basic ICE

siauann

Apr 17, 2005
hi thr all sifus..wats's d basic for gettin a standard ice? my budget is around 1k
for starting..
does gettin 1 head unit ,speakers, pre amp is good?..
any better commend?..
btw..wats d different btween pre amp n amp?..some ppl say pre amp better than
equalizer?..

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005
You'll have to plan your basic as well as future upgrades based on your ultimate budget.
Any euipment before an amp is called the preamp-it can be a line driver, equalizer, external crossover, frequencies booster etc.

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
get a HU and component speakers first. Later when have more moo get an amp, later when have more moo then get subs and more moo get more expensive amp and HU and speakers and more subs and.......

will it ever end?

Wah.. all the see-fu's sending out their poisoning rays already!

Unker Pisces : Very appreciate your car audit the other day.. but I cannot afford your setup la!! WAhlauweh.. even the money you spent on all that blu-tack oso expensive man.. haha

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005
Izso said:
Wah.. all the see-fu's sending out their poisoning rays already!

Unker Pisces : Very appreciate your car audit the other day.. but I cannot afford your setup la!! WAhlauweh.. even the money you spent on all that blu-tack oso expensive man.. haha
Hahahhahaa!!
The Bluetack costs me only RM12 lah!!

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
i bought two pack bluetack RM3.5 each (100gm).
to replace the clay that children's play with...(Rm0.90)
coz it will MELT under hot sun... oh gosh..
good thing doesn't come cheap!

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005
artnet said:
i bought two pack bluetack RM3.5 each (100gm).
to replace the clay that children's play with...(Rm0.90)
coz it will MELT under hot sun... oh gosh..
good thing doesn't come cheap!
How's your North Creek sounding now??
Great??
Try to get the QED 25th. Anniversary silver coated speaker wire to partner with them-I found great results with this partnership!!
BTW, what's the HPF you set on the tweeters??

firdausasri

Mar 6, 2005
siauann said:
hi thr all sifus..wats's d basic for gettin a standard ice? my budget is around 1k
for starting..
does gettin 1 head unit ,speakers, pre amp is good?..
any better commend?..
btw..wats d different btween pre amp n amp?..some ppl say pre amp better than
equalizer?..
Nothing much can get for RM1K. What I suggest is for you to get an entry level HU like Alpine CDM9801 or Clarion DB456 which has pre-amp built in for RM550-RM600 and an entry level component set of Rogers/Helix (RM350) or up a bit for Eclipse RM600.

Next upgrade could be:

- Cable RM200++
- 4-Channel Amp RM700-RM1000
- Sub 10" RM500-RM900

Then it becomes basic ICE setup ;)

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
pisces23 said:
How's your North Creek sounding now??
Great??
Try to get the QED 25th. Anniversary silver coated speaker wire to partner with them-I found great results with this partnership!!
BTW, what's the HPF you set on the tweeters??
the passenger side still not achieve the balance. however the driver side does.
HPF is set at 2k@24db slope. not dare to expand any lower. But Mr. George
says it's fine with 1.6k@24db.

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005
Try setting the HPF at 2k with 18 db/oct slope and see/hear whether they sound nicer.
What's your LPF on the mids??

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
my current setting as below...

tweeter - above 2.0khz@24db slope
mid - in the range of 100hz@24db slope to 2.0k@24db slope
sub - below 80hz@18db slope.

are this setting cause my sound not 'UNITED'? it sound like missing something.
ermm.. like speakers break far apart from each other.

i was thinking of changing the mid to 18db@slope too. but no time to try out just now. will that be nicer?

you haven't told me how much is your active crossover cost!!!

i don wanna rely all on the HU anymore. it sucks... press more it
kong sooner! ahahhaha... now already half dead.

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005
artnet said:
my current setting as below...

tweeter - above 2.0khz@24db slope
mid - in the range of 100hz@24db slope to 2.0k@24db slope
sub - below 80hz@18db slope.

are this setting cause my sound not 'UNITED'? it sound like missing something.
ermm.. like speakers break far apart from each other.

i was thinking of changing the mid to 18db@slope too. but no time to try out just now. will that be nicer?

you haven't told me how much is your active crossover cost!!!

i don wanna rely all on the HU anymore. it sucks... press more it
kong sooner! ahahhaha... now already half dead.
Ty changing the slopes for the mids and tweeters to 18db (or even 12db) and the sub to 24db.
Your HPF on the mids is being set too high.
Try 63hz.
My TRU F1 crossover costs around RM1700 here in KL.

ahchun

Jan 5, 2005
hi siauann,
i at first also plan for for Rm1k budget for begineers but very hard la. at last i spend 1.5 k for very basic setup lor with one amp, compset and also 8 inch woofer (enough for kenari to save some boot space).

siauann

Apr 17, 2005
ahchun said:
hi siauann,
i at first also plan for for Rm1k budget for begineers but very hard la. at last i spend 1.5 k for very basic setup lor with one amp, compset and also 8 inch woofer (enough for kenari to save some boot space).

thx for ur info..btw..wat do u get for 1.5k?..brand?..spec?..price?..
:p

Found this on other site, care 2share wif ya guys, any1 try diy dis b4?? think most new car oredi hv it juz wanna c any sifu try out their own design n different color :biggrin: