Getting Serious

[PIMPIN]

2,000 RPM
May 21, 2004
Since I'm too old to be a 'boy racer', it's time to take racing more seriously - something which I have always wanted but when I was a student. I have slightly more cash nowadays so I'm thinking of racing more seriously but I'm at ends as to how I should go about it.

I'd say that I'm leaning more to drag racing given the fact the SDB is held fairly regularly and plus, in Australia it's all about the quarter-mile so I've been brainwashed somewhat.

Anyways, after some thought my options are:

1) Use my R34 as a drag car. I'll continue renewing the road tax and use 3rd party insurance and use the car primarily for drag racing. This would involve a new engine from overseas, sequential box I suppose, etc. The pros would be using a good platform whilst the cons would be having to competing with the big boys (eg: 8 second Evos, etc).

2) Buy an R32GTR with the help of Tom and then find a way to bring it into the country using the proper AP which I believe is possible or worst case scenario get an R32 GTST locally and convert. The pros would be a proper proper drag car which I can run in a class lower with the RWD boys. The cons would be me being stuck with two Skylines!

Either way, to do it properly I would say abt 200k? Plus, I'd probably sell the R34 sometime this year if the R35s drop more in price AND I somehow find a way to afford it LOL.

I know it's fun to come up with 'Dream Setup' etc etc but I'm looking for serious input. Would you or could you bring yourself to strip down your current ride mainly for racing once every month or so? Is it too dumb an idea?

reintel

500 RPM
Jul 27, 2004
You live only once. Enjoy while you can still afford. (Money and physically).