Budget ICE, pls intro

bacardilimon

Jun 19, 2005
Klang
hello,

I drive proton waja, and just change my HU, from previous Pioneer 3850 to Sony 460, attract by its USB function.

Very disappointed with the sound quality after change, even my stock HU (Clarion) can produce much better sound quality (stock component, speaker).

so now I plan to upgrade my car's component, need all the sifus here to give some valuable advise, with budget of ard RM1000, whether to:

1) change my HU, keep my stock speaker.
2) change component set.
3) change component set + amp <- is it possible?
4) change component set + amp + woofer <- if possible, any recommendation?

I cannnot tahan the extremely flat sound quality by Sony HU, if I change only component and amp, will it become better?

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
HU is like the brain of ICE... changing other parts FIRST may/may not increase the quality of sound/music u hear

stormyx

Dec 10, 2006
get a pioneer 6950 .. around 699 i think.. some people got sell it inside zth..

inside0ut

Oct 27, 2005
me oso got the same prob.since change stock HU (TOYOTA) to sony HU,the sound quite flat compared to stock one.any comment?thanks!

craziechild

May 11, 2005
Sarawak
since your HU is still very new.. any chance of selling them out again? hehe... then you will a little bit more budget to get a good lower-end component set and a better HU as well...

cheers...

bacardilimon

Jun 19, 2005
Klang
thanks bros.

if I add 1 amp, will the sound quality change? because I dont think I'll change my HU since I'd use it for <1month, and I don't think I can sell it with a good price.

now my problem is:

1) sound from front component is 'too' clarity, I dunno how to explain, but it feels like the sound produce is un-real, and sometime its tooo loud.

2) my bass from rear speaker lost.

I dont need a high-end sound quality, just want my previous quality back.

so what is the easiest and cheapest way to reach that?

pls advice, thanks.

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
Just my opinion for simple SQ set-up.. U should go to mycarhifi.com & find suitable stuff with Ur pocket.. .

seller, bvalve 016-2217111
i) Soundstream Picasso Amp, PIC4.640.. RM750 nego (2nd)
- 80wrms X 4 at 4Ohm
- 320wrms X 2 at 4Ohm
- 80wrms x 2 + 320wrms x 1 at 4Ohm

seller, brandonyim 012-6509189
i) RS Audio Base 6.5" comp.. RM1400 (NEW)
ii) RS Audio Smart 6.5" comp.. RM900 (NEW)

seller, calvinci
i) Phoenix Gold Amp, M44.. <RM1100
ii) Phoenix Gold E/cross, AX406A.. <RM600
iii) Precision Power Amp, PPIArt series A204.2.. <RM600
iv) Phoenix Gold Amp, M50.. <RM600
v) Precision Power Amp, PC2100.. <RM800
vi) Rockford Fosgate Amp, Punch 600a4.. <RM750
vii) Sounstream Amp, MC300.. <RM1200
viii) Alpine HU, CDA7949E.. <RM750 .. also known as Pure Deck
ix) Sony HU, C90.. <RM1500 .. the only 1 Sony best HU
x) MB Quart 6.5", QM218.. <RM500

or If U want 3way component set for front, Hope U can visit KF Audio at Aman Suria & Find Mr. Liew ask him for New Alpine 3 way comp SPX-17T (blue cone, made in Denmark by Vifa) also known as Alpine F#1 Flagship coz U can get this component around that price as well (<RM1350, if I not mistaken)..

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
if I add 1 amp, will the sound quality change? because I dont think I'll change my HU since I'd use it for <1month, and I don't think I can sell it with a good price..
Adding amp wont help U coz the OEM speaker can't accept more than 15wrms & can't play lower than 180hz..

now my problem is:
1) sound from front component is 'too' clarity, I dunno how to explain, but it feels like the sound produce is un-real, and sometime its tooo loud..
This coz Ur OEM speaker play all the freq from 5hz to 20khz without proper filter. Ur HU did not provide this feature.. What U can do, use Bass/Treble feature in HU to make it more realistic. This feature U can adjust (decrease/increase) Low/Mid/High level in dB if I not mistaken..

2) my bass from rear speaker lost..
same as 1

so what is the easiest and cheapest way to reach that?
The easiest way to me, dont & never upgrade your OEM ICE.. use it as is...

bacardilimon

Jun 19, 2005
Klang
bro oldskolboyz,

thanks for ya' advice.

so if Im looking for a not-so-bad amp and component, is it possible for me to get it in <Rm1000?

lets say rm500 for amp and rm500 for component.

I'd saw some seller sell JBL GTO component in lelong.com, with only RM<300, is it trustable? can I buy that?

and I'd saw some poster here recommend the V12 amp, and its <RM200, 1000w, is it reliable?

so any opinion on this?

I'll go to aman suria later to look for Mr. Liew. thanks.

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
lets say rm500 for amp and rm500 for component..
Try look at Pegasus brand.. also good for beginner with tight budget

I'd saw some seller sell JBL GTO component in lelong.com, with only RM<300, is it trustable? can I buy that?
U can audit it 1st, If U think it worth & suite U.. go ahead, why not? JBL product to me is not worth at all, not sure for others ppl.. coz JBL product in our market vs product they use in competition is diff like earth & heaven.. They use Prototype product & special made by Harmon Kardon in competition..

and I'd saw some poster here recommend the V12 amp, and its <RM200, 1000w, is it reliable??
If I not mistaken, Years ago we oledi discuss about this product.. dont wasted your money on this amp.. If U open the amp & look at the component inside than compare with component inside Remote control car (RM39.90-69.90, last time very popular.. like Evo 6 & Subaru impreza rally) or Pasar road Astro remote control.. After that U will know what I mean....................

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
try increase budget bit more la, 1k very hard..u end up with 2way speakers only and no amp, a pair of 2 way 6x9 rears and 6.5" fronts

if 2k would be good, can get something like 800 amp and 1200 component set.

bacardilimon

Jun 19, 2005
Klang
bro oldskolboyz,

may I know wer can I get Pegasus component?

just came back from KF Audio, and met Mr. Liew, he is a very nice guy, after analyze my problem, he suggest me to add an active woofer for ample bass, and change my component to 6.5" one, + installation and rca able is ~1.7k RM. Dem impressive after listen to this setup.

The brand that he recommend is Alpine, may I know is it worth to spend 1.7k for this setup? and may I know is there any other brand that can competitive with this, and cheaper?

Thanks.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
cant go wrong with mr liew, most of us still go to his shop or have been his customers..

hi to all,
are there anyone want to sell the WAJA original CD player.
i just want to buy the CD player only.i don't want the changer.
if got,please let me know the price...