AE101 Tyre

Alex_tan168

Jul 23, 2010
to all sifu here... i jus got my SEG 92 4AGE20V(BT) (A)....and those tyres already worn out... so... wat kind of tyre fit this car best? currently using 195/50/15 on 15" Vios Sport Rims...erm...i wan it grip as much as it can on wet/dry....and da previous owner said if using 195/55 it lose pickup power abit...so plaining to get 205/50/15 or maybe 215/50/15.... 215 will eat alot of fuel?

thx in advance for all sifu advise~

bera

Oct 27, 2007
205 and 215 (as it is the width measurement of the tires) wont bring much different in terms of FC...but of coz 215 has grip more than 205 because of the extra contact surface of the tire...

what kind of tire fit your car best is a very subjective question. i think it depends on your application and the way you drive...me myself using bfgoodrich 195/50/15 g-force sport tyre replacing previously use yokohama c-drive...i can only afford medium priced tire for time being...circa 180 - 200 a piece...if you have extra budget...can go for toyo or advan which come around 250 - 400 a piece...

seg 7138

Oct 13, 2008
now i use 205/50r15 will lose pickup power abit....for me is 15 rim use 195/50.for me 215/40r16 is good.

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
vios original rim only have 5.5JJ, if want to fit wider tire surface the tire will be the looking of MICHELLIN..fat and squeeze out from the rim..very unpleasant looking and even worse on traction and gripping...

FGT

May 19, 2007
I suggest that u get a decent 6 or 6.5JJ rims and get 195 or 205 tyres.. Personally i prefer 195/55/15 coz i think comfort and grip is well balanced -- but hey, that's my preference :)

lwc1983

May 17, 2009
From my experience for ae111, 205/45/r16, using sport absosber + stock spring, back wheel kena fender abit.

Im not sure about ae101.
Suggestion for alex, get 195/50/r15, lowered ur car, will be nice, :D

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
From my experience for ae111, 205/45/r16, using sport absosber + stock spring, back wheel kena fender abit.

Im not sure about ae101.
Suggestion for alex, get 195/50/r15, lowered ur car, will be nice, :D
have to see the rim offset too bro...
my car using 15 x 7JJ rim with 195/55 R15 tire offset +37 also kena with stock abs and spring..:biggrin:

FGT

May 19, 2007
have to see the rim offset too bro...
my car using 15 x 7JJ rim with 195/55 R15 tire offset +37 also kena with stock abs and spring..:biggrin:
I have the same setting on my ae111.. Kena ketuk a bit also to clear about 2-3mm only.. Maybe offset +40 will solve the prob? heheh..

To bro alex, these things you have to do trial and error.. you may start with 195/50/15 to be safe.. then if u dont like, next tyre change can try wider or thicker profile tyres.. :)

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
vios original rim only have 5.5JJ, if want to fit wider tire surface the tire will be the looking of MICHELLIN..fat and squeeze out from the rim..very unpleasant looking and even worse on traction and gripping...
good point. with 5.5JJ, 195 is almost the max u can fit into the rim. in fact, 185 is the most suitable for this size.

just like others suggestion, get at least 6.5 or 7JJ rims, then only think about wider and choice of tyres.

Alex_tan168

Jul 23, 2010
yeah... i already decide back to 195 50 15....wan cahnge rim but no $$ la bro....summore i'm those kinda ppl prefer Ori look ^^" dunwan mod too much on outside....if change rim i wan SSR Type C... wan offset low abit...i check ady.. i think no problem on my AE101...coz my 1 not lowerd spring... it's Ori Trueno suspension...

Guys..
Just sharing..
What do u all think if i want transplant my rear back wira to complete rear back lancer evo 3 and it will make looks 100% complete EIII..

Anyone hav done make already?
If hav...lets we all discuss about da xperiance a to z..

:burnout:

---------- Post added at 10:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:25 PM ----------

:burnout: