WTA - Any S2000 users????

Thanx everyone~~~

Lightningfield: It's hard fer me to ask everyone fer permission, but my guess is that as long as it's not published on some weird website, it should be ok if u want to use the photos fer yer personal blog. And pls make sure all carplates must be blacked out.

great group pix j boy. (havent seen such a large S2k since PG trackdays years ago)

regards to the oil filter bracket, it sure is an affordable option. I cant remember how the oil filter on stock s2k, its horizontal on the side of the engine (base on linked photos).

the 2zz has it on the bottom of engine (vertical down)

great group pix j boy. (havent seen such a large S2k since PG trackdays years ago)

regards to the oil filter bracket, it sure is an affordable option. I cant remember how the oil filter on stock s2k, its horizontal on the side of the engine (base on linked photos).

the 2zz has it on the bottom of engine (vertical down)

Thanx koolspyda~~Yeah it's 'horizontal' on the side of the engine..

hmm, in that case its a cheap insurance against breakage on high vibration (on track or over time)

Hey, you should have join the Hill drive event at B.tinggi! should be a great outing! I'm in with the SG gang too.

There's 1 S2000 entered for the Bkt Tinggi Hillclimb & a second one considering ...:biggrin:

ask him not to waste the opportunity. lets make it a malaysian touge do! (ala best motoring touge do!) we might not be so lucky next time.

i think eugune's s2k is there too

hmm, in that case its a cheap insurance against breakage on high vibration (on track or over time)

Hey, you should have join the Hill drive event at B.tinggi! should be a great outing! I'm in with the SG gang too.

Yeah I wanted to join the Bukit Tinggi event but can't make it due to work... :banghead: I have my leave freezed at the moment due to insufficient manpower.

A second S2k has joined the Bkt Tinggi hillclimb..:biggrin:

cool, need all the help we have. the very best of conti's sports cars vs the small group of japs sports , hehe :driver:

:smokin: we are very much the underdogs, as do u must know.

s2000 TT session on this friday (16/10/09) 9:30pm@ Baywatch ,dataran prima .
any1 interested?

1)me
2)paul
3)
4)
5)

Event : SGtrackies Time Attack 2009
Date : 16th Nov 2009 (Mon)
Venue : Sepang International Circuit
Time : 9 to 4pm
Cost: SGD350 ( cost includes transponder, lunch, etc )
Rules and Regulations : No change from 2008.

Please note the following:

Wed, 21 Oct 2009 – Registration and Fees payment, Kallang KFC 7pm

Categories:
> Street Class
> Modified Class
> Unlimited Class
> Open Class
> Superlite Class

Vehicle Classes

Each class, except the Open and Superlite class, will be divided
into:

Front Wheel Drive
Rear Wheel Drive
All Wheel Drive

Cheers and Cya all
Bernard
SGtrackies
[email protected]

-----> Any S2000s in Malaysia taking part?

J-Boy,

U have the regulations for the time attack??

Interested in Street or modified class frt wheel :)

hey all! never seen this thread before... missed at least 2 TTs! man...
btw, i drive a black AP1-130... pretty much stock in and out...

panspeed, i wonder if i saw you around 1pm just now in cheras area.
hope to join you guys for the next TT!
cheers!

hey all! never seen this thread before... missed at least 2 TTs! man...
btw, i drive a black AP1-130... pretty much stock in and out...

panspeed, i wonder if i saw you around 1pm just now in cheras area.
hope to join you guys for the next TT!
cheers!

ken, welcome to the thread !!!, must join us the next tt k?tis my no :0125027115 sms me yr contact ,will call u up for the next meet up. im in ipoh since last nite i think u met bryan ,mugen top also

heya william. thank you. :-)
will sms you in a sec.

hm, any workshop to recommend for fixing up the hardtop?
i tried installing myself but have 2 issues:
1) excessive wind noise at 150+km/h;
2) side rubbers (around windows) keep getting loose.
i know i have done some things wrong. kekeke.

cool vids!
i'm interested to see spoon vids as well!
anyone know what happened to them at mme09? they've retired when i got there...

hi all! i just got my AP1 yesterday and am still getting used to it. but obviously i have been looking all over the internet for aftermarket parts already :)

mine is silverstone with red seats. pretty much stock standard except for Apexi exhaust and air fliter.

hopefully i'll be able to meet up with some of you more experienced S2K owners and you can tell me what i "need" to do to my car :)

anything still up for sale?

Welcome to the S2K community! I think u might have more luck finding used S2K parts for sale in the Singapore Honda Club forums under the S2000 folder. URL is www.shc-forum.com

Just to let all Msian S2K owners know, the MOTON StreetSport coilovers are released already after some testing done here in Singapore and also on Sepang. A groupbuy initiative is also currently going on here as well.

Below is my review on the coilovers(comparison done with HKS Hipermax 3 Sport as that was what I was using before):

Moton background
Moton started in 1999, with their primary aim being motorsport performance on the race tracks. The treble of championship wins by Andy Priaulx in the FIA WTCC in 2005, 2006 and 2007 firmly established Moton as 1 of the leaders of suspension technology. Many race teams are now on Moton suspension systems and that includes teams that run the extremely demanding Le Mans 24hr endurance race. In 2000, 30% of the starting field at Le Mans was equipped with Moton suspension.

Basic Info on Moton StreetSport

1) Piston size : 44mm
2) Piston rod : 22mm chromoly steel hardened
3) Body material : T6061 aluminium
4) Pillowball upper mounts
5) Monotube structure
6) Mounting forks : Full billet one piece forks for rigidity
7) Damping : 15 clicks of rebound and compresson damping
8) Gas pressure for support chassis
9) Spring rates: F 12kg/mm | R 11kg/mm

Build quality looks good and solid, as to be expected from 1 of the top suspension specialists in the world. When we lifted the Moton shocks, the Moton felt lighter than the HKS Hipermax III Sport, which is made of steel and not aluminium. Each side of the Moton weighs in at 4+kg if I'm not wrong. 1 advantage of aluminium is its lightweight properties, downside being cost. The Moton comes equipped with Eibach springs. A few quick visual observations led us to seeing that the mounting forks were very much thicker, probably for structural integrity and so is the camber plate up top. More importantly, we lifted up the dust boots on the HKS to compare the thickness of the piston rods, and there was a big difference in thickness. The Motons are easily twice as thick. Installation was straightforward.

1-9.jpg

2-6.jpg
3-8.jpg

4-7.jpg

5-7.jpg

6-7.jpg

DSC_5258.jpg

9-3-1.jpg

8-5.jpg

Initial Street Driving Impression

I decided to set them on 7 out of 15 clicks first and the comfort was immediately noticable. The Moton StreetSports are definitely more comfortable than the HKS Hipermax 3 Sport for daily driving. Even a non-petrolhead girlfriend noticed it immediately without me mentioning a word about them. The comfort was impressive, with the suspension absorbing all of the bumps on the road and provided the car with traction under throttle on uneven roads. As I picked up speed through certain sweepers and bends, the coilovers were firm while still being very street compliant. This was quite different from the HKS Hipermax III Sport, as the HKS tended to be a little bumpier on the streets although it performs well on the track and has sharp response. I usually have my HKS set at 8-15 out of 30 clicks for street driving.

We hoisted the car up after about 300km of street driving to inspect the Motons and there were no leakages or any problems with them. The next stage was to test the Motons on the Sepang International Circuit.

Circuit Testing on SIC

On the way up to the Sepang, the Motons absorbed the bumps on the highway well and was comfortable. The difference in comfort was obvious comparing them to the HKS. We left all 4 corners at 7 clicks on the way up. The car was also very planted at high speeds as it went over certain uneven patches on the NSH.

The true test for the Motons was to be nowhere else except on the track since Moton is known as a world leader in damper technology excelling in motorsports. Even though this is just a street/track version of their much acclaimed ClubSport and MotorSport series, I was still expecting them to perform well. The session was quite packed with 60+ cars and the track was rather congested. It was also a pretty hot day out on the circuit.

There were downsides to our testing, and that was having changed over from the stock front and rear anti-roll bars to Cusco pieces which increased the front stiffness more than it increased the rear. This means we will need more time to fine tune settings. We did experience some understeer upon corner entry and thru mid-corner, but corner exits were fine. After some changes in tire pressures to try to give more front grip, we also made some damper setting changes. We managed to dial out some of the understeer but the car still understeered more than I wanted it to. It will take a few more sessions to set up the car better with the new anti-roll bars. However, the grip level was impressive despite understeering tendencies, and the suspension feedback to the driver was quite direct and sharp. Body roll was reduced compared to the HKS, especially through the fast sweepers of Turn 5 & 6, but that would be attributed more to the stiffer anti-roll bars IMO. I also think that the car might have been lowered too much without RCA kits and roll center geometry might have gone off too much. We were running it lower than usual and there was almost no spacing between fenders and tires. I have to start using a datalogger soon and that will certainly help me improve my timings faster too. The other reason I say so is because if I had been using a datalogger prior and on the day of testing itself, it could have shown with even more conviction as to whether the car had more outright traction etc.

On a rather congested track needing to overtake cars every lap, I only managed a best time of 2:38.6 that day, which is 1.8s behind my PB(on HKS) of 2:36.8 (MPT TA Rd 1, clear track).

17-2.jpg

18-2.jpg

After-track check

We found no leaks or any problems with the coilovers after returning from Sepang. Subsequently I had them checked again after 5000km of usage and no problem found so far. The Motons are also very silent. Aaron Wang, GoTuning USA CEO, took a ride in my car when he was in town and he commented that the Motons sold in the USA are definitely not so quiet, including his own sets.

Conclusion

The HKS is a very impressive set of coilovers on the track for the weekend trackie. I've honestly been very happy with them over the whole period of using them and they did provide good laptimes. They have also received good reviews from MaxRev in the states, who drives TimeAttack events for Evasive Motorsports and often places in the top 3 at various TA events there. The Moton wins hands down for comfort. There seems to be more outright grip on track, but we were unable to fully exploit that on a congested track, with other handling changes made at the same time and that needs time to finetune. We will be aiming to do sub 2:35 laps next year. So far we have only done 1 track session with the Moton StreetSport but hopefully we should be heading out for more track time with it early next year.

*For more info on Moton, visit www.motonsuspension.com

Moton-equipped Achievements

October 25th 2009 FIA GT2 CHAMPION RICHARD WESTBROOK
September 25th 2009 1st - 2nd - 3rd for BIMMERWORLD
July 26th 2009 FIA GT - SPA 24 HOUR VICTORY
June 21st 2009 PK Corvette win in Oschersleben rain
May 3rd 2009 K Plus K Motorsports FIA GT-1 VICTORY
May 2nd 2009 BTCS VICTORY KS Motorsport

October 6th 2008 Race and Championship for Tony Rivera
October 5th 2008 G&A Victory FIA GT4 Cup
June 23rd 2008 VICTORY FOR GOLLIN AND HEZEMANS

November 18th 2007 FIA WTCC CHAMPION ANDY PRIAULX
November 11th 2007 LARBRE LMES GT1 VICTORY
October 27th 2007 2007 CHAMPIONS IMSA GT3 PORSCHE CUP
October 24th 2007 Belcar div.2+Driver Challenge CHAMPIONS
September 23rd 2007 Chevrolet - Henrik Lundgaard VICTORY.
September 9th 2007 BMW Z4 M VICTORY DULLER MOTORSPORT
July 29th 2007 24 Hours of Spa VICTORY
July 28th 2007 FIA GT4 VICTORY GPR Racing
July 27th 2007 NGT Racing: 4 Wins out of 4
June 24th 2007 BTCC: Mat Jackson Victory
June 24th 2007 FIA GT3 Victory Martini Callaway racing
June 24th 2007 DTC Denmark: Kurt Thimm Victory
April 1st 2007 GLPK GT3 VICTORY

November 20th 2006 2006 WORLD CHALLENGE CHAMPIONS
November 19th 2006 WTCC CHAMPION 2006 ANDY PRIAULX
November 18th 2006 LARBRE WINS G2 IN DUBAI
October 1st 2006 FIA GT Budapest: Podium Finish GLPK
September 24th 2006 LMES Jarama: Podium Finish Spyker
September 24th 2006 LMES CHAMPION 2006 LARBRE
September 17th 2006 FIA GT Mugello - Race Alliance VICTORY
August 20th 2006 Tommy Archer speed GT VICTORY
August 20th 2006 Podium Finish Robb Holland
August 5th 2006 DSC - Graham Coomes VICTORY
July 29th 2006 SPA: DOUBLE WIN for Bouvy and Bornhauser
July 16th 2006 Spyker podium position at Nürburgring
July 16th 2006 Larbre VICTORY LMGT1 class
July 8th 2006 BTCS- GPR racing wins SPA Race
July 1st 2006 FIA GT3 Race 1 Oschersleben, Germany TOP 5 finishing cars on MOTON dampers
June 29th 2006 Second WIN for PROSPEED Competition
June 25th 2006 One-Two Finish NayKid Racing
April 30th 2006 DTC Denmark: Jan Magnussen Victory
April 10th 2006 Istanbul: LMES Victory Larbre Comp.
April 9th 2006 Spa: Dutch GT Victory Hans Ambaum
April 9th 2006 Spa: GLPK Victory 1st round Belgium GT
April 1st 2006 Monza: Racing Box / Viper's 1st and 2nd
March 28th 2006 Paul Ricard: Pedro Lamy fastest in GT1
January 15th 2006 Dubai - Duller wins 24 h of Dubai

November 20th 2005 2005 WORLD CHAMPION (wtcc)-A. PRIAULX
October 23rd 2005 SRT - 2005 BELGIUM GT CHAMPIONS
October 23rd 2005 US CARWORLD - DUTCH GT CHAMPIONS
October 23rd 2005 BritCar - Moore Motorsport VICTORY
October 16th 2005 French GT - Larbre Comp. Ferrari VICTORY
October 16th 2005 World Challenge Touring CHAMPIONS
September 27th 2005 French GT - VBM 2005 CHAMPIONS
September 19th 2005 British GT - Tech9 GT3 CHAMPIONS
September 12th 2005 BMWRDC - RICK KERRY CHAMPION 2005
September 4th 2005 LMES 2005 GT2 CHAMPION - SEBAH
September 4th 2005 Mosport - Charles Espenlaub VICTORY
August 28th 2005 FIA WTCC Germany - Andy Priaulx VICTORY
August 28th 2005 24-Hrs Zolder - SRT Corvette C5R VICTORY
August 27th 2005 Grand-Am Mid-Ohio - PTG BMW VICTORY
August 15th 2005 British GT Silverstone - Embassy Victory
August 13th 2005 LMES Silverstone - Sebah GT2 Victory

November 30th 1999 LMES GTS Champions 2004 – Larbre Competition

---------- Post added at 06:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:41 PM ----------

Groupbuy Info

Ok here are the details of the groupbuy for the Moton StreetSport coilovers.

RP: SGD4950 (NOT including GST, NOT including installation)

Groupbuy price: SGD4900 NETT (Includes GST, Includes installation)

Savings of about SGD500+.

I've pushed for minimum order to be only 3 sets to make it very realistic for interested buyers and not having to wait forever fer 10 names that will never materialise or takes a very long time to materialise.

It only takes 3 names for GB price mentioned above to be available as a promotion, so dun miss out.

*This GB price is exclusive to Uber Garage in Singapore.

**UPDATE: Ready stock available. NO WAITING TIME.

Currently I have 2 friends who are interested, so just a couple more and the GB is good to go with ready stock already available. This pricing will be for a limited run only.

• 2-6.jpg
    2-6.jpg
    36.8 KB · Views: 9