Transmission Fluid Change

calvin9683

Dear Sifus/old timer/existing evo users,

I've just got my E7 for 1.5weeks and is in need to change the fluid in the drivetrain.
Had read a few threads here and most of u guys are recommending to use Motul. As i've checked the price for few brands as follow:

Motul 75/90 = RM110/lit
CUSCO 80/90 = RM90/lit
RedLine (75/90) = RM60/lit

I understand that i'll be needing 5lits of fluid for gearbox, transfer gear and rear diff... AYC will need to but DiaQueen separately.
Would like to hear suggestions from you guys on all these brands of oil, are they as good or should i pay to get Motul??? i was quite shocked that drivetrain oil change would cost so much, never had this thought before (last time use wira evo only RM60), but i know now its 4WD and extra care needed... just would like to hear suggestions for best bang-for-buck oil change.

Regards,
Calvin - new noob E owner

congratz on getting your evo :biggrin:

i'm using:

1. original Mitsubishi gear oil (4 liters, white colour square metal can, same as diaqueen AYC packaging) which cost me RM120 (Jan 2010 price). dunno if price went up or not. works fine for my evo 8.

2. Motul 75w-140 for both front and rear diff (1 liter each) - RM 260 (bottles).

3. Diaqueen for AYC - RM80 per liter (Jan 2010 price). i think the price has gone up now.

4. it is also recommended to change your engine oil, brake oil, radiator coolant and full set of belt + water pump at the same time to save on labour cost.

important note for fluid change: make sure your mechanic bleeds the brake oil and differential oil properly.

enjoy the drive :driver:

thanks bro for your reply...
but wouldnt 75-140 be too thick for our ride??
had changed my engine oil on the first day i took the car... other fluids will be changed accordingly, but most important for now is the drivetrain fluids... need to drive up to KL from JB on 2nd Sept for friend's wedding, worse part is all mech is closed this few days, considering to do the fluid change when i'm in KL...

btw, mine comes with 6-speed gearbox, previous owner changed it... i believe there's no relation with wat kindda oil to use....

anymore suggestions from sifus???

Motul 75w-140 Competition is one of the best oils money can buy. Highly recommended from me as well ;) It's not too thick as the viscosity suggest....gear change is silky smooth hehe.

for engine oil i used motul 6100 - it cost rm162 (4L) ,
AYC oil DIAQUEEN (samurai shop sunway got sell)- RM98 (1 bottle 1L)
gearbox oil last time i change to Motul oso but forget le motul or torco hehe...so far so good all this oil hehehe

For me... MOTUL all the way accept for AYC, using the Mitsubishi Diaqueen.