why my turbo whistle

thefish82

i just wan to know the reason why turbo will whistle like BOV...lol..so scare the turbo 'kong' ler..:confused_smile:

Last time my turbo whistle (more like police siren) is when it's dying. then it will cough white smoke. luckily it didnt seize!

check whether ur oil level is reducing
if yes turbo seals n need service
open ur air filter pipe/hose
check if ur fin got free play front and back or sideways
if front n back then the fin will touch the compressor housing and make whistling noise also

whistle like BOV ?!?! BOV will whistle wan meh? =Þ

If it whistles... probably means your turbo fin is not balanced. =Þ

woohh good info ... but how you know the turbo is whistling??

never experience this :(

ermm..checked liao...my intercooler got big hole inside...lol..dunno why got hole inside... =.=""" ...too hot liao ahhh...?

NFS said:
woohh good info ... but how you know the turbo is whistling??

never experience this :(

when u can hear a whistle lor... hahaha.

Mine also whistle... but everything seems ok. Only got it after I made some changes to the downpipe. May need to peek underneath to check.

last time i kena like dis because my standard intercooler rubber piping bocor. try checking those first la

Guys.... does the whistling come only under throttle / torque ?

I have a whistling sound when there's torque from the engine but it disappears at high revs.... pretty anoying also

try checking ur boost meter also. if bocor pretty bad like mine last time, the boost meter gonna rise also when u floor but meter gonna shake badly.

sumtimes the problem is as simple as a gasket leak, check the zorst manifold gasket if its leaking.

Noob here. How come when the intercooler bocor the turbo will whistle?

Compressed air under boost + hole from which pressure is leaking = whistling noise

aiyoh...now i change to SQV..same problem occurred...no sound from SQV...and i addd an extra injector, i i saw the connector of the intercooler is quite oily..do you think that the connector need to be change? do you think that the connector loose when the oil soak in it?? help help!

do you think that the connector loose when the oil soak in it?? help help!