Ae101 rim question.

genyang

Aug 17, 2013
Hi sifu sifu..need some help here..I had change my brake kit to mini 6 pot brake and my current rim is 17inch.. due to fuel consumption high..I wan to change to 15. I tried 15x6.5jj before n can't fit in so now I considering 15x8jj. So question is here..will this fit perfectly n does it look good?

Thanks in advance to all sifusifu here..

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2

ken yeang

6 pot brakes?? you race-race everyday to and fro from office ka, bro?:adore::adore:

genyang

Aug 17, 2013
No la..I bought this cheap ma. RM800 only. If future if I turbo it then I aint gonna worry for grip

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
bro.. how many mm is the BBK? probably 15" would fit but its not about the jj.. it is about the offset and design of the rims.

Mr.Chaser

Jun 29, 2009
Johor
Sample of mini6 pot 286mm rotor with te37v 15"

KenDiriwan

Mar 15, 2006
kendiriwan.multiply.com
Yes correct, JJ has nothing to do with brake clearance. Look for lower offset wheels or spacer, personally i dislike uses spacer.

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
from my observation and experience, most 4 pot like spoon and mini 6 pot, the rotors should not exceed 286mm.
then u could use 15" like the regamaster (mostly on EK with Spoon), CE28, TE37 and etc provided that the offset is right and the construction of the inner rim (clearance).
once that taken into account, u could use 8, 8.5jj etc.

genyang

Aug 17, 2013
Thx for all sifu sifu that so kind giving some experience on the poor noobie guy. Ok..then it means lesser offset for is better more clearance? The rotor size 303. Honestly I bought this bcoz I remember I saw some 101 install this bbk n using 15 te37. Diameter I donno..but ill post some pic later. Thx again ..really appreciate

---------- Post added at 08:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:20 PM ----------

Its so ugly T.T

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
Thx for all sifu sifu that so kind giving some experience on the poor noobie guy. Ok..then it means lesser offset for is better more clearance? The rotor size 303. Honestly I bought this bcoz I remember I saw some 101 install this bbk n using 15 te37. Diameter I donno..but ill post some pic later. Thx again ..really appreciate

---------- Post added at 08:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:20 PM ----------

Its so ugly T.T

i dont think 303mm could fit 15" and for your qs, lesser offset for better clearance is not true.

Buddy Club P1 QF [15x7, +42 offset]
Kosei K1 [15x7, +38 offset]
Advan RG [15x7.5, +42 offset]
Volk TE-37 [15x7, +35 offset]
Volk CE-28N [15x7, +35 offset]
Racing Hart CP-035 [15x7.5, +40 offset]
Volk TE-37's [15x8, +43 offset]
SSR Type C [15x7, +38 offset]

These are few rims which could clear spoon caliper with 286mm rotors on EK for example. notice that the offset and jj differences but still clear for fitment.

Dude - changing rim because of fuel consumption doesn't make sense. It's not going to be significantly different. You want better FC get lightweight rims. Lesser overall unsprung weight and lesser effort from the engine to move the wheel.

Might as well stick to 17" but lightweight. And if you do go 15", get the lightweight ones.