AYC Problematic

Soundstream

Hi to all Evos SIFUs-SIFUs,

Need help here.
Is all about AYC again. sigh !
There is a "eek eek" sound coming out from behind left hand side (AYC pump located) whenever i press the break.

I went for a check and it's not the breaking system error and it's the ayc pump piping creating the sound.Any chance the ayc pump faulty ?

Another tricky things is, whenever i stop my car the ayc oil drop to the below min. path. and whenever i start the car it goes up to the max. It's normal or it should be the other way round ?

If you guys did came across this problem please advise me.

:omg_smile:

Hi DD,

no prob man.

My opinion wise, i think the pump motor is not working well. Damn shit liow, its gona cost a bomb la to buy a acy pump. Worst thing is the ayc pump cannot be open as it's sealed. At least can open and take a look on the faulty part..maybe can be service easily...

Found a e8 half cut ayc pump, cost around 1.8k. It's worth it ?

:regular_smile:

There might be air trapped in your AYC reservoir from the last time you bled it.

Bring it to a Mitsubishi service center and have them bleed the system with the MUT II, whole system bled in about ten minutes. Any workshop that has access to this unit can also do it for you.

Other option is to lift your car up on a 4-post hoist and bleed the AYC with the engine running and using steering input to bleed the trapped air out. This is time consuming but you won't need the MUT II to do it.

soundstream>why dont you go over to ralliart in klang or the mitsu service centres and get them to plug in the mut ii. that'll give u some kind of clue as to what the problem is. and to save you the trouble of asking, a brand new ayc pump ordered through mitsu msia will cost around 3k. they have no stock, so if you want one, you've gotta wait....of course, this info is correct as of the last time i asked, which was last month.
used ones are around 1.5-2k, but then, why buy a used one when the problem might just resurface?

Hi all,

ooOO.itu macam ar...i think i've tried the trapped air release but things get worse as now front also got sound (eek eek). Gosh...

Any mitsu center got MUTII system ? able to know whether is air trapped or pump failure ? good....

ermmm but nowadays mitsu service center is by proton right ?

i know that glenmarie service centre and ralliart has mut ii. havent tried others, so i cant say. if you think air is trapped inside, just bleed the system and make sure the mech knows how to do it properly, then put new ayc fluid in.
the glenmarie mitsu centre is shared with proton, the mechs wear proton shirts and the bill is also from proton.
personally, i go to ralliart, where the centre is shared with proton, the mech wear proton shirts but the bill is from ralliart.
your call

hi amsrsm,

okie mate. will try to bleed and refills again.if still got then will only look for the mut II system.

Anybody from Pg know any mitsu service center has the MUTII ?

tq.....

sorry to hear that bro..............
but 7's always seem to hv this problem, if got the chance go for S-AYC.

lanevo6 said:
sorry to hear that bro..............
but 7's always seem to hv this problem, if got the chance go for S-AYC.

S-AYC ? What if getting a aftermarket e8 AYC pump ? will it be the same ?

sorry soundstream, i didnt look at your location so i didnt know you're based in penang. um, try calling the mitsu service centres and see if they have mut ii, i think they should have them since they're selling evo 9's officially now.
i dont think the pump is what makes an ayc into a s-ayc, its the ayc ecu. i might be wrong, so any confirmations on this would be appreciated.

Soundstream said:
S-AYC ? What if getting a aftermarket e8 AYC pump ? will it be the same ?
Soundstream ,
changing E8 or E7 pump makes no different as the ECU for S-AYC is not same as AYC.
amsrsm,
you're right the ecu ctrl the ayc.
Jun ek9,
thats what most of the s'porean do. Or they drive the RS version.

You can try Ralliart ECU for AYC. but firstly would advise to go for checkup for confirmation on the problem. i hv two friends with E7 one confirm pump koyak. Another escape with changing the oil 2x.

As for the oil level, here's some explanation:How it works

On starting the car the AYC ECU checks the state of the system and operates the Electric Pump to charge the Accumulator. The Hydraulic Switch informs the AYC ECU when the correct operating pressure is reached and the Electric Pump is switched off. This cycle is continously maintained all the while the car is running with the pump running intermittently to keep the pressure correct.
When torque transfer is called for by the AYC ECU due to the sensed inputs and the AYC programming a signal is output to the Proportioning Valve and the Direction Control Valve to send the correct pressure to the correct Clutch Pack in the Torque Transferring

Jun_EK9 said:
change to lsd no worries in future

jon:lsd conversion for evo 7 very cheap only ma,rm15k new:X-: n1 selling it.rm15k include,bracket,driveshaft,rear differential with lsd and etc.all brand new

Wah...so complecated...ralliart ecu ar...ermm how abt tomei ecu ? got a guy selling for 1k nett la.

guess i will have to get it check properly.

:confused_smile:

hey all sifus there,

really thanks a lot for all the advises....

Soundstream said:
Wah...so complecated...ralliart ecu ar...ermm how abt tomei ecu ? got a guy selling for 1k nett la.

hey all sifus there,

dun think tomei got ecu for the ayc.

fyi,ayc and the engine ecu is different unit.if not mistaken the evo 7 onwards acd got another unit ecu.

Soundstream said:

hey all sifus there,

He heeee, bro i m not referring to engine ECU. The ACD system has a control unit and ralliart has a aftermarket for this. No other makers.

soundstream,

i thought ah loy to do it the other day (when i brought the yellow one over for a complete oil change). will be passing him the manual when i get back to penang this weekend. dont hesitate in making harsh decisions. The AYC pump on the E7 gives most faults among the CT9As, but then again, it isnt so easy to "die".

NoTiGuY said:
soundstream,

i thought ah loy to do it the other day (when i brought the yellow one over for a complete oil change). will be passing him the manual when i get back to penang this weekend. dont hesitate in making harsh decisions. The AYC pump on the E7 gives most faults among the CT9As, but then again, it isnt so easy to "die".

Ya AhLoy did check and release the trapped air. But things get worst as my front aso kena now. Shit ! haha...i also out of idea la bro. Should i again release all over again from back to front and refill,release and test again ?

:Not_Impressed:

did he release the front? i've asked him to release the air from the pipes near the AYC pump too. did he do that?