i just did my ground cable... share share

c-ground

Apr 5, 2005
Seri Kembangan
cground.fotopic.net
this is what i did to my mum's car when i was still new:

The stock ground cables were replaced with 4awg. The rest are 8awg. I did the engine block, starter motor, firewall and alternator. All connected back to the battery using a special battery terminal clamp.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
c-ground said:
this is what i did to my mum's car when i was still new:

The stock ground cables were replaced with 4awg. The rest are 8awg. I did the engine block, starter motor, firewall and alternator. All connected back to the battery using a special battery terminal clamp.
wow.. nice work on the connector~!
that is... a datsun? :)

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
nowadays car has quite sufficient grounding already...
if the grounding is done on a older car the difference is very significant...
tried on a saga...using 8awg..onnect onto rocker cover...distributor...firewall and alternator...at night brighter headlamp...clearer music and car is more stable when turn on air cond

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
bro..
mind to tel which point u ground ar? hehe...

*if u ground left n right bulk head....wil be beter effect i think...my 2cents

if im u.i wil ground at

1.firewall
2.left bulk head
3.right bulk head
4.alternator
5.distributor
6.engine block
7.front radiator panel

cheers..my 0.02cent opinion nia...dun flame me..hehe

sam1741 said:
wow.. long time no here...
and suddently so many reply.. :D

anyway.. today i just re-do the connection to the -ve
and also added one point to the alternator.

offcourse my work not so good.. :D just beginner here...
but my 'light-on-rpm-drop' problem now is better
rpm drop less.. :) not like last time

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
huakenny said:
bro..
mind to tel which point u ground ar? hehe...

*if u ground left n right bulk head....wil be beter effect i think...my 2cents

if im u.i wil ground at

1.firewall
2.left bulk head
3.right bulk head
4.alternator
5.distributor
6.engine block
7.front radiator panel

cheers..my 0.02cent opinion nia...dun flame me..hehe
oh..
me ground at...
firewall,
alternator,
engine block,
car body near battery

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
sam1741 said:
oh..
me ground at...
firewall,
alternator,
engine block,
car body near battery
aiks...left engine block and right engine block ar?

if u r free..can put one at distributor area, left side car body..

then cukup la i think...

my 2cents...cheers

c-ground

Apr 5, 2005
Seri Kembangan
cground.fotopic.net
Yong_5290 said:
nowadays car has quite sufficient grounding already...
Not agree. ;)

Most of the car has only one 6awg cable connecting from the battery negative terminal to the chassis, then to the engine block. And another 8awg connecting the intake manifold to the firewall. That's all. Way far from being sufficient.

It's the electrical and electronic systems that are made to tolerate with the insufficiency. That means, these components need to work harder to overcome the insufficiency. Wouldn't it be better if they don't need to work so hard? There's where additional grounding comes in to the scene. ;)

BTW, c-ground fellas are also DIY supporters. Do it yourself if you can, or... hehe!!

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
huakenny said:
aiks...left engine block and right engine block ar?

if u r free..can put one at distributor area, left side car body..

then cukup la i think...

my 2cents...cheers
oh.. me do on the other side .. carburetor side
and the more center side only...

distributor side.. i cant find place to connect yet...
i should add another point soon. :)

c-ground : totally agree with your point at#192

k3et

Oct 11, 2004
c-ground,

I'm driving Satria 1.5M (4G15). Could you please tell me where I suppose to ground if I only have 5 point cable.

at the mean time I ground for:-
- alternator
- firewall
- Throttle body
- right engine head
- car body near battery

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
k3et said:
c-ground,

I'm driving Satria 1.5M (4G15). Could you please tell me where I suppose to ground if I only have 5 point cable.

at the mean time I ground for:-
- alternator
- firewall
- Throttle body
- right engine head
- car body near battery
u hv 5point....

1.alternator
2.firewall
3.distribution
4.engine blok
5.front radiator panel

Problem on my engine 4g15

locking sound besause of
-distributor unit
-or underfiring at combustion/etc cycle

The scenario is
-when my car is underpower (cornering or wrong gear ratio) this will happen

Solution
Have cut the spring inside the distributor unit
-The sound disapper
But then after change engine(previously 4g13) to 4g15,the sound came back.

My concern is
Do i need to change the distributor unit or do the port n polish+top overhauled because i want to put powerzone camshaft...