can a 4G63 SOHC bolt a turbo?

kokchiew2

Can anyone giv sum technical advice whether the old 4G63 SOHC engine be bolted a small turbo in order to increase the HP/Torque?

even u bolt-on turbo...it is not worthy coz u need to upgrade other things

u better take d money n get a 4G63T or gsr turbo...more powerful for sure

hmm..wad u said is correct...but isn't it be more interesting to upgrade a normal 4G63 SOHC to a turbo rather than drop in a whole 4G63 DOHC engine.......do u noe anyone else did it b4..?

kokchiew2 said:
hmm..wad u said is correct...but isn't it be more interesting to upgrade a normal 4G63 SOHC to a turbo rather than drop in a whole 4G63 DOHC engine.......do u noe anyone else did it b4..?

drop in 4G63t n mods is more fun.....4G63 sohc bolt on is fun but waste energy lo....nothing to mods except bolt-on turbo rite?

if u hv extra money la....mods for ur hobby

Go to Forced Induction page and SEARCH for "TURBO KIT" or "BOLT ON TURBO"

i also have think about that, but prob maybe on the wiring so what we could do is remapping the ecu for turbo la... i got 1 ecu for perdana sohc wiring which can be remap back again n again... but da block cant be so tough compare turbo's block ar that another prob...

huakenny said:
drop in 4G63t n mods is more fun.....4G63 sohc bolt on is fun but waste energy lo....nothing to mods except bolt-on turbo rite?

if u hv extra money la....mods for ur hobby

n $ la....yterday jus sent my car to check the auto transmission....my car is bleeding....wif ATF between the flywheell....:(

hmm...maybe change to a 6A12 twin turbo...buy a half cut....u noe how much a half cut 6A12 tt cost?

amad108.. said:
i also have think about that, but prob maybe on the wiring so what we could do is remapping the ecu for turbo la... i got 1 ecu for perdana sohc wiring which can be remap back again n again... but da block cant be so tough compare turbo's block ar that another prob...

how abt changing the cylinder...piston...rod...for tubo application? can anot?

Boosting a stock NA engine at 0.5 bar will improve V/E (inherent "weakness" of any NA engine) tremendously without exerting too much stress on the engine.

Unless driven abusively, a turbocharged N/A engine will last and perform very well.

yup u can..bolt on..hv to cari parts from 4g63t like exhaust manifold, turbine tdo4/td05, piping etc..

a lot of work got to do..
better to change to low compression piston, metal gasket etc...

my frenz turbokitted his 1.6 sohc auto using 4g93t parts..doing well only problem with fuel supply..safc will help...

if u like to mod step by step sure it will be fun...

kokchiew2 said:

I know wat u meant by the interesting.....upgrading it from NA to turbo is more intesresting than upgrading a turbo engine to more powerful...But power that u can squeeze out u should know how much la....

Can be done by changing some parts and of coz u muz hav a proper engine management so that it'll function properly... A tuner told me this...

Before bolt-on turbo, ensure that your current engine is still healthy... mine is not, that's why transplanting to 4G63T (from RS) in 3 months from now.

Current engine, a 4G63 DOHC 16V is crapping on me... RM 80 = 310km only. High FC! :(

acbc said:
Before bolt-on turbo, ensure that your current engine is still healthy... mine is not, that's why transplanting to 4G63T (from RS) in 3 months from now.

Current engine, a 4G63 DOHC 16V is crapping on me... RM 80 = 310km only. High FC! :(

:eek:

Sigh....i'm left out...DOHC also dun hav....all turbo alr... :-(

acbc said:

rm80 for 310km/h....tat is veli high fc o...any wrong wit engine ma?

Aiya... usual wear n tear. GB problem. All kinds of problem. Daily driven car... sigh...

Joeker said:
Boosting a stock NA engine at 0.5 bar will improve V/E (inherent "weakness" of any NA engine) tremendously without exerting too much stress on the engine.

Unless driven abusively, a turbocharged N/A engine will last and perform very well.

yeah..! 0.5bar can feel the difference rite? wanna see the performance of an ori N/A SOHC when turbo charged.....

ruhaz said:
yup u can..bolt on..hv to cari parts from 4g63t like exhaust manifold, turbine tdo4/td05, piping etc..

a lot of work got to do..
better to change to low compression piston, metal gasket etc...

my frenz turbokitted his 1.6 sohc auto using 4g93t parts..doing well only problem with fuel supply..safc will help...

if u like to mod step by step sure it will be fun...

can giv an idea of the parts dat needed to upgrade a 4G63 SOHC engine list....say 1) exhaust manifold 2) intercooler 3) compatible ECU.....hehe! really wanna upgrade my old car without using a halfcut engine....a BIG PROJECT 4 me..

kher said:
I know wat u meant by the interesting.....upgrading it from NA to turbo is more intesresting than upgrading a turbo engine to more powerful...But power that u can squeeze out u should know how much la....

Can be done by changing some parts and of coz u muz hav a proper engine management so that it'll function properly... A tuner told me this...

hahaha..tank u tank u...as wad u understand wad i really wan...hehehe...my frenz do said dat i'm crazy by doin tis...beta put a engine swapping are much easy and faster....

acbc said:

hmm..i think my engine is still healthy...jus the transmission got problems....ATF leak like water paip........

my car petrol are RM80 = 480km..

kokchiew2 said:
hahaha..tank u tank u...as wad u understand wad i really wan...hehehe...my frenz do said dat i'm crazy by doin tis...beta put a engine swapping are much easy and faster....

Sometimes they don understand a car enthusiast's feeling...:D
So sometimes things we do will be so different til they think we're crazy and hav too much money...:rolleyes: