Air Filter Comparison..

ethanphoon592

May 11, 2005
Basically thats very right, i get a lot of shoot back when i say putting in a freeier flow filter gives better performance and if you know how to drive you'll save on FC also, the only problem is no one can resist from flooring when they floor an open pod, they just want to hear the sound and that actually triggers the high fc syndrome, imagine just for listening to the sound, you are actually flooring 30percent more each time, my take is still a drop in for retaining that high end torque feel.

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Which wan is better, Apexi or K&N ?? In terms of performance??
You guys got a point there. :regular_smile:
But comparing a drop in vs a open pod, does it mean that open pod contribute more to low end torque as wat ethanphoon592 ur saying that drop in provides more high end torque instead??

jack_736

Oct 13, 2005
bro's.... have a question...
say la got got 3 situations

1. drop in and always floor... how the FC ?
2. drop in never floor, hows the FC ?
3. drop in, occasional flooring, hows da FC ?
4. open pod, never floor, hows da FC ?
5. open pod, occasional flooring, FC how?? same as no. 3 ???

thx alot guys, im thinkin of changin my open pod to drop in, in light of petrol prices and the never ending struggle to go thru da month....
need to do some research b4 investing more money... *sigh*

thx alot guys, appreciate it...

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
jack_736 said:

thx alot guys, im thinkin of changin my open pod to drop in, in light of petrol prices and the never ending struggle to go thru da month....

thx alot guys, appreciate it...
actually jack, i have used both open pod n drop in... i dun feel much difference, except for the sound .. (or maybe coz my drop-in had a reasonably fine CAI n heat insulation thats why) ... so actually, if done with a heatshield/insulation and good CAI ... drop in or open pod is almost the same .... the FC is totally dependant on how heavy is your right foot ... juz that open pod will juz make u wanna floor it more often . heheh.. cheers!

ethanphoon592

May 11, 2005
Thats right on nitrus, so guys i can't comment in so detail about your questions regarding your FC behaviour on different driving habits, yup if you pull a CAI hose to your ori box, you'll get good results too, i don't know about the rest but i really feel the emptiness on 3rd gear onwards around the midrange area when using open pod, wherelse with the stock box setup you will still retain the high end torque, the next time just experiment la, try driving at 3rd gear onwards and measure how fast your speedo is going up with open pod and standard airbox with drop in. You'll see the difference, and of course rpm sure fly up faster with open pod but how about speedo?

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
logic is here when come to chaging AIR FILTER

1st --> cleaner air not good?
2nd --> more air not good?
3rd ---> air is FREE

4th --> no such thing changing air filter will consume more fuel

FC high or not depends on your right foot. Once u bought an AIR FILTER 1 shot bleed la....but u enjoy 1st and 2nd for free for long term.

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
SkYwAlKeR said:
yeap yeap... after changing mine to K&N filter, my FC improves by 1km/litre....
on highway, my fc now is around 14km/litre.....
Cool...U change ur filter to K&N drop in or open pod type??

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
jack_736 said:

the FC should be improved after u changed to high performance air filter....less air restriction oledi....ur car breath easier oledi....

so for the FC...it is not solely depends on ur air filter....sumtime bad fc maybe because of dirty tb, spark plug....etc etc

ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
my CAI setup

just wanna share my CAI setup...
more pictures in my cardomain link on my signature

love the sound & the rpm/speed needle moving faster now...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
superlon as heatshield??... anything to support the superlon??... such as aluminium sheet or planks??... later ur superlon flaps around in the engine bay susah lo...

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
superlon flapping around can create more cool air ma ... wakakakakak!! juz kidding ...

i think his superlon is nicely secured la, see how straight it is ..

Just got my honda city. Thinking of spending on alarm,
since i am in KL. Crazy place for car owners, n yet i dun want to lose my
car. Placing my bet on GSM/GPRS options, looking for branded only, no china
branded or taiwan branded. detailed description or model no or website will
be much appreciated, locations of installation provided would be better.
Currently located at Damansara uptown area.

Wanted a full feature 2 way alarm, remote start, sms notification n
control, as well as...