Engine Transplant or Full Overhaul ? Need advice

Norns

Sep 23, 2006
Hi morning all ZTH-ians :regular_smile:

Im seeking for advice from all pro here . My car is satria 1.3 stock engine with 110000 mileage. havent done any overhaul before .

If i wish to do major overhaul in my mind, i know its at least rm1k+ and need 1 week.
Which one should i go for ? Major overhaul or Engine transplant ?

If i were to choose engine transplant, i just need any engine 1.5 enuf lor. no need super engine haha. but the engine also must good condition la. if i buy the engine n sumore need overhaul sure die liao :X-:

====================
the symtom of my car :

1) car very weight & lose power
2) very eat engine oil . just change Q8 semi oil, now only 2000km oledi almost finish
3) leaking oil at the iron stain under the engine ( will upload pic tonite )
4) very petrol comsumption
5) white smoke
6) got one mech say my conrod kong when he try rev high, he hear the sound

however, my car have no vibration at all n the aircond still cold. engine never die automatically also ...

need advice from all zth pro :shades_smile:

Norns

Sep 23, 2006
Hmm, if oil leak n piston replace, issit consider top or full overhaul ? the mech did mention sumthin like conrod also kong ... @@

im okie with 1.3 . my main priority is fuel consumption hehe .
Cos i heard quite some ppl say if wan do full overhaul, better juz change engine cz price almost same.

how much if i change the whole engine including everything neccesary parts

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
hmm.. similar like me before, bought wira 1.5 carb from used car, after 1 year, white smoke, high fc, leaking here n there.. mileage nearly 250k that time, then go for overhaul, minor parts changed, cost around rm800 plus port n polish, but drive for less than a year feel bored, then now converted to other engine already, haha..

if u got more budget, go for transplant, 4g91 is gud enough i think for satria, later if not satisfy with the power also can upgrade to 1.8..

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006

If u really wanna to overhaul your car...ask your mech to loose out the whole engine and count back how much money that u need to fix your engine back...
If the price to fix the engine back is near to the price for changing engine...y dun u just top up a bit to change the whole engine?

Changing engine is depends on your luck..infact if your mech is willing to help u...
bring him along when you want to buy your engine...

Seems its time to change...
As M@tt said.. u can upgrade somemore if u feel not satisfied with 4g91..
Good Luck..

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
haha..
i was oso facing such prob around 1 yr back.....

dat time.,....
i hav 2 choices....

first...
a mech told me i can change the block to 1.5 ones....
then if i wan can skim it n fit in bigger piston....
the engine number send to machine shop n do my ori engine number...
so dat no need send for inspection......
like dat edi considered overhaul......

but the down side of it....
u need to run-in the engine...
means hav to drive slowly n cannot rev for a period of time.....
which i'm sure i cant do it....
coz i still in college dat time...
need to travel JB-nilai often...
driving less than 100km/h on highway is suffering.....

end up i opt for conversion...
converted to 4g91....
so far so good....
but the first few months after conversion is the "window" period la....
some parts sure need to change one...
if u r lucky then oni small small parts...
if not then BIG prob lo.....
i kene compressor...
cost more than 400 to replace....
then few mths later kene clutch...
oso 400 plus.....

so...
both oso hav its pros n cons la....
in fact...
conversion cost more than double....
n u need to send for inspection....
n oso hav to reserve some money for wear n tear parts.....

as for changing 4g15 block.....
its like overhauling la.....
wif a little more increase in power.....
but u hav to drive like old man for some time.....

both oso requires almost the same time to do.......
conversion i paid RM5k for half cut+installation+inspection
the changing block one i was quoted 1.5-2k if i not mistaken.....
so....
its up to u now....
budget plays an important role here.....

as for FC...
its subjective.....
every engine hav different FC.....

alright...
this is wat i've gone through....
happy modding to u dude.....

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
celcom "everybody wants more"
if overhaul 1k,see around any good condition 1.5 DOHC then get ler...

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
piston ring kong, thats why eat oil n white smoke, time to do full overhaul about 1500 - 1800 bucks (some might get cheaper), 2500 bucks for a 4g91 (not include installation, about 800 to 1000buck, n u have to replace the existing timing belt and etc etc).... bring a calculator and press it and total it.

been thru, done that.

Norns

Sep 23, 2006
looks like very hurt onli >_< btw what is my original 1.3 engine ? issit 4961 ??

Current engine does 270km per rm50 petrol .

I heard bigger cc save petrol move rite ?

haihz really make me headache le =__=!!

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
looks like very hurt onli >_< btw what is my original 1.3 engine ? issit 4961 ??

Current engine does 270km per rm50 petrol .

I heard bigger cc save petrol move rite ?

haihz really make me headache le =__=!!
Bro,
Indeed its safer than your current 4g13 if u use 4g91 provided it is ori condition thus the biggest problem is at you leg also..

Just like my car..ori kancil that time a lot of people said safe petrol and turbo cars drink petrol a lot..after change to L5 auto some more...currently can go 310km at 50bucks petrol..

:alberteinstein: Heard that 4g93T FC is better than 4g93n/a also..

Good Luck and hope this info provided is useful to u..:marchmellow:

Norns

Sep 23, 2006
Can I know how much roughly total price for transplant to a normal higher cc engine ? maybe even ori 1.5 proton engine in good condition would do ... dun need those super engine like GSR or turbo lol

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
Can I know how much roughly total price for transplant to a normal higher cc engine ? maybe even ori 1.5 proton engine in good condition would do ... dun need those super engine like GSR or turbo lol
The workmanship is the same just the halfcut and part price will be different.
if u hardworking enough to source around it will safe your cost also..
JPJ wise, if you do it by ur own also will be much more cheaper than ask runner to do it for you..
Good Luck..:marchmellow:

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
yup, try to get trust person for help..

btw don't worry on ur fc, like mag9556 said, its simple.. just think like this, same body but better engine, of coz less pressure n energy to carry the body right??

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
waaaa..4g13 50bucks 270...
and i thot my savvy was very fuel consuming...

Norns

Sep 23, 2006
hmm but i realy no idea how is the price ...

can rm2000 settle everything ?

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
waaaa..4g13 50bucks 270...
and i thot my savvy was very fuel consuming...
Hei, Simon..
Just wanna to ask that howz the Savvy FC..?
ok or not?? just like mention at the press 0.08 / km??
Planning to buy 1 for my wife..:captain:

Norns,
If overhaul 2k sure enough but change engine...mmm..
Very hard except...u can get engine 'lantai' with ecu and wiring and use back all you current things..:marchmellow:

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
if 2k maybe enuf for overhaul + change to 1.5 blok + mod little bit, don't think enuf for transplant, unless u get super duper cheap one..

Norns

Sep 23, 2006
change to 1.5 blok ??
what u mean by that arr ?

u mean can convert my 1.3 direct to 1.5 ??? i didnt know that can be done also hehe. if can, i will most probably overhaul n convert to 1.5 lorrr

need to know more details for this pls taikorr

Is it a good idea to cut the shifting rod making it lower?? So that it looks "sporty"..
will it affect the changing sequence or any disadvantages?

hope any DIY maestro or ZTH sifu sifu tht did b4 give comment.....
thanks...