4afe head swap

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Hi all sifu out there.

I'm thinking to swap head from 4afe to 4age 16v. Is this possible?
Purpose is to get wider cam than stock.
I think it will be pnp onto 4afe block. What about distributor wiring?
Timing belt can use 4age 16v right?

Thanks in advance.

me2kimi

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
like that ar?
hmm...

LevinTE27

Nov 16, 2003
The 10 head bolt will be direct fit.. but i don't think u will get the correct compression ratio.. so piston got to change , same to the connecting rod, then down to crank shaft.. 4af only 6 bolt flywheel..

then oil pump , u need 4ag also well... timing belt drive under pulley, water line... water pump... hmm.... almost everything except u only keep the weaker block..
then ur wiring ? injectors, distributor, sensors.. lol....

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Thanks all for the replies

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
one ore thing, how i want to use 8.5 inch clutch at 4afe? mods 4age flywheel?

LevinTE27

Nov 16, 2003
5k flywheel can be used if i not mistaken, tat wut i used for my previous 7AG turbo engine. how ever, i dun think any problem for a 8" clutch to grip on a 4afe torque.. better spend for others mond instead getting bigger flywheel and clutch wont gain u anything.

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Ermm... if not mistaken stock 4AFE was use 8.5inch clutch. If not try you find 7AFE flywheel, it also 8.5 inch
Nop, 4afe is 8 inch clutch

FGT

May 19, 2007
I think some are 8.5 inches.. toyota usually have diff sizes for earlier/later models.. your friendly neighbourhood spare parts store should be able to confirm :P

anyway, go for a complete swap and spend your $$$ to make it run better :)

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
ur's 1 is AE92 4AFE or AE1xx 4AFE?
AE1xx 4AFE confirmed is 8.5"

---------- Post added at 03:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:31 PM ----------

I think some are 8.5 inches.. toyota usually have diff sizes for earlier/later models.. your friendly neighbourhood spare parts store should be able to confirm :P

anyway, go for a complete swap and spend your $$$ to make it run better :)
yea...u're rite!
half cut now not so expensive ald..
if wanna do it economic, buy a engine lantai with complete engine wiring hardness...

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
ur's 1 is AE92 4AFE or AE1xx 4AFE?
AE1xx 4AFE confirmed is 8.5"

Mine is AE111 yr96. Is that so, 8.5 inch? Last time I change to 8 inch clutch.
If you remember me, I've bought AE111 spoiler from you at Pelita Nasi Kandar SS2

Should i change pressure plate and bearing as well?
Current set only use about 3 years only.

Bro, how much current price for engine lantai + wiring?

It is very popular among car enthusiast to say that contis are more fun to drive. However, what determines a vehicle to be fun to drive. Is it the engine, chassis, suspension, steering or what?

Kindly discuss..........:idea::idea::idea: