4G91T got check engine light problem...

ham_m2

Feb 9, 2007
Klang/KL
www.friendster.com
Hi fella members...My friend own a wira 1.5.Now using 4G91 bolt on turbo using GSR turbo kit.It was ok until now...Suddenly one morning i start to use,the check engine light still goes on when the engine is already start...After 15 minutes of warm up,the check engine light goes on...my friend sent the car back to the mechanic and he change the air flow sensor...The problem is solve for a while.Now the light goes on back and it jerks everytime the light is on.my friend sent back last wednesday and the car is still having this problem.
Do you guys have any idea?

The car spec:
4G91
GSR turbine
wiring evo 3
air flow sensor evo3

ham_m2

Feb 9, 2007
Klang/KL
www.friendster.com
ill try to ask the mechanic to check the tps...
the air flow sensor have change a new one still it occurs...
mmmhhh...my friend headache liao...

---------- Post added at 05:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:13 PM ----------

o2 sensor is loacted at where?

alvin24

Thats the problem when u rojak things around =p

Should've stuck back to using 4G91 wiring and airflow =p

Anyhow, the biggest suspect in the order of most likely to less likely would be your O2 sensor ko, your air flow got problem, your wiring is screwed or your ECU something wrong =p

What ECU are u using and what are you using to support the ECU btw? Any engine management installed?

ham_m2

Feb 9, 2007
Klang/KL
www.friendster.com
yeap rojak is a problem...
ecu is either 4G91 or evo3 one...not sure...
nope there is no engine management installed...
maybe in future will install...

alvin24

ur 4G91 bolt on reli damn rojak lor... Should've just stuck with the original ecu wiring airflow and just get a management. =p Would've been much more reliable.

ham_m2

Feb 9, 2007
Klang/KL
www.friendster.com
no bro...
the car is back...
no more problem...
changed the air flow sensor,spark plug wire...
thanks for the advises guys...

alvin24

so it was the air flow sensor =p

If u don't have any management... be more careful of the tuning... running too rich will kill the O2 sensor in no time =p

My suggestion is to next invest in a management so that the tuning can be refined =)

ham_m2

Feb 9, 2007
Klang/KL
www.friendster.com
thanks for the words bro...
spark plug cable also play a role...dont know that till learn this problem from my friend's car...

alvin24

hahaha... no worriez =)
we 4G91 kakis must have each other's back =)

The manual specifies an 8yr change interval for emission hoses. Does it refer to just the pcv/breather hoses or are there others? When I went to the shop to get replacement parts, the guy at the counter suggested a replacement hose which I didn't recognize - quite short ~2-3in, ~0.75in diameter.

And just to be sure, the the pcv/breather hoses are connected to the 10 o'clock and 3 o'clock positions on the throttle body right?