exhaust piping diameter...

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
ok, my question to all sifu's is... for example, b16a, recommended piping size is 2.3". now this 2.3" is internal diameter or external?

because i notice most 2.3" are actually the external diameter, meaning, measured from the outside, not inside. therefore, if its 2.3" outside, inside diameter would be like.. 2.1"? 2.0"?

which is which? pls help me clear my mind.. hahaha :hmmmm:

Last edited by a moderator:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
i read sumwhere d fd2r comes std with a 2inch pipe, and a valved muffler. 2.5inch is way too big for a b16

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
even in japan, exhaust piping/exhaust size are about 2.3" inlet for the 1.8s, so again my question is, the 2.3"/2.5" we normally request is the inside or outside diameter?

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
even in japan, exhaust piping/exhaust size are about 2.3" inlet for the 1.8s, so again my question is, the 2.3"/2.5" we normally request is the inside or outside diameter?
Hi bro,

I thought u have your own answer already as you stated above in Japan exhaust piping/exhaust size are about 2.3" INLET for 1.8. So it's inside diameter lo...:biggrin:

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
That inlet is the exhaust inlet not the diameter.. Inlet meaning the point where the exhaust pipe connects to the muffler, therefore the exhaust inlet. Not the inside diameter

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
That inlet is the exhaust inlet not the diameter.. Inlet meaning the point where the exhaust pipe connects to the muffler, therefore the exhaust inlet. Not the inside diameter

Ok ok.But my opinion is if u are on bigger diameter, you will get more pickup but no top end & vise versa where smaller diameter, you will get more top end & less pickup.

Correct me if I am wrong...:biggrin:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Walau bro arrowhead. You really pay attention to accuracy oh... 2.3" inner or outer also got much difference on performance meh? This is really called fine tuning man... Serious racer ah? :biggrin: Anyways, not expert here. Support you. After you find out please share ^^.

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
sil80-13 : i think its the other way round. larger size normally gives u more top end cuz no restriction at all, however smaller = higher velocity = torque? i'm saying this based on my experiment with a b16a throttle body and b18cR throttle body. i lost torque when i changed to the 1.8 one.

veloc : hahaha, its not fine tuning. its making the most out of what i spend on. this is because i got no money hahaha!

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
True... Smaller for good low-end response and torque and bigger for top end power. But my nightmare experience is... If you are using auto, don't ever simply increase the diameter and don't ever use straight flow. Must s-flow.

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
Haha. Sorry dude. Now only got to know I say it wrongly. Actually what u say is what I want to say...Lolz...:biggrin:

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
no probs, we are all here to learn...!

anyway, no one knows? alamak. i dont plan to spend 1k-ish on the wrong exhaust piping diameter...

BE5RSK

Dec 31, 2009
Besaout
I think it should be calculated based on inside diameter, not outside. Unless, all the steel producer company can standardized the thickness of the steel that they producing.

x363

Jun 11, 2011
Ipoh/JB
I deal with steel pipes in my job... We have what it called "schedule" on pipes...

example, we will have 2" schedule 10 pipe and 2" schedule 40 pipe.... in this case, the schedule 40 has a thicker wall. The OUTER diameter always the same regardless of wall thickness.

SCH10 = Outer Diameter = 2.375; Wall Thinkness = 0.109; hence inner diameter is 2.157"
SCH40 = Outer Diameter = 2.375; Wall Thickness = 0.154; hence inner diameter is 2.067"

In your case, I should think the exhaust manufacturer is call the "system" a 2.3" system based on the outer diameter for the convenient of marketing.... I haven't come acorss 0.3" gap type of pipe measurement before... the pipe size goes like 1/2", 3/4", 1", 1 1/4" 1 1/2", 2", 2 1/2", 3"

Hope it helps...

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
what i read was, changing to a bigger pipe and straight flow zorst gained only 1hp, AFTER the engine was retuned with the new zorst setup, and dat was done on the dynojet iirc so dat 1hp doesnt mean anything to me. type Rs are given the utmost attention by honda, i think theyve given much attention to sumthing as simple as zorst setup, kan? its better to get a bigger cam set, then think about changing the zorst size imo

stabk

Sep 2, 2008
Hello everybody....
as far as i know...for japan n stell piping 2.3" is inside diameter not from outside to outside.for normal piping (besi putih) 2.3"is outside to outside diameter....it,s ok to you to go with 2.3" besi puith for b16a.ada duit lebih go for steel n ori pipng japan.performence mmg ada different ma....bunyik lagu syok steel piping....

HI all,

I need some info on car inspection issue.
I need to do car Ownership Transfer from my abang to myself.
The car is Wira aerobac 1.5 SE.
few years back the car having some issue on the gearbox so i change the Ori Auto Tranny to Manual witout doin any inspection.

Can i know how is this goin to be done and how much is the cost of doin it?

HOpe some1 may help to giv me some guideline how and what should i do in order to hav things done properly witout any problem...