Change rim and tyre, pressure change?

donCityZ

Hello,

Just been wondering,

Ori rim = 14". Tyre = 185R14 60
tyre pressure indication at side of door = 210...

then i chg to rim 15" Tyre 195R15 55.
tyre pressure oso still follow 210? or must be less????

help all sifuss...

mm koi sai..

follow indicator at the tyre.....

a tyre got indicator meh?
can teach me wer it is?

the measurement for tires are commonly psi, which means pounds per square inch. It is a measurement of how much pounds can one square inch of surface can support, so usually you will notice that the heavier the vehicle, the higher the tire pressure, since that one square inch of surface needs to support xxx weight of the vehicle.

You have to understand that this is doesn't exactly relate to the volume of air in the tire, simply put, bigger tires, more volume to get the 40psi mark, and smaller tires will need less air volume to reach the 40 psi mark, so regardless of what tire sizes you choose, you can stick to the manufacturers recommendations (usually located at driver door, or in the glove box) because they have already researched how much psi you need to support you car's weight without the tire sidewalls deforming to much (too much bulge).

The only reason for the pressure recommended is to prevent extreme deformation of the tire sidewall. Some tires specially designed for rally or circuit have strong thick sidewalls to avoid deformation, so you notice that the racing teams usually play with tire pressure to reduce or increase grip.

Hope that helps.

thanks so much shiro for explain...

so why my mech say my tyre pressure too high when i follow exactly at door?

recently my car i notice there are some noise at front tyre area.. only occur when driving very slowly (like a walking speed) at uneven surfaces.. the sound is like the tyre is loose (ge derk ge derk type of sound.. aiyo how to explain sound in text?) anyway i send to mech, they said it is absorber.. so chg abosrber... oso same noise! i loss rm440 for 2 pcs absorber oledi... old absorber sure is kong la.. bouncy very bad.. but it seems not the cause of this noise la...

note:previously this noise dont have. noise occur when i kona kaw kaw hi speed around 80-100km/h. basically its my fault oso pushing the car to the limit.

shiro u have any idea?? or anyone else?? pls give me some idea the possible cause? im thinking any bushes or something bengkok oledi.. or something? but my mech cannot detect.. aiyo must chg mechanic la like tat...

HELPP!!!

is depend. now im using 195/55R15... and im using 220kpa.

you can try to pump in 210kpa 1st and try out. if too soft or steering is heavy, then increase it to 5 or 10kpa. play around with it until u get comfort from it.

if too bumpy, then reduce it. if steering too heavy, then add in more air.

donCityZ said:
thanks so much shiro for explain...
so why my mech say my tyre pressure too high when i follow exactly at door?
Did you ask him what's the correct tire pressure? and how did the get those numbers? And the only way to get a correct reading is using a tire gauge, don't trust those fuel station air pumps. They can misread up to 5psi or so. And there's difference when the tire is already heated up, and when it's cold. If I'm not wrong, the tire pressure on the door is the cold pressure, so you might want into account for pressure variations as temps increase.

recently my car i notice there are some noise at front tyre area.. only occur when driving very slowly (like a walking speed) at uneven surfaces.. the sound is like the tyre is loose (ge derk ge derk type of sound.. aiyo how to explain sound in text?) anyway i send to mech, they said it is absorber.. so chg abosrber... oso same noise! i loss rm440 for 2 pcs absorber oledi... old absorber sure is kong la.. bouncy very bad.. but it seems not the cause of this noise la...

note:previously this noise dont have. noise occur when i kona kaw kaw hi speed around 80-100km/h. basically its my fault oso pushing the car to the limit.
Since I cannot hear the sound, I can offer guesses.
A) tire is not okay already, probably one of the sidewall weaken so much that the sidewalls bulge unevenly, so your tire not exactly round when carrying your cars weight, yet apart well rounded when taken out for balancing.
B) Driveshaft worn out.
C) Wheel bearing.
D) Some of the bushes on the suspension system worn out, thus there's free play, causing sound.

But these are all guesses.. I can only guess what the sound could possibly be and where the sound is coming from.

shiro u have any idea?? or anyone else?? pls give me some idea the possible cause? im thinking any bushes or something bengkok oledi.. or something? but my mech cannot detect.. aiyo must chg mechanic la like tat...
HELPP!!!

That's my idea... yeah... you should try find a honda specialist.. I think there's a thread here in Honda subsection in ZTH about reputable honda workshops by hattech V.

shiro..

my tyre is still new woo.. flower still beside there got..
my guess oso suspension bush.. so im going for that first la since cheaper.
i prefer go for cheaper options first lo.. thx for the ideas!! really help man!
i will direct go to the Hnda wkshop.. but do they overcharge or not?
i afraid some mech/shop simply overcharge coz brand is Honda..

hm... not try dont know rite? where u go to shiro for ur car svc stc? recommend me good one can ah?

I dunno about the charges, because I'm a DIY person...

The only times I send to workshop is when I don't have the tools for the job.

And my regular workshop is in KB, not in shah alam.

Sorry cannot help on that.. try posting in hattech's workshop thread, maybe you can get more infor there.