ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 265K
To Syed, klx and all other newbies... welcome to the ZTH Mini thread...

There is a TT session tonite as usual... all mini owners are invited...

SHELL opposite Eastin Hotel at 10pm onwards...

We will be discussing on the Bagan Lalang Mini Run and those interested to join can just drop by tonite....

C U there....:shades_smile:

I managed to find some pics from previous trip to the Bagan Lalang Seaview Restaurant that serves delicious seafood dishes.... Check out the pics below...

There is the fresh seafood menu, cooked fish n squids, spicy clams, ikan bakar with some kick ass sauce, black pepper crabs and other hot and spicy seafood dishes. Rugi saper tak ikut woiii!!!

Any mini auto in klang valley?

Hi all

Just wondering if there are any Mini Automatic owners out there? If so, would love to meet up and talk about mini, maybe Teh Tarik or something.

Call me

Syed
012 5205525

mini run to bagan lalang

mini run to bagan lalang has been amended to the below date

29/1/2006 (sunday)
meeting time 6pm
for tour, dinner, gathering, get to know mini

interested, buzz me 012-2951904 hafez

Hie! I can proudly say i'm a new mini owner (exactly a few hours old) :proud: and i'm in need of help. I need recomendations on where i can get my mini restored back to beauty that's affordable. Anyone? Please? I really don't know much about mini :embaressed_smile: but i'm just soooo in love with the car. Please help ya! Thanks so much! :angel_smile:

faithsangel,

what i can say be patient a young once, first pick which concept would you like to restore you mini, by this you can save a lot of money as you just spent one time only in buying goodies. You can do this by searching in the web..or a very effective way is joining the TT, you can get a lot of idea and suggestions from the mini'ann....

hey all newbies! welcome to the forum!

faithsangel,
glad to know u r enjoying ur onwership. i restored mine myself. it saved me much money and thought me much mechanical knowledge. however, the car was of-road for nearly 2 years and i went through many periods of frustration, mainly because of not knowing what/how to do certain things. the good thing was i had someone who is very knowledgeable in cars and he helped me throughout. without him, it wld hv been mindboggling and taken much much longer. so, the question is which way you want to go - DIY or mechanic? and what type of restoration are you thinking of - bit by bit or full?

from personal experience, i'd say enjoy the car first as much as you can before you start working on it. you just got it, so the first thing is to enjoy the ownership and driving b4 you get into the 'headache' (a good worthwhile 'headache' nevertheless) of restoration.

enjoy and keep smiling whenever u r driving or looking at it!

clubman,
I have come to realize that mini parts aren't cheap! they cost a BOMB! This is really gonna burn a whole in my pocket! I don't exactly need to do that much work on the mini. Just needs a new coat of paint. While i'm at it, I was thinking of adding the arch and a sunroof. What do you think?

sureshn,
Well I don't think i'll be fixing the mini myself. I don't have the slightest mechanical knowledge. I will need to find a workshop that can do it for me. I won't be doing everything in one go. It'll just be to costly. I have heard of 2 workshops that does minis. One is Rosli in Subang and the other would be Mini Works in Kepong. Any idea where exactly is it located?

I can't drive the car around at all now as it's already stuck in the workshop as there is no brakes on the car (only discovered that after getting the car). So yes i have my first mini headache.

Thanks for all your advise. Help greatly appreciated.

mini restoration

hi faithsangel,sureshn,
wish this could be of help,
got my Mini out about a month ago, was sitting in the workshop, after restoration in penang(expensive), for almost two years.

finally met this guy in segambut (dont know if the same Miniworks you talking about), got my Mini brakes, clutch, carburetor, etc.etc. serviced and now, my 1275 is clocking 140kph on the highway!

so, the Mini story is like this, firstly, make/keep your Mini in good running condition, b4 you embark on any restoration. Identify what model your Mini is, and restore it to original, as stated in the registration card. then you ask yourself whether you want to restore body and cosmetics first, or the engine upgrades ?????

then you budget yourself every now and then(not too often la) how much you want to spent on what ?

so, is your Mini in good running condition? if not sure, i can suggest you call on Sam(012 3700 737) the guy who did my Mini, and run a check(first important step!)
hope i have been of help,
miniAdventurers

Well, minis are more like a hobby for enthusiast.... although some parts are expensive but mini is not like the ordinary cars we see everyday... We seldom see minis being driven on the road... its a rare sight... as oppose to seeing protons, hondas, nissans.... in fact all classic cars are a rare sight...

Lets say if you buy a second hand Kancil worth RM18K (bank loan) and a Mini worth RM6K cash....

You will need to service the bank loan for Kancil and if you have spare money, then only you add extras to your kancil....

while for the mini, spend another 12K on the Mini and after 5 yrs, what is the value of your Kancil compared to the Mini?? I'm sure if given some time to a mini lover... the car will be a head turner worth even more than the Kancil....

No doubt to repair it involves money... but to make any car look good, you still have to fork out $$$.... I think the first mistake that many people make is when they buy rotten minis which is dirt cheap... thinking that with just minor restoration can get it back to its former health... and halfway through restoration process, they got turned off due to escalating repair bills....and they complaint that minis cost a BOMB....

Thats why i keep telling others to buy a running condition minis with all the proper documentations. This is bcoz you will have to spend more if rotten minis than a running condition minis... Dont have to be mint condition... Just a running cond with all switches, gauges, locks, lights, signal...etc, in working order will be fine...

Trust me that you will save even more in the long run if you buy a decent running cond mini...

been there and done that....:shades_smile:

`Blitz,
Yes it's true that the amount of money you'll spend on the mini is a whole lot but only a true mini lover will find satisfaction upon completion. I guess it's a matter of how you plan around doing it up.

I got a pretty good deal when i bought my mini. Got one that's in running condition for 5K. Only the brakes abit 'tak-makan' when i drove it off after transfering names. Other than that nothing much needs to be done. Even the old paint job still looks nice. Just needs minor touch-up and a good wash! I'm pretty satisfied with what i bought. So as soon as i have made up my mind on how i want to restore it, i can go straight to work.

So right now i'm just shopping around looking for parts/workshop for the car. Any ideas where I can find that? Somewhere that's reliable. I nearly bought a pair of original mini shocks from a half cut shop that claims its still very much 'functioning'.

faithsangel,

for the sunroof, just becareful to pick which one. Just install it, if it have spare part for the rubber, or you find a your mini will become a "aquarium" after a few years....

i dont think a normal mini spare part mini a bomb, but the cosmetic do cost a bomb....well, may be because I do it my self (luckly my uncle do own a workshop) so did not feel losing money so much...

mini run to bagan lalang

newbies, mini owners and fans

bagan lalang trip
29-1-2006 6pm onwords
tour, get to know, gathering, enjoy seafood

interested, buzz me at 012-2951904 hafez

Calling all young mini owners in Klang Valley.... theres a mini gath and TT session at Shell opposite Eastin Hotel PJ at 10pm friday.

Buff up your mini and come over....!!! :dancing2:

muhammadhafez.fotopages.com
further info pm / sms me 012-2951904

Calling all young mini owners in Klang Valley.... theres a mini gath and TT session at Shell opposite Eastin Hotel PJ at 10pm friday.

after that about 11pm we plan go to EXTREME PARK, jalan- jalan cari makan around subang area

this friday..

there's some amendment to the plan and venue this friday meeting. there's invitation to go to kepong. a friend is opening his kedai makan there

Calling all young mini owners in Klang Valley.... be there at mini gath and TT session at Shell opposite Eastin Hotel PJ at 10pm friday. we'll meet there first, and head to kepong..

For Browsing

mini tt and gathering pics...

http://muhammadhafez.fotopages.com/http://www.muhammadhafez.fotopages.com