Motorola E398 - Fan's Anyone ?

sakuraguy

Motorola E398 - Fan's Anyone ?

Hi guys, after a very long time being a Nokia enthusiast, i swapped to Motorola now, kinda fun phone which attracted with its cool look while i was in phone store two days ago.

I love the cute small look, rubber like sticky smooth case and some other functions too which price tagged at RM699. As it comes only with standards:

- E398 Hijacked Asian version
- Stock 64MB MMC Card
- No Voice recorder and No Video Recorder.
- Full package : data cable, manuals, phone case, cd's and earsets.

My phone is just 2 days old and i go and flash it with E398 ROXR version, now i'm having:
- Flex is E398 ROKR 1.4C MP
- DSP S/W version 6240A00
- Stock 64MB MMC Card
- S/W is R373G0E306FR
- I have English, Malaysian and Chinese language pack
- Data, Browser & MP3 ready.
- Balance of 6.2MB phone memory
- LightPlayer with Media Player skin .MP3 .MP4 .AAC . MID. AMR
- Apple iTune Music player
- Unlimited Video recording plus 4X Zoom function on .3GP save format
- Bluetooth, USB Sync, IM and Engineering menu.
- Uprated stock phone sound gains.
- 2 cool skins like Windows Vista and Green Neon with uprated fonts.
- Games : Asphalt2, Virtual Pool, iPhone explorer, Might & Magic, Chess Mate.

Currently I'm using software such as:
- Motorola Product Support MPS
- P2K Tools, Manager, Commander, Advanced Editor, Seem, Menu & Function Editor.
- Funlight Editor
- MotoKit
- Motorola Mod Tool
- Skinner Moto
- Motoskin Editor
- X3GP Converter
- SKI Explorer
- MotoSkin Editor
- Stock Factory Version Flash & Flex bases

And now, my phone looks better than SonyEricsson K750i ... Anyone wanna share share ideas on further modifications?

I'm using one. How do you flash your hp ? I want to flash mine too... heheheh, flasher...

My software all very old 1.... can teach ?

can can .. ;) ...great to hear that u own one. I use FlashBackup and E398 ROXR E1 Rom and bootloader ;) ..

No need to buy the new E398 ROXR, Just upgrade our software is enuf.

Why dont u join us at http://www.motomodders.net ..

After i upgraded my phone, my fren using K750i oso wanna sell and buy E398 .. ha ha

i dont dare flash my e398 cuz i read somewhere ur battery need to tahan quite long 1 cuz if anything happen u cant save the phone by using back the backup files .

ha ha ..yah infernal.. u may struck the battery and cut down its life if u use those "Monster Packs" ..

But unlike other phone .. E398 can be saved even 100% dead by ROM or wrong flash. 1. U may save it by using the original factory flash and FlashBackup 2.3 or later version
2. Use RMLDR to clear ure phone ROM while the phone is turn off, then load new factory boot loaders.

Thats all ;)

Frankly I don't even know what you guys are talking, can guide me on flashing my phone? Mine the sound is soft.... and the firmware is a bit laggy....

TiBuN said:
Frankly I don't even know what you guys are talking, can guide me on flashing my phone? Mine the sound is soft.... and the firmware is a bit laggy....

i think flashing is upgrading the software of ur current phone to a software of another higher spec phone .

ie the e398 which can take videos after flashing which the e398 cant originally .. forgotten the flash software

tibun, if u dont wanna flash ure phone and wanna adjust the sound, please use MotoKit software .. just type in Yahoo! and u can find it. MotoKit can adjust ure volume simply like Window volume adjuster and later save the settings and restart the phone.

Cheers!

how much & where to flash the phone?
my software got problem also..

also, can somebody letme know the configuration for gprs?

chooz : i think its mostly DIY . search for the programs as mentioned by sakuraguy

yes chooz .. its DIY .. if u scared to flash it .. just send it down to me .. or bring laptop and i bring software .. ha ha .. we can flash while having TT .. ;)

Hi guys, my software is 34r, cannot flash to roxr or 65r because.... There is no "USB setting" at the setting mode....

In order to activate this hidden mode, need to 'bluff' the phone, I did that by using the HEX editor, but it still doesn't show on my phone....
crap! Anyone have problem with the 34r ?

I know it's the 1st gen phone, and I know it sux :)

mmm... no USB settings? .. u cant enable it just like that if u dont have it. Anyway, u cant directly connect the phone via USB cable without disturbing anyother settings on phone. See whether the phone can be detected or not ... please provide me ure full S/W Version.

sakuraguy said:
mmm... no USB settings? .. u cant enable it just like that if u dont have it. Anyway, u cant directly connect the phone via USB cable without disturbing anyother settings on phone. See whether the phone can be detected or not ... please provide me ure full S/W Version.

No need liao sakuraguy, I've completed the flash from 34R --> 6FR and using one of the monster pack(baby viper) liao. I done it by boot loader. If any of you out there still using 34R, then I would say screw it. the latest firmware beat it hands down, so many functions. The cons is the battery consumption is higher, but who cares, it's insignificant.

Thanks Sakuraguy for introducing the possibility to flash the moto E398 and also my cousin Brian for helping me out. No wonder they say it's better than K700i (after flash of course)

Congratulations .. better we can save more money than buying K700i or K750i ;) ..can buy 2 E398 already .. ha ha

Updated on 21st January 2006 .. flashed this morning!

Modifications:
- S/W is R373G0E306FR
- DSP S/W version 6240A00
- UMF - E398@Rokr v1.1 MP @ Renamed to E398 Special Edition2006
- English, Malaysian and Chinese language pack
- Balance of 3.6.2MB phone memory
- Apple iTune Music player
- LightPlayer with Media Player skin .MP3 .MP4 .AAC . MID. AMR
- Unlimited Video recording plus 4X Zoom function on .3GPP format
- Uprated stock phone sound gains.
- Total of 22 Applications & Games.

*Nearly killed my phone due to upgrade to ROXRViper on 20th Jan 2006 but Mottomodders team saved me :confused_smile: .

http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/5341/image0015nw.jpg
http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/1843/image0021em.jpg
http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/9029/image0034jf.jpg
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/9976/image0044bb.jpg
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/4326/image0055ig.jpg
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/9003/image0067yb.jpg
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/221/image0071iy.jpg
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/3396/image0082ja.jpg
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/9726/image0093yx.jpg

On February i might flash to ROXRViper !

Sakuraguy, what is your flex version ?
I'm using the same S/W...

What's wrong with Viper? It's out already?
You forgot to mention the following modification :)

1) Easy phone book search, imagine you have 25 friends with the name 'Lim', and you need to go to the 12th Lim, you have to scroll 12 times right? Now can search like Nokia phone :)

2) Early 34R has bug on bluetooth and connectivity, even if you off the bluetooth, it's still ON, need to reset, and when you want to switch ON bluetooth, it cannot search, have to reset, now no need.

3) Hate that MTV picture that can't be deleted? Now no more ! Spare more space for your precious memory...

I know got many more, just forgotten only :_:

Guys, I'm using E398 too. Mine is the MTV version wan. How to flash it ah ??:retarded:
After flashing can have video recording ability ?