Wiser choice for an FD?

azmi55u

Im in need of some advice. Im currently browsing for an fd. FYI i have +-30k in cash. What would be a better choice:

a. Get a 60k-80k fd and fix/mod everything up later on with the cash OR

b. Get an 80k-100k fd which is fixed/moded and spend all the cash for d/p

Thanx

as long as the car is modded with reliability parts you can expect to pay bout 80k onwards depending how much has been done.Expect to pay more for single turbo conversions. If i were you, i'd get the owner to dyno the car before buying. I feel sorry for some buyers in their excitement end up buying really bad examples then blaming the rx7 generally as a bad car. if you need some assistance just pm me dude.

Just take your time and look around... something nice always comes along if you'll just be patient... Do your homework, and read more abt the rotary... its not your average run-off-the-mill cylinder & piston machine thingy... haha...

Just curious?

Thanx a lot guys for all ur replies and PMs..
I know how great the fd is but there is one more thing thats bugging me.. i noticed that most of the fds for sale have been with the owners for 1-2yrs only.. is it because they like to change cars :biggrin: or is it because they r tired with the problems. I dont see the point in spending so much money on interests for a car and selling it in 1-2yrs time.

Im ready.. :damnmate:

azmi55u said:
I know how great the fd is but there is one more thing thats bugging me.. i noticed that most of the fds for sale have been with the owners for 1-2yrs only.. is it because they like to change cars :biggrin: or is it because they r tired with the problems. I dont see the point in spending so much money on interests for a car and selling it in 1-2yrs time.

hehehe..then this question u should ask the sellers directly, becoz they might have their own personally reasons, like me i FORCE to sell my car becoz i leaving to oversea soon for business purpose. Hopefully this answer your question above~!!! hahaha...:biggrin:

Thanks.

its a personal choice. i'm the second owner of my fd and its been 5 1/2 great years.:)

azmi55u said:

changing owners ay ... tell me about that again ... with my car the average ownership is about 9 to 10 month ... personally for me, i hope to own it longer .... a lot of things need to be consider ... anyway ... i think you'll be safe if you hang around with some of the sifus here and listen to what they have to say ... i think everybody is their own sifus and you should be your sifu sometime

azmi55u said:

If i had the option... i'd keep my car forever... :frown:

The Truth ?

Very good obervation on ownership times for FDs. Owning an FD RX-7 can very often be a love / hate relationship depending on your luck & commonsense - sometimes more hate = sell car asap!

The RX-7, especially FD looks good but (more often) goes like crap due to lack of money spent on reliability & maitenance items that matter.

There are other reasons of course though, including "bored, need to change car more often than change my underwear, change for fun, my friend sold his FD so I must too, cannot afford maintenance" & then there is always the reason that well, not practical anymore.

IMO the most common reason is because tired of always fixing, blown 4 engines - i had enough. 8-) FD requires a KNOWLEDGEABLE mechanic or better still the owner needs to be very DIY and hands-on.

Hope the above answers your concerns / Q...