wiring problem..(2 ohm subwoofer)

kaki_ice

hi guys..noob question here..im just confused about my subwoofer's wiring..fyi im using:

soundstream subwoofer xw2/12(DVC)=300 watt rms
mohawk monoblock 500.1(4ohm@200watt-2ohm@400watt-1ohm@600watt)

http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/6449/dsc00288i.th.jpg

++ --

as u guys can see here..theres 4 holes for the subwoofer cable..wat should i do to get the 2ohm@400watt for my subwoofer from the amp?which hole should i choose?

n is it possible for the amp consume 1ohm@600watt for my 2ohm subwoofer?
my friend told me that 2ohm subwoofer with DVC are suitable with 2,1ohm amp's power.

thx

i cant find soundstream xw2/12 in the net.....is it xs2/12?

anyway if u confirm its a dvc 2ohm sub, then u can wire it to either 4 ohm (wired the voiceoils in series) or 1 ohm (wire them in parallel)

this is parallel wiring
http://www.the12volt.com/12voltimages/1_2ohm_dvc_1ohm.gif

this is series wiring
http://www.the12volt.com/12voltimages/1_2ohm_dvc_4ohm.gif

Yes that is the subwoofer side (speaker side)...

With a dual 2 ohm subwoofer you can either wire for 4 ohms or 1 ohm ...

With that amplifier, I would rather have you wire for 4 ohms which is a series connection

Connect :
Amplifier (+) ---TO--> Voice Coil #1 (+)
Voice Coil #1 (-) --- TO --> Voice Coil #2 (+)
Voice Coil #2 (-) --- To --> Amplifier (-)

This will wire up your 2 ohm coils in series giving you a 4 ohm overall load...

Why do i say this is better ? Your amp is capable of 200W RMS @ 4 ohms, your speakers are rated for 300W RMS (both coils) from what i gather.

This is a safe setup that will never blow your subs.

If you wire for 1 ohm, then your amp CAN deliver 600W RMS into a 300W speaker which means you're probably going to blow your subwoofer if you turn it up past 50%.

If you wanna learn more about amplifier ratings ...etc

check out my blog here: http://www.carsubs.net/carsubwoofer/choosing-a-stable-amplifier-for-your-car-sub-woofer

I'd honestly try and find a different sub, with dual 2 ohm coils with a 600W RMS rating, or a dual 4 ohm sub with a 400W RMS rating ... that way you can get more out of this amplifier (SAFELY) and turn it up as much as you want...

thx to bro zenn n u coz replyin me...anyway..now im more clear n understand bout this wiring..but the minor prob here is..i dunno how to pull out the sub from the box..scared the sub will be loose

let the shop do for you la then........

unscrew the sub from the box only ma.... usually the wires inside are long enough for u la... not to worry

let see..if i wan to add another sub with the same type...2ohm+2ohm...is dat possible to get 600watt from my amp?if yes..how bout the wiring for 2 subwoofer?

no kenot, your choices are 1/2 ohm, 2 ohm or 8ohm only. 1/2 ohm your amp is unstable, 8ohm power is too low, so run 2 ohm la, u get 400W, each sub gets 200W
http://www.the12volt.com/12voltimages/2_2ohm_dvc_2ohm.gif

if the sub is 2 ohm..n can up to 1000w max power,

so the amp probably need 1000w power above??

this amp suit the sub or not?

• 313188@12.jpg
    [email protected]
    50.3 KB · Views: 188
  • stanley288@136.jpg
    [email protected]
    40 KB · Views: 312
what is the sub specs? single or double voice coil, how many ohms?

from the amp specs, u will need either:
-400W single voice coil 4ohm sub, or
-600W double voice coil 4ohm sub (wired in parallel), or
-1000W double voice coil 2ohm sub (wired in parallel), or
-400W double voice coil 2ohm sub (wired in series)

oh.. i knw.

u not recommended some unknown sub ?

i found this. boschmann sub. got detail info.
n i look the actual sub liao.

damn heavy.. the acc shop guy said 1 enough. if 2,, wan blow bonnet ah.

tis sub can pakai or not ?

donno the amp can tahan tis sub or not. got 2 +/- wire terminal . can set as 2 ohm.
the guy told me.

• vtks10b.jpg
    vtks10b.jpg
    140.6 KB · Views: 195
the specs of the sub doesnt clearly say what power RMS it needs, just says 1100W power handling, which i assume is peak power, maybe its around 400-500W rms

anyway its a dvc 4ohm sub, so u can wire it to 2ohm via parallel wiring. u will get 600W from your amp, which i assume should be ok for this sub