Windows XP SP2 is OUT!

acbc

Get it here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=049C9DBE-3B8E-4F30-8245-9E368D3CDB5A&displaylang=en

Download size: A whopping 250MB!

Beware! If you are running on 'Low Yat' keys, this update will disable your current OS.

i use to have this SP2 beta version , i donno if its officially launch , but then it gave me quite alot of problem's as i can't update almost all my critical updates , it says im aready running on a newly patch sp2 . :angry:

Originally posted by vestax@Aug 10 2004, 10:16 AM
i use to have this SP2 beta version , i donno if its officially launch , but then it gave me quite alot of problem's as i can't update almost all my critical updates , it says im aready running on a newly patch sp2 . :angry:
vestax, i hav the same problem wif u using the winxp sp2 beta.. damn <_<

This one is the official release from MS... will try on my guinea-pig machine after lunch...

Hehehe... downloading it from Myloca... a whopping 1262.26k/sec!!!! :P

DO NOT CLICK DOWNLOAD IF YOU ARE UPDATING JUST ONE COMPUTER: A smaller, more appropriate download will be available soon on Windows Update. To receive this download, turn on the Automatic Updates feature in Windows XP to receive an optimized download of SP2. Please visit Protect Your PC for more information on receiving Windows XP SP2.

i saw this leh!!!!!!!!! then should i download o not?? :lol:

I updated one of my guinea-pig PC and so far it looks ok... the security features quite annoying but not as annoying as ZoneAlarm.

Best feature? It integrates your existing anti-virus program as part of the security process.

Screenshot later once I find a way to get it off my phone.

As for Bluetooth, disappoint... it lacked support for my MSI. Darn it! I hate the MSI drivers!

demon0206
Then do not download it ler...

Coming Soon: Windows XP Service Pack 2
Microsoft is preparing to release a free update for Windows XP that provides better protection against hackers, viruses, and worms. The best way to ensure you get Windows XP Service Pack 2 when it is released is by turning on Automatic Updates today. You can use our step-by-step instructions or, if you prefer, let us do it for you.

http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/default.aspx

=======

dont rush thing...

Yeah... i think better don't rush first. Since it's still new... there are a few loop holes here and there and may cause problems... Let other people try first.. like Mr. acbc here.. hehehe :lol:

~ IvY ~

Finally, got my MSI Bluetooth to work... require some hacking to the .inf files though... sigh!

A quote from the MSI forum:

"i have a msi 845e max2 blr mainboard with integrated bluetooth. i have got it to work with xp sp2. do the following:

- uninstall previous bt software
- install xp sp2
- make a backup copy of c:\windows\inf\bth.inf
- open c:\windows\inf\bth.inf in notepad
- in section [Cambridge.NT.5.1], add the following line:
MSI Bluetooth= BthUsb, USB\Vid_0db0&Pid_1967
- save the file
- if it exists, delete c:\windows\inf\bth.pnf
- in the device manager, selectyour bt device and choose "reinstall driver"
- windows should find the bt device and install the microsoft drivers. a new bluetooth icon in the notification area
and a bluetooth settings icon in the control panel appear

NOTE: if you have an external msi dongle, the device id might be different. check it in the device mamager under
properties, and change the line you insert in the inf file accordingly. THIS ALSO WORKS FOR MOST OTHER (NON-MSI)
DONGLES"

Yeah baby! SP2's Bluetooth drivers rock! MSI's WIDCOMM sux! :P

Originally posted by PoisonIvy@Aug 11 2004, 10:41 AM
Yeah... i think better don't rush first. Since it's still new... there are a few loop holes here and there and may cause problems... Let other people try first.. like Mr. acbc here.. hehehe :lol:

~ IvY ~
Alright, for your sake, I'll become a guinea pig for a month... hehehe... :P

Originally posted by acbc+Aug 11 2004, 11:09 AM-->
QUOTE (acbc @ Aug 11 2004, 11:09 AM)
--QuoteBegin-PoisonIvy
@Aug 11 2004, 10:41 AM

~ IvY ~

Alright, for your sake, I'll become a guinea pig for a month... hehehe... :P [/b][/quote]
Erm.. not for my sake only... :P

For ALL of our sakes... :D

Thanks ya...

~ IvY ~