ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
PART 1 - BIG HOLES - PAGE 1
PART 2 - SMALL HOLES - PAGE 3
PART 3 - COMPARISON - PAGE 4

PART 1
Tired of your noisy straight flow exhaust sound?

Here is a simple solution. :biggrin:

Do It Yourself Exhaust Silencer. :rofl:

First thing you need to do is to measure your exhaust outlet diameter. Go shop around with a measuring tape to get an ideal TEH TARIK mug for it. Make sure you buy the mug which is a little smaller than your outlet size or else it won't fit. Bought this mug for RM2.50 :rofl:

Okay, i got my mug. Remove the mug's handle with a hammer.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Okay, here comes the muffing calculations. My outlet is 3 inches and i would like to convert to 2 inches with this mug muffing.

The problem now is that i don't have 2 inches hole saw. Should you go buy one? NO! Try to optimize your tools. I have 19mm, 22mm and 25mm hole saws with me.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Now, i turn things to metric as i prefer to deal in metric. My mug is about 75mm in diameter which is about 3 inches.

I want to create holes which is about 2 inches in diameter which is about 50mm.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Area for 50mm hole is that i want;

2(Pi)(Radius)

2 x 3.142 x 25mm = 157.1mm square = 2 inches

I have 3 sizes of hole saws as mentioned above.

First try, use 19mm x 2 holes.

2 x 3.142 x 9.5 = 59.7mm square x 2holes = 119.4mm square

doesn't reach 157.1mm square which is 2 inches hole.

How about 3 19mm holes? 59.7mm square x 3holes = 179.1mm square

which is way too big.

Second try, use 25mm x 2 holes.

2 x 3.142 x 12.5 = 78.6mm square x 2holes = 157.2mm square

this is what i want! same as 2 inches area.

Conclusion, 2 holes of 25mm diameter! :rofl:
Please neglect all the fluid dynamics properties. :sleep:

This can be applied to those who doesn't have hole saws. Measure your drill bit's diameter and get the area. Your required mug area divided with bit's area = the number of holes to be driven to the mug.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Mark your mug, and start drilling. Since the mug is stainless steel, please be patients and use water to cool things down. Mark and drill! :rofl:

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Lastly, drill a small hole below or side of your outlet to secure the mug. Remember to secure it tight and check regularly if you are not using any lock nuts. It might fly off and hit someone or something. :nurse:

THE END :burnout:

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
The effects;
- The BOOMM BBOOMM BOOMMM exhaust sound PARTIALLY turns to wind sound which sounds like fart without sound BBOOFF BOOFF BOOFFF.

- Power drops.

- A little more millage, fuel saving.

- Save you $$$.

- Less complains and grumblings from wife, girlfriend, mother in law, father in law and etc.

- Less noise = less stress = less tired in long journeys.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
i also using a 3inch outer diameter exhaust but it is S flow. so far still can tahan the sound. wait canot tahan then i have to learn from ur DIY.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
sifoo... no wonder today i saw ur muffler lubang why shining shining inside... hahaha... home made silencer... looks vr nice as well... bravo bravo...

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
this DIy saves a lot $. if u want to purchase that silincer it cost u RM30+-

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
sifoo... no wonder today i saw ur muffler lubang why shining shining inside... hahaha... home made silencer... looks vr nice as well... bravo bravo...

Bro master jedi, why la my handsome face don't see, see my lobang? :rofl:

When want muff yours? Call me along ya, i help. :biggrin:

Shiny wheels and black tyres make your car look sharp and cared for. So how do you keep your tyres shiny? I once saw a friend put some kind of white sticky liquid, like hair shampoo :blink: (and it smells like shampoo) but I forgot to ask him what it was?

How do you keep your tyres shiny? Whats the cheapest way?

Thank you guys.