airtrek having temperature issue

4G93NAPower

Nov 23, 2008
i recall theres some way to by-pass the OEM temperature map for airtrek ECU to start the fans, but seems like the old forum had gone so sifus please help me with this.

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
bro,u mean mod the ecu setting to let the fan run fullspeed?actually the fan controller is just behind the fan.

nyantong

Jul 26, 2008
Rather than bypass, why not get a lower temperature fan switch?

4G93NAPower

Nov 23, 2008
how does the low temp fan switch looks like? is it universal?

the foreman say my fan controller kong d, now whenever i stop for too long (eg traffic jam) temperature start to climb @@

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
bro,u sure ur fan controller spoil?if fan not moving ur car will overheated within 10min after start ,nonit wait til traffic jam.

Jan 3, 2008
Check the fan motor.. Maybe the motor not spin at the actual speed..

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Check the fan motor.. Maybe the motor not spin at the actual speed..
Yup, mine wasn't spoilt. It was more like not spinnning fast enough and sometimes, not spinning at all. WHen you knock it with a spanner, it will spin again. It's motor brush all eaten up la.. wish I can just change the brush like how I can change my 540 motors (RC'ers will know what is this :D)

qamarl

Jul 1, 2012
selangor
some said ...we need to change to performance thermostat (68 degree Celsius) to keep engine cool by allowing the coolant to flow through the engine sooner rather than standard thermostat. Anyone here know.... what the best performance thermostat for airtrek?

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
perdana thermostat open at 76'c n cost rm100++
sard,ntcl cost open at 68'c n cost rm300
all can fit without problem.

Yadado

Jan 23, 2005
Why don't mod to have the fan start spinning the moment you start car?

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
I guess I need to sort out my heating system too. When it's hot, it's retarding so badly that the car felt very sluggish and lack of power. I went to Ah Wah's place last Saturday. I'll need to get a 65c thermostart, a 85c fan controller (original only spins at 95c) and FMIC. All these aren't cheap though...

Lifting hood will certainly help but I am reluctant to do it. Don't like the gap while hood closed. Next alternative is to remove the rubber strip along the top of the firewall... that will help to expel heat when the car is moving.

4G93NAPower

Nov 23, 2008
bro,u sure ur fan controller spoil?if fan not moving ur car will overheated within 10min after start ,nonit wait til traffic jam.
the foreman say the fan controller going to spoil as it syok syok turn on and off the fan... will check whether the fan motor is in good condition or not

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
bro,ur fan syok syok when traffic jam + noon time off...very scary leh

darkcolt

Jul 25, 2006
stutzedward, wat is your current temp for your fan to activate? Is it 90c kick in to 85c stop or is it
85c kick in to 80 stop?

Wat is your highest water temp at stationary, without air-con, in sunny weather.

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
If I am not mistaken when Ah Wah checked last time, it starts the fan only at 90c. I do not have a temperature meter to measure that, Ah Wah used info-display to check.

Wanna know whether the material of steel use to make the extrator will
make any differents?

What is the advantage of using stainless steel compare to normal steel
for exaust and chrome steel? How about the disadvantage as well?

Some one recon me to install a stainless steel extractor base on mivec
design. Worth changing it? How to make sure it is really make of
stainless steel?