D.I.Y Megasquirt

bob apexi

May 23, 2005
kepong
anybody have install it in kancil fitted with l2 turbo engine? it does support 3 cylinder engine rite?

xtorm

Dec 9, 2003
hmm rm200 for a full v2.2 board and a MS1? if tat is the case im interested, but im abit scpetical abt getting all the stuff from jalan pasar tho, can all the component b found there?

as for v2.2 board with ms2 and the housing, it will actually b rm500++, the only thing is shipping and tax which add quite abit of the cost.

if we can do it all in house, y not, im interested, very!

edit, juz run tro all the component needed at megasquirt, all of it can bought from farnell, component only sould b no more then 100 (rough estimate) provided u bought the partial kits which includes the
printed circuit board (PCB),
pre-programmed 68HC908GP32 processor (U1),
MPX4250AP MAP sensor, and the (U3),

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
ivan78 said:
anywhere, any successful squirter in malaysia?
as far as i know, there are only a handful of squirters running on malaysian roads.
there's the first vr4 running on megasquirt in malaysia, zaki(curious why he hasnt replied here). then there are a few cosworth 16valve powered 190E's, and that's about it i think. never heard about others...

i'm a newbie squirter, used it for a couple of weeks i think. all running fine except some jerkings above 5500rpm due to the injector being too small for my setup. need to change to bigger injectors. other than that, anything lower than 5500rpm is great. town cruising is great, idles good even without usage of stepper motor, hot/cold start ok, all ok.

now accepting donations of big injectors suitable for mitsu engines...

lanlee

Jun 4, 2006
all of it can bought from farnell, component only sould b no more then 100 (rough estimate)

BROTHER XTORM, i'm interested to buy the component. woder if u can help me, very hard to find them here at my place.

Nitro-Meth

Feb 15, 2006
From what I know the components from farnell isn't cheap. I have seen the complete BOM list and I don't think you can completely hook up a megasquirt for less then RM200...

Nitro-Meth

coldfusionpower

May 29, 2005
planet earth
hi ... Xtorml, Lanlee ... i also wanna buy all the components needed .. but for the v2.2 board. i want to buy the partial kit v2.2. let me know when you wanna buy it ...

btw, do i still needed to buy the Open Element Air Intake Temp sensor to make it work ? or i can get it from other car and buy it at half-cut shop ?

really interested .....

lanlee

Jun 4, 2006
ms 1 v2.2 component

quotation from farnell, but component not complete.

Farnell Components (M) Sdn Bhd (376822-U)
Lot 607, 2nd Floor, Back Tower
Jalan SS13/1K
47500 Subang Jaya
Selangor D.E., Malaysia
Tel 1800 88 6223 (+603 888 11 223)
Fax +603 5636 6226
www.farnell-newarkinone.com.my
[email protected]

For the attention of MR CASH SALE
QUOTATION
Our Reference . . . : 1103-2867/00 FOONGC
Your Reference. . . : 1103-2867/00
Requested by. . . . : MR CASH SALE
Order Date. . . . . : 4/01/2007
We thank you for your valued enquiry referred to above and have pleasure
in submitting our Quotation, offered strictly under our Terms of Business
as printed in our current International Catalogue.
Carriage & Packing .00
===============
TOTAL 217.44
===============
ALL PRICES ARE QUOTED IN MALAYSIAN RINGGITS

*KINDLY FORWARD PAYMENT IN ADVANCE AND F
AX OR EMAIL US THE BANK IN SLIP BEFORE W
E COULD PROCEED YOUR ORDER*
The above prices will be held firm for a period of 30 days. Orders
placed and delivered after this time however, may be subjected to changes.
Item will be delivered upon receipt of cash payment or clearance of cheque made
Kindly make payment in favour of Farnell Components (M) Sdn Bhd.
Please contact us should you require further assistance. MBB 5141-8721-5055.
Yours Faithfully
for Farnell Components (M) Sdn Bhd.

Customer Service
[email protected]

zamiex

Nov 1, 2005
interesting.. maybe can join with u to build this...
how many more component missing from farnell?

lanlee

Jun 4, 2006
item
no:
6 2 C11,C20 0.01"103K" or "0.01"
11 2 C21,C30 4.7"4.7" or "4.7 uf"
19 3 D17,D18,D19LED T1-3/4 case
20 2 L1,L2 1uh Small coil of wire wrapped around a ferrite core
46 1 40 pin dip soket
47 1 DB37 Plug Female
48 1 DB37 Hood
49 6 Nylon Screws 4-40
50 6 Nylon Nuts
52 1 Case EAS-300 (LMB)

listed components not included inside quototion. will be cheaper if we order in group, because some of component minimum 10-50 in one order. component for ms1 v2.2 only, take note....

xtorm

Dec 9, 2003
polyester cap 5%
0.1uf------0.62 x 10 6.2
0.22uf-----1.26 x 5 6.3
0.001uf---0.57 x 5 2.85
1uf--------- 2.97 x 5 14.85
0.01uf----- 0.77 x 5 3.85
0.033uf--- 1.08 x 5 5.4 ------------------39.45

mica cap 5%
47pf 2.10 x 1
20pf 2.08 x 1------------------------------4.18

tantalum cap 10%
22uf16v 13.49 x 2
4.7uf40v 24.59 x 2 ----------------------------76.18
or mayb u can use 20% type
22uf16v 2.33 x 5
4.7uf25v 2.01 x 5-------------------------------21.70 save rm54!!!!

diode 0.40 x 15 ---------------------------------6

resistor 1/4w 1%
total 13 type, each min order 50pieces, each 0.10
so 13 x 50 x 0.10---------------------------------65

4N25 opto-isolator--- 2.69 x 1
LM2937ET-5.0-------- 9.24 x 1
MAX232CPE----------- 9.42 x 1
mc33151p------------ 6.64 x 1
1uh inductor--------- 4.64 x 2
PN2222A------------- 0.40 x 5
IRFIZ34G------------- 11.33 x 2
32.768KDZF--------- 1.18 x 1--------------------63.11

total rm253.92(199.44 with the 20% tantalum) tis is for v2.2 board
connector, LED and casing not in listed, get tose from jln pasar
most of the component in bulk

u save us66 from the web, which is around 237.6, let say tax 25%, it will b rm300

worth it or not is totally up to u, resistor and capacitor use r far better then tose order from diyautotune

the costly part is tantulum cap! i will get the 20% type cos pf budget :P
if u r using jalan pasar resistor and cap (except tantalum) i think ull get it alot cheaper

cipan_supercas

Feb 4, 2004
www.draxecu.com
Yes, you have some gain here by buying local.
Have a look at this comparison.

Diy Megasquirt 1 v2.2 COMPLETE KIT = USD134.00
(You should already have a Megasquirted car running by now).

Megasquirt 1 v2.2 partial kit = USD 68.00 (you still have to pay the shipping).
Your local parts (RM250) = USD 60.00 (+-)
Total = USD 128.00

Difference from complete kit (134 - 128) = USD 6.00

What more you don't have?
By the time you guys been discussing this, I already have installed a few units and they already have been driving their cars on the road atm. However, have fun. That is something worthless.

xtorm;
For the 22uF 16v capacitors above; change that to 47uF 25v.
Either tantalum or electrolytics will do.
MAX232 - change that with ST232.
4N25 - change that to 4N28.

regards,
Drax Tuner.

Hi guys...

Attention to anyone who is considering to go to Eunos 1 Utama.

My friend send her car for car wash at 1 Utama Eunos today and guess what had happened. One of their man bang my friend's car bumper. I was so shock to hear this from my friend.... and I wonder is it still safe to leave our car to those so called 'car care' centre.....

very bad very bad... remember ... don go there.!!!!