185WHP:ONLY Honda Parts - Whats the winning formula?

daniel b16

May 3, 2005
hattech-v said:
for that setup estimated can go up to 160-170 perhaps...
160-170hp atw....wat MODS to top head if u wanna keep same b16a pistons and block and all?

wat modifications would u guys recommend? i herd if u put jun type 3 aso not much diff coz pistons and all stil stock b16a? is tat true?

poji_EG9

Nov 5, 2004
Nilai/KLIA/SIC
Oderf said:
ic.... looks like i'm gonna need at least P30 pistons to combine with GSR bottom..l3ess hassle than using PCT but better than using P72 :_: ....or maybe just use my PR3 pistons....skim some 1mm more out of the b16a head and use only 2 layer head gasket.....ammmmmmmaaaaaa......heheheheee...:regular_smile:
Fared...better don't skim yr head 1mm....sayang la...worry later on u cannot use PCT (CTR) piston with b16a block due to piston will hit cylinder head. As we know PCT piston with b16a block, piston will come out a bit, mean will be more higher than block deck around 0.2~0.4mm....if u use long block no problem.

Jun_EK9

Nov 20, 2003
never skim head or block...thats for emergency use if there is scatches on it then only skim a thin layer.

Jun_EK9

Nov 20, 2003
daniel: ppl dont use high cam on a std piston because the valve seatting on the piston is not deep enough for b16a and the compression i still low so wont get alot of hp

poji_EG9

Nov 5, 2004
Nilai/KLIA/SIC
ace79 said:
Wah, this I dunno bfr.modify conrod? Which part of the conrod? Lemme review my Omniman DVD again. He fitted CTR pistons to a standard B16A conrod, in the almost - 100% - stock - parts B16A.
Yazer...trust me...b16a conrod (top side) cannot fit with PCT piston...mean cannot plug n play just like that...need to cut a 1mm left & 1mm right...type r b16b conrod (top side) is smaller than b16a conrod....but piston pin diameter still same....better use b16b piston pin which come together with PCT piston itself.
We cannot cut 0.5mm left & right due to not enough clearance....
so need 1mm left & right....will cost u rm60~80.

PCT b16b piston price= rm540~560 (4 unit)
Ori B16b piston rings 81mm = rm440 (4 sets)
but u can use brand NPR or RIK at rm120~130...
or u can use back yr OEM b16a piston rings if still ok.
Labour cost rm400~800.

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
Jun_EK9 said:
yess....wat i have said
the simple way is use spoon gasket
but some mech said its not recomended to use the aftermarket 2 layer gasket coz it can make ur car overheat especially when u race in track..
or maybe its because of his poor installation? haha

chris2000

Apr 14, 2005
poji is right, you can't just fit CTR pistons on B16a or B18c rods. Machining need to be done. The Omniman DVD, if i not wrong is just using JDM P30 piston that had higher comp than USDM P30 piston. Thats why its plug and play.

I'm not saying that overbore more than 2mm can't be done. It just want to share with you guys what i have seen before. And these engines i can tell you is all proper dyno tune with on road/track tune with very good A/F and ignition. But though engine is tune properly the force exerted at the block during consistent harsh track use will not last as the thin aluminium liner will crack.

I don't know much about drag, but i do have a friend's daily EK, with B20B with 86mm K20A piston and a whole lot of other parts. The car dyno tuned till about 210-220atw hp @ 8500rpm. He has used it for just over a year now and its still strong. This guy use his EK for street and occasional drag on road only. NO track or proper drag race. So i think its just because road use only thats why its still strong.

I'm not trying to say that overbore more than 2mm not possible but just warn you guys that reliability suffers greatly if you consistent high rev them or track use.

TODA

May 20, 2005
downtheroad
poji_EG9 said:
Yazer...trust me...b16a conrod (top side) cannot fit with PCT piston...mean cannot plug n play just like that...need to cut a 1mm left & 1mm right...type r b16b conrod (top side) is smaller than b16a conrod....but piston pin diameter still same....better use b16b piston pin which come together with PCT piston itself.
We cannot cut 0.5mm left & right due to not enough clearance....
so need 1mm left & right....will cost u rm60~80.

but u can use brand NPR or RIK at rm120~130...
or u can use back yr OEM b16a piston rings if still ok.
Labour cost rm400~800.

say I have a b16a stock engine here, how & how much (the most sensible way) to get about the same or better power over a b16b stock?

this is wat i thought:
b16b cams+valves = 1500 (used)
PnP b16a head = ?
Rechip ECU = ?
VAFC II = <1000 (used)
Labour = ?

is this a good setup? hp gain roughly? my mech says if liddat better get an engine kosong b16b = rm~5k
note: reliability also an issue here...

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
its reliable as long as u get the right tuning for the engine.
buying a b16b engine kosong oso better if u got extra budget...
for the ctr piston inside b16a, the cost i think around 1.5-1.8k depen on the parts that u going to use. eg. npr or rik piston ring is much cheaper than ori one.
estimated hp u can gain i think is around 155-160hp without ctr cams..

poji_EG9

Nov 5, 2004
Nilai/KLIA/SIC
yup...if u've extra budget better get b16b enjin kosong....all spec/dimension u can get from it...b16b engine as we know have much more stronger n lighter internal.....b16b enjin kosong have oil cooler at oil filter adaptor, block girdle at the bottom of crank shaft, semi race camshaft, longger/lighter conrod, lighter valves with good dimension for air flow, different dimension of valve seat, dual spring for exhaust, haha this long block have advantage which can rojak with b18cr internal later on for future upgrading....and many more.

but not all people know, actually b16a block+b16a head+PCT piston will produced more higher compression ratio than ori b16b (CTR).

- rojak b16a block + PCT piston + b16a head = 11.1 :1 CR
- can produced torque 15.2~15.4 kg-m.

- ori b16b (CTR) = 10.8 : 1 CR
- usually standard torque around 14.6~15 kg-m.

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
ace79
think you need to watch the dvd again with a big popcorn. it was a p30 piston actually. all i can say they were trying to overkill a 14yr old engine and see what can be done if its been done(fittings, lubing, torquing,installation) correctly. dont forget the expensive clutch, hondata and extractors. they were pushing 9xxx rpm at an high altitude dyno machine. thats another hell of a stress test.

ace79 said:
Wah, this I dunno bfr.modify conrod? Which part of the conrod? Lemme review my Omniman DVD again. He fitted CTR pistons to a standard B16A conrod, in the almost - 100% - stock - parts B16A.

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
they should put a sticky note on this:)
jun cams with jun pistons. toda cams with toda piston. no more "fruit salads", just follow what has been done by the manufacturer :)

hattech-v said:
i heard the same thing oso.. high cam must be supported with higher compression.

poji_EG9

Nov 5, 2004
Nilai/KLIA/SIC
hahaha....so far nobody install JE piston with JE camshaft kekekeke....

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
je srp, endyn, arias, wiseco, mahle, supertech, cosworth, ross, cp pistons are universal.

japanese brand pistons were meant for their own camshafts, easier for customers to fine tune.

poji_EG9 said:
hahaha....so far nobody install JE piston with JE camshaft kekekeke....

Jun_EK9

Nov 20, 2003
hattech V: if u got the rite tuning it will be alrite.over heat because is higher compression so u need more fuel n lower ignition timing at higher rpm.
there are many kind of forge piston.toda is 1 of the best compare to jun

Guys, what is the pro and con to remove throttle body coolent??
Can reduce throttle body temperature?
Pls advise... Thanks :biggrin: