Persona Elegance with many problems?

Aug 9, 2010
Hi i bought my Persona Elegance 1.6A last month and i found the car consume heavy fuel.. RM40 only runs 140km, Rm10 only 35km. So disappointed:bawling:
Worst then my previous wira consume RM10 @ 55km

Anyone face this same problem.

---------- Post added at 09:49 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:48 AM ----------

Hi i bought my Persona Elegance 1.6A last month and i found the car consume heavy fuel.. RM40 only runs 140km, Rm10 only 35km. So disappointed

Aug 9, 2010
I use in city my mileage at 850KM soon need to bring the car for check up at 1st 1000Km

---------- Post added at 10:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:53 AM ----------

Friend,

What's the mileage? The engine needs some time to loosen up.

You driving in city or town?

I use in city my mileage at 850KM soon need to bring the car for check up at 1st 1000Km

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
Hi i bought my Persona Elegance 1.6A last month and i found the car consume heavy fuel.. RM40 only runs 140km, Rm10 only 35km. So disappointed:bawling:

---------- Post added at 09:49 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:48 AM ----------

Hi i bought my Persona Elegance 1.6A last month and i found the car consume heavy fuel.. RM40 only runs 140km, Rm10 only 35km. So disappointed

let the engine run in first. my car at first the FC is bout 7.8litre/100km but it becomes better and better until now my mileage bout to reach 50000km, going at 6.3litre normal drive.:driver::driver:

lkc

Mar 3, 2010
petaling jaya
does anyone encounter problem with the brek?my car changed to new brake pads few months ago,then disc also skimmed already,still i can feel the brake not so makan and sluggish,is it because of the brek hose?by the way my car is baseline,my car clocked 50 k + already.

artworkz

Jul 3, 2008
persona B n M line brake system use saga system. the master pump cylinder diameter smaller then H line (H line share with gen2). rear drum system use saga . thats y quite sluggish when braking. i oso use B-line. try to adjust rear brake.

s4ph_xtuner

Jun 7, 2009
car persona of the output from the previous model until recently has never been ok ... a bit of oil if it felt seriously short distance driving or driving in the city ... if traveling feel ok ... so I was thinking of entering the engine management stand alone ... For the optimum use of oil in place of destination ... the kind I like to step on the foot pedal excessive oil ehehe

kariayam

Oct 3, 2007
Hi, just to share my experience...

I own a Proton Persona Hline AT as my daily driven car. Purchased in January this year.... Nothing much to expect since this is a Proton car, with national 'quality'. Yes, its quality what i am talking about..the 'quality' that troubles me as early as 2 days of purchase. it is a noticable clunking sound from LH front absorber area, sounds like worn out ball joints or suspension bushings...the car was sent to Glenmarie Service center on the third day of purchase...

However, i was told by the sevice advisor (which i think is not competant and not technical enough to fit as the service spokesman) that a warranty claim must be made thru appointment. Yes, it is an appontment which set me another 2 weeks of waiting time.Well, it is ok for me to wait for another 2 weeks time and take it as a procedure to get the warranty claim.

Now, 2 weeks had passed, and i went to the SC in Glenmarie again.. Arrivedat 830 am..The srvice advisor told me to leave the car an collect in the evening at 6 pm. My answer was..'OK, sure'. However, I only left the bulding at 2pm, waitng for my wife to come and pick me up from the SC. 8:30 am to 2 pm.. to be exact, it is 5.5 hours i surrendered my car key to the Service advisor and saw my car untouched and unattended by none of them.

Then, i did went pass by the SC at 4pm to see if any progress on my car..yes, i saw my car,but still at the carpark outside the building area and still untouched and unattended...

later at 5pm the service avisor called me and told me they already tested the car and claimed it was the power steering pump that was faulty.... they claimed the problem had been rectified, no clunking sounds anymore...

Hmm...at this point the story became more interesting... I knew it was totally NOT RELATED to the power steering pump. How come a pump can produce clunking noise at suspension area? I've been driving evos and rotaries for years, and automotive issues and problems are not new to me...

And amazingly, he Just took 1 hour to rectify and identify problem? Who the hell do you think you are?Tracy Chapman? Ferrari engineer? Super mechanic specialist?Not to bash up those people... Hey, you only take 1 hour or may be 10 minutes of test drive then simply told me the non-related problem on my car?? do you think people are dumb or stupid enuf to accept your lies? Come on lar..

I just took the car back home, and reminded him, I will come gain tomorrow WITHOUT any appointment if the sound still exists(which i knew it will still exist).

Then I came again at 9 am..waited there until 12noon to ensure they got their hands on my car. Yes, now hey found an acceptable problem of the clunking sound...it was the 2-weeks-old absorber that was fuc*ed up... okey, so i left the car at the SC as usual and went back home happily, with in my mind, they alrady found the real problem....and expect to collect the car at 6pm..

Yes, at 5pm, the Service advisor called me..the coudnt get the absorber replaced. Reason?because they dont have the clamping tools for holding the spring during dismantling and reinstalling the absorber. HAHHAHAHAHA.. Now i found out that it is REALY F*CKIN Funny people working as service advisor at the Glenmarie SC.come on, please at least dont give silly reason for not get the thing changed...why would you realized the tool was unavailable only at 5PM? even at small workshop we can find the spring clamp 'bersepah sepah' everywhere...ini kan pulak Proton authorized service centre?

Then i realized that, to own a fair quality car is acceptable..although the car price is not considered cheap.(bought the persona at rm56800).... But to deserve a TERRIBLE LOUSY TO DEATH service from the service centre...especially to do a warranty claim..is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE...

Those people are killing Proton name with their stupid service while Proton is struggling for improvements of its products.. Better find better and qualified people to fit the service advisor position as they are the only customer-end person..which directly reflect to Proton image....

kariayam

Oct 3, 2007
bro,i am also driving proton persona iafm auto old version,the problem with the old batch persona as below -

1.steering always cannot straight 1 even after done alignment ( bush problem )

2.whenever you pump petrol,the needle won't go up till the top ( fuel pump problem )

3.when drive through uneven road got sound like metal hitting something ( problem still not solve as many ppl tried and got post this problem b4,but for my car the sound gone after some time )

4.fuel cover leg broken and the clip fall off ( nowadays if u really see on the road,alot of persona fuel cover is black color,reason is they went back to claim the whole cover but only black color available,if same car color have to wait almost 1 week,i changed mine b4,they sprayed the color not so same as my car 1,lighter color.

5.when the car drive until 100km the pedal there got vibrate,felt quite uneasy also but after i changed the aftermarket lighten crank pulley - problem solve,dunno what is the problem also.

6.Rear boot can't open with key,after i went to sc and complaint,they fixed it for me.

7.When on aircond got sound

so far all the problem above is what i am facing b4 in past persona,only problem num 1 not solve yet,i also very boring dy go to sc here and there to claim waranty,then have to wait also,my car also pay 9 years 1,at first i also thought the car very good,after drive for some time,the car is bullshit,no pick up,body very heavy and quality sucks,a bit better than gen-2 only,then i piss off,since things already happens and i got the car,i start to mod it,after modding it,my petrol even better than b4,my pick up much more better than standard persona,can ditch 1 1/2 car if race with standard persona,btw,if you want to claim warranty or service your car,dun go to the 1 located near kesas highway,big only the place but they do work no pro,go to glenmarie proton edar or those small shop near your place even better,if you plan to still drive this car,i suggest u change the extractor to 4-2-1,then add bullet and change muffler,change drop in air filter,change ligten crank pulley,cam pulley and change your tyre size to 195 / 55 then your ride will be much more better and petrol also save.

Hi, I have the H Line IAFM persona...purchased in Jan 2010..surprisingly,I have the same problem number 3,5, and 7 as u mentioned before... although these problems are irritating....but i bet going to the SC ( I went to Glenmarie SC)with that kind of lousy service is far more irritating than living with the problems..Went there for few times with annoying service..and no single problem was solved

iF warranty claims is not the matter,i would have gone to other small workshops that is far more reputable and experience in troubleshooting these matters.. Proton Service Centre= Really Poor = shit

every car has their own problem, regardless a proton, honda, mazda, even BMW.. at least a small little tiny problem...but the difference is , how the authorized service centre would profesionally treat you and provide a quality service to customer satisfaction...

enuff said about PROTON and its SC

lkc

Mar 3, 2010
petaling jaya
yea,proton sc really giving us a lousy service,charge this charge that so smart,but when give service,like tahi.So far i went to 1 proton located at jalan juruhebah next to perodua is also ok,even though the place not very big but at least they give a good service,oh yea,by the way regarding the problem i am facing at num 1,is actually the bush always loose,so the problem can be fix by fixing super bush around rm 130,and it can last much more longer.

---------- Post added at 12:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:04 PM ----------

persona B n M line brake system use saga system. the master pump cylinder diameter smaller then H line (H line share with gen2). rear drum system use saga . thats y quite sluggish when braking. i oso use B-line. try to adjust rear brake.

Bro do you think if i change the brake hose to braided steel hose will help?behind brake can adjust 1?wah our car cc so big and heavy and they only give saga brake system for persona?want us to die faster is it.

kariayam

Oct 3, 2007
yea,proton sc really giving us a lousy service,charge this charge that so smart,but when give service,like tahi.So far i went to 1 proton located at jalan juruhebah next to perodua is also ok,even though the place not very big but at least they give a good service,oh yea,by the way regarding the problem i am facing at num 1,is actually the bush always loose,so the problem can be fix by fixing super bush around rm 130,and it can last much more longer.

---------- Post added at 12:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:04 PM ----------

Bro do you think if i change the brake hose to braided steel hose will help?behind brake can adjust 1?wah our car cc so big and heavy and they only give saga brake system for persona?want us to die faster is it.
Bro,

Did u mean problem number 1 or number 3 as for the bush?

Steelbraided brake hose does not increase the braking performance... it only provide braking consistency during rapid hard braking(prevent the 'spongy' brake pedal feel due to heating of the brake fluid)

The performance will only increase if u change larger brake servo and the bigger brake caliper will do..

I also realized persona braking system is sluggish and not really 'bite' even i have disc brakes on all fours(person h line)

from my observation, persona brake servo is damn too small for a bulky bodied persona. U can compare, even Satria 1.6 (lighter and smaller body) servo is much larger than persona...

earlier Proton batch ( Wira/Satria etc) with drum brakes at the rear has far better braking than persona. :stupid:

'' salute" to the persona designer..(dont know what were they thinking when designing the brake for persona).. may be the formula used is: Money= 1/ (malaysian customer's live) :stupid:

Luckily i bought the H-line with 4 wheel disc brake.. I wonder how the brake is like on the persona with drum brake at the rear...

artworkz

Jul 3, 2008
for normal car, u juz touch a bit brake pedal car ll start disaccelerate. for persona with brake drum u need touch a lot brake to disaccelerate and more to stop the car

actually persona B n M line brake is acceptable ( i have try to demo emergency brake. braking distance is ok), just the braking feel make u feeling tis car brake system very spongy. need press brake pedal quite harder compare other car to gain braking power.

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
I love the Persona Elegance...
But sorry proton is trash... Check this out

<http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/proton/346926-problem-with-proton-exora.html#post4423331>

Nov 10, 2009
i bought persona elegant H-line...
last month at 17 July...
so far it not give me any problem yet...

p/s: my first post after near a year register lol

azzrizul

Dec 2, 2009
i own a B line persona bought it last year...
i just wanna know y is the throttle response is slow?
its very annoying when changing gears and going uphill...
its like the engine is designed to rev a second slower..
y is that? can anyone help me.....?

I'm not sure if this is the correct place to post this, but I urgently looking for some workshop at Johor to restore my Ford Escort MK1 back to daily driven. I bought this car like one and a half year ago and never once driven it. Engine already not able to start when I got this. I tow this car back to Johor from KL/Selangor area. Today my family told me that my old neighbor accidentally knocked on this car with a loud bang. And he just walk off like that. (Dafug?)

Any sifu know where...