Why used part ?

jeffayn

I had been thinking for quite sometime... why malaysian people are so into used auto parts... lets ignore performance or rare parts, most part in a car, there is used part dealer for them....

sometimes, I notice that the diff is not really that much, and usually used part item does not carry warranty or possible service for it...

I am also curios, does Zth member too are into used part? Tell me folks.. what used part you have purchase and plan to purchase in near future ? and why ?

Example 1 : used chop shop mitsubishi parts can probably last longer than new peroton parts.

Example 2 : used jdm doch vtec engine is better than ckd soch vtec and so on.

Example 3 : Material and size different, like a jdm mit lower arm has thicker and stronger body compare to those so call genuine parts that MIM.

Example 4 : No need to wait for the shop to order. If can find in chop shop, straight away COD.

I cannot agree 100% of example 1 you say
but ex 2 3 & 4 does sounds like good reason to use used part.....

maybe I should try to get one used part too !:burnout:

used parts cheaper

a brand new subaru impreza version 9 sti xenon headlamp a pair is bout rm8k brand new

if u able to find used, it will costs u below rm3k..

so wat ur choice bro?

if u r getting one engine, wil u buy new or used?

a brand new mercedes R-class engine is bout rm120k, if there is halfcut availalbe...of coz u will get tat halfcut...guess halfcut is below rm50k only...

lets say u r using kancil L2s or L5, of coz we use used parts..where to find new part? got oso price killing lo....

a mercedes Benz S-class W220 steering rack set is RM24k brand new, where else used one is below rm10k..wat is ur choice?

full set airmatic suspension brand new is bout rm30k for benz, where else used set is below rm10k...

tat y many of us using used parts.....

used parts - its affordable
used parts - some older gen parts its out of production, thats y u find it at chop shops
used parts - other ppls rubbish, its another ppls treasure
used parts - some like to immitate an evo, but cant afford an evo

new parts - who da fcuk cares, with the economy like this...every cents counts, spent wisely. :biggrin:

mostly buy used part which cant find it in m'sia.
JDM parts for example. apart from that, price is much much much cheaper than the ori part. i cant imagine to buy brand new Ori JDM part from Japan....

so in general the culprit is $$$ .... :rofl:

if we take old parts from Japan, then who you think will take our old parts ?

Africa ?

As I know countries like in China, used part is not a 'popular' search..... is that mean that the new and used +/- same $ ?

so in general the culprit is $$$ .... :rofl:

if we take old parts from Japan, then who you think will take our old parts ?

Africa ?

As I know countries like in China, used part is not a 'popular' search..... is that mean that the new and used +/- same $ ?

our old parts? our country didnt practise the rules like singapore or japan, which older cars wil be chop le...

china can do watever they wan at veli low cost, so y still need used parts?

btw wat car u r driving? any car enthusiast sure got at least 1 used part in their car for sure :p

s&%t.... I havent bought an used part before .... .... maybe I am not a car lover .., what am I doing in ZTH...:mad: ...... hahaa..:rofl:

I take back my words.... I did get one used part before....
Now I remember... it happen one day when I am going out for a lunch break ... then my Waja just stopped at a T junction and it wont start no matter what i do ...

so my fren pulled me into a nearby garage and its the fuel pump 'kong' so ... the workshop as me whether I wan to get a new one or he already got one readily available, but is used.....

I am little worried, why on earth there is a mechanic got an used fuel pump... I hesitated for quite sometime.... bcos under normal situation, why a mechanic go take a used fuel pump and stock la.... right bo....

then ... i give few fren some call and one of them knew him ... so i take the risk .. and I did cover another 80k more before I sell off my waja .. and the cost RM80 nia ! :rofl:

Those jap mivec meter can last longer that peroton meter. Radiator also the same thing. But I'm not too sure about those wear n tear item like bushing or so on. But absorber had been tested and proven.

Write your reply...