which engine oil to use??

kompak

i'm using a B16A with LSD g/box...
which engine oil should i use since i saw a lot of people in the forum told to use different engine oil...
what is the different???
why do i need to use different engine oil instead Honda engine oil...
let me know aaa....
tq sifusss

Honda engine oil is fine, but for performance reasons people use different type of engine oil. There is a measurement of how 'thick' the engine oil is and this plays a part in how your engine performs.

If you use engine oil that is very thick, then engine will feel slightly heavy but the oil will last longer. If you use less thick engine oil, you will feel that your car is light and responsive. Problem with less thick oil is that you will need to fill up more often if your engine is frequently revving at high rpms.

I usually use Motul 10W40.

uikkkk Riezal-R... Motul 10W-40 ka..???? mahal tuh...... I only use Castrol Magnatec jerk...

Well.. you get what you pay for. I think its about RM120 per bottle. A bit pricey la.

But I would recommend it to anyone who wants to use performance engine oil. It has done good for my engine, even with the occasionally 10000rpm gear shifts. Hehe.

Riezal: what do u mean by thick engine oil eh? can explain a bit more eh? gua tarak faham...

Apparently, the number on the engine oil rating like 10W40 represents the 'thickness' and quality of the oil. As i'm told, a number like 10W40 would be thinner than a 15W40 or a 15W50.

'Thickness' tu lebih kurang mcm pekat/cair. Lagi cair minyak, lagi ringan interal engine movement. Lagi lean. Lebih kurang mcm tu la.

ARe-BeaR said:
uikkkk Riezal-R... Motul 10W-40 ka..???? mahal tuh...... I only use Castrol Magnatec jerk...

ya lorr...i oso use Castrol Magnatec...oso 10W40....
so what's the different between both oil instead of brand & price??
the thickness oso same kann

thumb up for motul...use few time no regret...
btw the correct term for the 'thickness' mentioned by reizal
is viscosity...

semi synthetic good enuff oledi for normal usage.
whatever brand, make sure get the genuine one <--------- now this is the problem. Tonnes of 'copies' oils out there.

barracuda said:
thumb up for motul...use few time no regret...
btw the correct term for the 'thickness' mentioned by reizal
is viscosity...

Ah yes. Thank you.

The difference in brands is just the quality I guess. Some things are more expensive for a reason. And its not just branding.

Viscosity = Kelikatan....

motul mahal sbb dia ada admixture tambahan dalam minyak dia tuh... i i'm not wrong ler... ot someting like magnet to pull the kekotoran ke bawah... so dia tak kan masuk ke engine... cam tuh ler kot... kalau tak silap ler.... that why the oil pricey sket...

between Mobil 1, Motul & Castrol
which is the best???
before i use the Mobil 1...
but now changed to Castrol
coz the mechanic said no need to pakai Mobil 1

kompak said:
between Mobil 1, Motul & Castrol
which is the best???
before i use the Mobil 1...
but now changed to Castrol
coz the mechanic said no need to pakai Mobil 1
I have a friend who was using Mobil 1, then later I asked him to try Motul. He was more satisfied with the performance of Motul.

For people low budget like me I would prefer the Castrol Magnatec only. Price still in the middle ... RM70 .. ;)

have tried mobil 1 before..not suit with my engine
dried very fast..
I think for quite old engine and high rev engine should
use viscosity 40 or 50..lah

i'm using ELF 10w60

if i'm not mistaken, the number at the front there is smaller number lighter the engine oil....

the number at the back is the temp tat the engine oil can stand....

Cheapest 10/40 oil... Rexoil... recommended by B-Works.. :D i'll give it 2 thumbs up..

RM68 ... :D

Got cheaper ar?? if yes, pls tell me.. :D

Write your reply...