main" with? Vtec? Mivec?

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
He eats vtec for bfast...mivec are like snacks for him :P

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
input from an owner of ae111 or even ae101 who did put 3sge or 3sgte is much appreciated. the topic is getting interesting now.
issit true the weight distribution issue is still there or just a myth?

veloc, some question:
injector u using which one? clutch set? gear box? metal gasket issit easily available?
t.q

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
Rusty bro, so far, what car u ever "main" with? Vtec? Mivec?
The usual lor, Vtec, Mivec .... but still the worst sore loser was the Altezza that threatened to beat me up after he lost !

He eats vtec for bfast...mivec are like snacks for him :P
:laugh: where got so terror...

input from an owner of ae111 or even ae101 who did put 3sge or 3sgte is much appreciated. the topic is getting interesting now.

veloc, some question:
injector u using which one? clutch set? gear box? metal gasket issit easily available?
t.q
Mine may not be an AE101/111 body but don't think it's so big difference & since I also have a BT & 3S in the same model, I could feel the weight difference. However, with the right suspension set up, I don't think it's a big issue in handling.

A fine example would be the MR2 which was suppose to have a very balanced weight distribution but in reality, it's handful to drive, especially in the wet when it becomes too tail happy.

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O

veloc, some question:
t.q
quite sometime didn't chat with you...:adore:
going for upgrade?

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
How about the gearbox? u guys using back the standard 3SGTE/3SGE or use GT4's gearbox and 'lock it' (like mitsu) for 3SGTE?