Driving the 20v

arvinth10

Sep 16, 2010
hi guys,

i've recently acquired a toyota seg with 4age 20v. can i know whats the max rpm we can rev to?? even thought the redline around 8k, is it really safe to rev to 8k???

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
Yes why not ...but dont keep it revving at 8k for a long period la .. overheat lo ... if u got watch those circuit race video .. the racers maintain their rev around the red line area .. but they got cooler all those .. normal stock then better dont race it haha

bera

Oct 27, 2007
if i'm not mistaken factory ecu cuts at 7800 rpm...but that is set for reliability sake's...as for constant high revving...erm... up to you kot i think (hear what your right foot is telling you).... :)

arvinth10

Sep 16, 2010
ooohhhh ok guys. thanks a lot. but hw bout the gearbox. im using the 5 speed version. is it durable enough to take the high revs. or are there any limitations. such as the max rpm we can go on first gear etc etc.

hon_cs

Jan 23, 2004
If im not mistaken BT stock ecu got 2 version. 7800rpm and 8200rpm. 4age 20v engine is 10yr++ lo. Unless you have done full overhaul and balancing. Rev it till 9k also no problem.

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
i use to redline my 20v everyday....hehehe....
talking about a very reliable engine...

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
i use to redline my 20v everyday....hehehe....
talking about a very reliable engine...
weiii..Adeen..lost friend where are you now...ha ha let have teh tarik...

Stock Engine rev until limit for sure should be no problem..use to it..but make sure your engine in good health...make sure your engine hot enough, oil press stable, water temp in normal temp..and your engine oil need to check/change regularly..according to your pocket..he he

wanna rev more i got blitz ecu for sale..he he

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
engine oil - checked
no white smoke - checked
Air fuel ratio - checked

know your car...know your limit...
then whack all you want... :D

judean

Dec 16, 2010
sifus...
sum noob questions i wanna ask...
i came across some BT users installed da trumpets...
is thr any risks upon installing em...??
guess fuel consumption wud be higher a bit rite...??
how bout getting things sucked into da engine...
since thr r no filter rite...??
hekhekhekhek
:biggrin:

arvinth10

Sep 16, 2010
oohhh. i guess its safe to rev it from time to time then. i'm just worried bout the gearbox. btw can i ask what is the max rpm to rev for first gear?? sorry for the noob questions. hehe

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
just rev it all the way till almost 8K, then shift up before the rev cut. u will get a very consistent acceleration as next gear will high in rpm.
if u dunwan to heat up the engine so much, just change at 7k rpm.

both way is okay for as long your engine is healthy, and gear oil is still good. get those high grade gear oil such as torco or motul. it's expensive no doubt, but it's worth it. i hardly hear of 20v picah gearbox

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
alway revvvvv like that..still keep 200 rpm
gear 1 - 8300rpm
gear 2 - 8300rpm
gear 3 - 8300rpm
gear 4 - 8300rpm

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
if it was me, i'll modify the stock ECU & rev it untill 9000 rpm..

hohoho :driver:

* in Initial D, Takumi rev it until 11000 rpm.. hoho

oh... about the trumpet.. put some netting on it.. u don't want foreign object in your engine..

fuel consumption i think its the same (depending on your right foot ;p )