4g93p vs mivec 1.6 vs 1.6v6 vs 4g61T

syaq

Feb 23, 2004
Seremban
www.keretabaru4u.blogspot.com
this 4 engine...when it's in wira sedan...which one will win?...drag 400 meter...without any modification...what's this 4 engine hp?...differences?...

zan

Feb 20, 2005
i believe it would be 4G61T becoz its turbocharged. the rest are all NA

tuned

Noob
Jul 4, 2005
the 4G93P is the only 1.8 you listed, and since there's not replacement for displacement.....its a recommended choice, be it cost, realiability, age and parts wise.....anyway..it has 140hp...with sufficient torque

the 4G61T is a turbo...but well it has aged, and its mounting doesn't fit a wira, JPJ would be a hassle...

the 6A10 or 1.6 v6 is very much a cruiser....so dun expect any outstanding performance from it....by the way...since its rare....the some of its parts could be even rarer to source for...

the 4G92 MIVEC being a common choice, has a factory figure of 175hp but when dynoed most stock are just running a fraction less hp than as claimed...could be an impressive NA but its still a 1.6 and some parts could be difficult to source for...the newest MIVEC you can find to fit your wira..would be at least 10 years old....

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
I agree with tuned....For performance 4g61t is the best but very old skool la....The parts also quite difficult to find it.

MiVEC is good but some parts is difficult to source for and quite expensive.

4g93 is recommended cause the parts is quite cheap n easy to find either new parts or chop shop.For example the new MMC Japan timing belt price worth rm100 only.(cause I am using this engine la...)

6A10 is good for cruising and smooth running but the performance..ermmmm I think 4g92 single cam pun can bit it la...

pleezn

May 3, 2005
yup, agree with guys. .from all 4 engine.4 me i prefer 4g93 engine.more torque then the rest.except 4g61t engine la.if play pickup i think mivec will go 1st.1-2 mivec. .then at 3rd gear 1.8 smoke mivec. .but all depents how the driver launch. .if 1.8 driver have heavy foot(spin spin spin), mivec can win 400m.

expenditious

Dec 31, 2004
UNDER THE SUN..
well for me 1.8 much easier to maintain parts n engine wise..

mivec 1.6 also a good engine...but age wise...a bit slacking..

4g61t...well quite haigher maintanance wise...

the v6...rare laaa...

based on overall performance...

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
if all the engine in good health,then 4g61t will win for sure becoz it's 2.0liter.torque is much more better than others.4g93p is better than mivec 1.6,becoz of its higher displacement so the power curve is better than mivec,due to the mivec engine u need to push it all the way until the mivec kick in then till redline,ur heart won't feel pain?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
syaq said:
this 4 engine...when it's in wira sedan...which one will win?...drag 400 meter...without any modification...what's this 4 engine hp?...differences?...
Among 4 engines you quoted for comparison, first i would say 4G61T is out since you can't compare Turbo and NA. Turbo power is x 1.7 times of NA.

Ok, let get back to the topic.

Talking about dragging - 4G93 vs 4G92 Mivec vs 6A10 i would say 4G92 Mivec would win with advantages of Mivec technology.

FYi, 6A10 is NOT built for power.

Age of engine (Top is the newest)
1. 4G93
2. 4G92 Mivec (suprise Mivec is older then 4G93 NA ler :_: )
3. 6A10 (smallest CC with 6A1x series)

Horsepower
4G93 - Proton spec says is 138-140HP
4G92 Mivec - No info but ppl always claim around 150-180HP)
6A10 - Peak power - 103 kW (140 PS) @ 7000 rpm

Maintainance
4G93 - Parts easy to find and not very expensive
4G92 Mivec - Certain part is expensive but it's 4G92NA and 4G93 compatible
6A10 - Hard to find and expensive ?? (since not many ppl use this engine)
4G61T - Turbo always give high maintenance

Conclusion
If i were you and wanted to have the car for daily drive and play with power once a while :D...i will go for 4G93, if really got extra $$ then maybe can think going for Mivec. Current halfcut price for this 2 engines is freaking high due to JPJ no longer allow conversion to 2.0 Liter. Will not look into 6A10 since as been mentioned its RARE and 4G61T is very old engine (1st production was around 1988/1989 for Mirage i think)

Everything is JUST my 2 cents and own opinion. Hope this help.

tuned

Noob
Jul 4, 2005
nice info g88 dude,

in addition....the 4G93P was rated at 140hp but on wheel its dynoed at 120+ (MMC version) and <120 (later and Siemens versions)....

the MIVEC has higher factory ratings or 175...but that's on 100 octane fuel + japan's cold weather.....hence, ppl only manage 130 to 140 on dyno here...
but well one will have to be paying 5 to 6k for a 10 years or older halfcut for it...
not forgeting hassle for sourcing certain parts that it doesn't share with other 4G9X rides....i.e. the plug cable...try asking around and one will know...

kob3bryant dude,
the 4G61T is a actually 1.6 DOHC Turbo deriving from a pre 92 or pre-cyborg mirages...the 2.0 turbos are labeled 4G63T...:)

MaNofWaR

Nov 22, 2003
On the AiR
hi all....
still prefer 4g93 though, was using it since 99....clocked 200K+ km on odometer.
still reliable with generally no major probs encountered.

however there are ppl hybrid it with mivec head....but hasnt really proven excellent in terms of reliability. furthermore it aint cheap to do.

anyone with dyno proven hybrid sucess? care to share

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Personally i don't advice to rojak your engine (hybrid sound so high end the word :P) but yet when you have problem it's very hard to troubleshoot since like 4G93 compression rate and Mivec is different..once you rojak w.o having accurate measure you won't actually know what's the result..i believe most of the time ppl are just doing trial and error...if can't work open the part again...mod here there till it work.

Just my another 2 cents.

MaNofWaR

Nov 22, 2003
On the AiR
g88 said:
Personally i don't advice to rojak your engine (hybrid sound so high end the word :P) but yet when you have problem it's very hard to troubleshoot since like 4G93 compression rate and Mivec is different..once you rojak w.o having accurate measure you won't actually know what's the result..i believe most of the time ppl are just doing trial and error...if can't work open the part again...mod here there till it work.

Just my another 2 cents.
agreed no less....coz its more of trial & error basis:shades_smile:

tuned

Noob
Jul 4, 2005
not sure bout the 6A10.....

but the 4G61T should consume as much fuel at the 1.8 or more....due to its force-induction...

the MIVEC well, isn't any better due to its a performance NA..

the 4G93...would do a decent mileage for a 1.8....many around here can second that..haha

Anybody tried buying china oxygen sensor before? Anyone bought before and is it ok?

I tried to find new oxygen sensor for my car, its a nissan primera P12 engine. The sensor connector is light blue color, with 3 wires. Couldnt find original or branded oem sensor. All i can find is china brand or no brand oxygen sensor from china..