DIY My Simple CAI.

12oY

Nov 9, 2004
kuantan
Originally posted by CK82@Mar 18 2005, 16:59
may i know where can i buy the hose :huh: ? what is the price for diameter 2 inch and length is 2 feet? thanks :lol:
i also use air con hose... buy at air con shop...

slk850

Dec 17, 2003
This is my friend's wira aeroback 1.3 GLI DIY CAI. B)

Replace the CAI pipe and connect to the stock air box.

Wrap with Superlon, make the CAI pipe tight on with the air box.

The CAI pipe going down.

Pass by battery area.

The end of CAI pipe. (Air input)

B) B)

slk850

Dec 17, 2003
Originally posted by khguan@Mar 21 2005, 22:05
ooh.. same as mine.. hehe :P B) hose diff color niah
[snapback]828642[/snapback]​
Yup, it working good with stock air filter....the sound are diff...and abit faster responce on 1st gear. Thanks. B)

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
That is where the air filter plays its role liao hehehe :D

slk850

Dec 17, 2003
Originally posted by DJgErM@Mar 23 2005, 09:57
but i've diy a funnel as the opening...i found that more dust n insects r stuck in my air filter wo...any advise sifus?
[snapback]833032[/snapback]​
Normally wat i do was, do check my engine bay frequently....especially air filter area. B)

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
yah.. when u do CAI.. it will be like dat... so open up ur filter often n check for dirt.. blow it clean by air gun... if filter too dirty just change it..

then u can change to those washable wan.. :)

drexchan

Nov 23, 2004
Bukit Jalil
drexchan.fotopic.net
it'snot necessary to have the opening placed behind the bumper.. do like mine, in the fender area.. the air there is equally cool as the air outside..

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
why does urs come out from the side ah?? the lubang (where the air goes in) is heading the front one kah?? :unsure:

drexchan

Nov 23, 2004
Bukit Jalil
drexchan.fotopic.net
slk850,

how did you mount the hose to the airbox? Some superlon and double sided tape i assume?

beware of the heat.. i might drop-off when the heat melts the adhesive on the double sided tape..

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
well.. if u install ur CAI hose in front of bumper... then de air going in will be faster cos it is forced into it.. when ur car moves.. then it create some higher pressure in ur airbox..

am i rite?

car is going faster now that i have mod my entire exhaust system.

however, need it to stop in time too when i need it the most.

please advice on which section to modify 1st..

car - 2004 kia spectra 1.6 (a/t)

THANKS !!