which brand of 195/55/15?

I need 55 profile. If I have to go down to 50, I might as well spent a bit more to get 205/45/16. Stiffer and won't affect my ride height. 50 profile on my car looks too small la. Used to use 50.

RE002 I haven't really explored but S-drive doesn't have 55 profile. Not in my area here anyway. Which is kinda weird and are you sure S-drive is hard sidewall?
I think you used 195/50R15, right? If yes, they are more than 3.27% smaller.
This is 205/50R15 which is 1.6% smaller only.

The stiffer sidewall ones are the extreme tyres AD-08, RSR & NT-01

RE-002 and S-Drive harder then your soft C-Drives, but not as stiff as the extreme ones, that is why I mention more for daily use...:driver:

I think you used 195/50R15, right? If yes, they are more than 3.27% smaller.
This is 205/50R15 which is 1.6% smaller only.

The stiffer sidewall ones are the extreme tyres AD-08, RSR & NT-01

RE-002 and S-Drive harder then your soft C-Drives, but not as stiff as the extreme ones, that is why I mention more for daily use...:driver:
er... I am using 195/55/15. I used to use 195/50/15 but it was too small on my car. I want to stick with 195/55/15 or go up to 205/45/16.

AD08 is way outta my budget range. I'll have t look at NT01 or the GT Radial SX2. I assume that's relatively hard?

Btw, I'm asking for track use. So don't care too much about comfort.

er... I am using 195/55/15. I used to use 195/50/15 but it was too small on my car. I want to stick with 195/55/15 or go up to 205/45/16.

AD08 is way outta my budget range. I'll have t look at NT01 or the GT Radial SX2. I assume that's relatively hard?

Btw, I'm asking for track use. So don't care too much about comfort.
Then forget RE-002 and S-Drives.

NT-01 I think not cheap either and do not have the size you want.
These are the sizes available for 14 - 16"
14 205/55ZR14
15 205/50ZR15
225/45ZR15
16 245/50ZR16

If 205/50R15 then have....

GT Radial SX2 also don't have your size
Sizes available
195/50R15
235/45ZR17

4 New Sizes added
215/45R17
225/45R17
245/40ZR17
265/35ZR18

More New Sizes to come
195/55R15
205/50R16
215/40R17
235/40R17
235/40R18
245/40R18
235/35 R19

So if 195/55R15 got to wait

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
R1R is available in that size, decently stiff sidewall aswell.

edit : might be out of your budget

How about NS2R?

ahaw

Apr 1, 2007
price check for
1. goodyear f1 gs d3 + 195/55/15
2. toyo proxes t1r + 195/55/15

*dont use falken ziex 912 + cc2

ahaw

Apr 1, 2007
been using re001 195/55/15 for the last for 2 years ~ 35k km still rolling to date. this 2013 o.d wall got cracked n (bunga) fully worn out. re001 rain sucks advisable to avoid sand but v.good on hot dry road.
before that, 4 years rollin on gs-d3, all weather general but no friend for those family and ice enthusiast (noise humming). toyo (japan) looong time ago, 5 years use till cannot roll haha. d best but now cant source out o budget.
me try falken on both wife and spare tire (use only 1 1/2 year) report ; wasted money. shud invest extra few bucks on good tire. need diff tire pressure altogether maybe due to bigger wall (195/65/15)
tyre (re001) report 3rd tier after gs-d3 #2 and proxes t1r #1st.
always ask for fresh tire, a must. all new tire got factory warranty erm...

personnel opinion only

thinking for new tire, sifu2 any idea?

mADmAN

damn. So it's hard to find decent tyres for 195/55/15 and 205/45/16?
actually for 195/55/15 no its not... theres quite a number of options in this size since its a very common size.. just that its a lil bit more expensive than 195/50/15

NS2R, SX2, R1R, potenzas, ad08, r888etc etc...

but i think for track use, the cheapest would be the NS2R and mebbe SX2

if ur willing to look into 205/50/15 then theres the RSR and KU36 to look into. sidewall height is only 5mm lower than 195/55...but u get an extra 10mm of contact patch which equals to more grip :D (noticeable or not is an entirely different matter heheheh)

R1R is available in that size, decently stiff sidewall aswell.

edit : might be out of your budget

How about NS2R?
Yup, can try NS2R...:driver:

---------- Post added at 05:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:43 PM ----------

price check for
1. goodyear f1 gs d3 + 195/55/15
2. toyo proxes t1r + 195/55/15

*dont use falken ziex 912 + cc2
Nope, sidewall too soft for him.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:44 PM ----------

actually for 195/55/15 no its not... theres quite a number of options in this size since its a very common size.. just that its a lil bit more expensive than 195/50/15

NS2R, SX2, R1R, potenzas, ad08, r888etc etc...

but i think for track use, the cheapest would be the NS2R and mebbe SX2

if ur willing to look into 205/50/15 then theres the RSR and KU36 to look into. sidewall height is only 5mm lower than 195/55...but u get an extra 10mm of contact patch which equals to more grip :D (noticeable or not is an entirely different matter heheheh)
SX2 got to wait, size not out yet for 195/55R15 and he does not want 195/50R15, but have been pushing him to use 205/50R15.....:driver::rofl:

50 profile is too skinny looking on my car laaaaa... right now already kinda weird looking if I don't use 16" or 17".

And what brand tyre is NS2R? Nanking? Never heard of NS2R

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Actually it's from Nankang. I guess it's their extreme category tire. I was quoted RM240 per piece for 195/50/R15 (since I was asking for that size..hehe). They are available in 55 profile as well.

mADmAN

50 profile is too skinny looking on my car laaaaa... right now already kinda weird looking if I don't use 16" or 17".

bro... looks wise... 205/50/15 is significantly fatter than 195/50/15

i was running 195/55/15 on 6.5" wheels and now 205/50/15 on 7" wheels and looks wise, about the same.. maybe fatter due to the wider tire and wheel

and NS2-R is from Nankang

::::NANKANG:::: Product-Passenger Car-SPORTNEX-NS-2R

Nankang Tyres / Trackday Track Day / Nankang NS2R Sportnex Racing Nankang NS 2R - 195/55 R15 85W (120) TL Fuel Eff.: G Wet Grip: B NoiseClass: 2 Noise: 71dB &pound74.00 Track Day Tyres - Trackday Tyres - Motorsport Tyres - 15" R15" - 195/55/15, 195/5

As mentioned by bro. Madman, if you use 195/50R15 then the sidewall is too narrow, almost 10mm lower, but if use 205/50R15 the sidewall is lower by 4.75mm only, but with 10mm wider pattern. Overall 1.6% smaller only compared to 195/50R15 which is 3.27% smaller.

NS2R is under Nankang extreme tyres category...

Hi Guys/Sifu out there, want some opinion from your guys.
I'm getting transfer back to KL HQ by end of this month, so will work at Puchong starting Sept, planning to get a car there. My Budget is around RM40-50K for used unit.
So far I saw Ford Focus S+ Model that suit my taste la..
The question is will this car need alot of $$ to do maintenance and is the spare parts easy to find?