Where to get clutch? Urgent!

hks gd is one of a good clutch. if not upgrading engine the go for
cusco or exedy organic im on it.

nicknick,

Yeah, chatter on the stock clutch when cold seems to be quite a common 'feature' with Evos.

Solution is to:

A) give it more revs when moving off in the morning

or

B) change to solid motor mounts, eliminate the judder in the morning but get consistent vibration while idling at all other times.

Jun_EK9 said:
leslie i like the sound when i engage gear at high rpm ...

jun_ek9,
you like the feel when you slam the throttle down during hard driving.. hehehe feels like the whole car flying to the moon...hahahahaha...

leslie: my car slow cant fly i think yours is flying...just feel like the car jump in front abit

Cannonfodder said:
nicknick,

Yeah, chatter on the stock clutch when cold seems to be quite a common 'feature' with Evos.

Solution is to:

A) give it more revs when moving off in the morning

or

B) change to solid motor mounts, eliminate the judder in the morning but get consistent vibration while idling at all other times.

Okay, at least now i know it's common for Evos. :Not_Impressed:

WTA.does racing clutch make deceleration noise (grinding when lifting off the throttle). Does it kill the sound if change back to organic plate?

p/s sorry "tumpang" the thread Cannonfodder...thinking of getting clutch plate too

datsun:dunno bout other car but on evo it was normal when u use a uprated clutch.ie;twin plate clucth,paddle lutch or racing clutch
im not sure why some got sound and some dont but majority of the people i ask said it was normal

copied somewhere:

the sound was normal overrun clatter. ALL Evo's do it to varying extents it is worse with a twin clutch and hard engine mounts etc... Do not worry though as it will not cause any damage.

OH~ thanks lan evo!! was worried why mine sound like a blander wer my friend's evo don't doh we're using the same RC spec.

Many months of worries finally gone. Evo newbie greeting >_<

*just for knowledge how much does an organic clutch plate cost

datsun,

Stock clutch plates come with sprung centre hubs on the pressure plate, which dampens both noise and drivetrain vibration.

Aftermarket performance clutches normally use stiffer, fewer, or even no springs (solid centre hub), resulting in the decelleration noise and mild vibration (can be felt through the clutch pedal) while the clutch is engaged. Also, on multiplate clutches, the lack of centre hub damping causes loud clashing noises while the clutch is disengaged.

The noises and vibrations are normal for most performance clutches, and though irritating, does not harm either the transmission or the engine.

Just to let you know, the decel noise is present on the Exedy organic plate also, though I'm not sure how much quieter it is compared to the three-puck racing clutch.

I don't know how much the pressure plate alone costs, but I paid 1500 for the whole kit, which includes the plate, cover, and throw-out bearing.

datsun said:
OH~ thanks lan evo!! was worried why mine sound like a blander wer my friend's evo don't doh we're using the same RC spec.

Many months of worries finally gone. Evo newbie greeting >_<

*just for knowledge how much does an organic clutch plate cost

same like u too,worried for few months

and my fren told me what u know?

'no need check la,check wat la.u will know wats wrong and which diffrential fail when it becomes completely broken'

haha

im worse than u,because of the sound.i changed the front and the centre diffrential.lucky my mech got a halfcut so i only pay him workmanship.

I dunno so technical la but I'm using HKS Twin-Plate GD-Max...

Damn noisy when step on it...cling cling cling..haha. The twin plate knockign each other la..

As for the mileage, I've done almost 20K. So is not that bad la..considering I went to track before and sometime, speedruns up/down hill !

Can feel it's almost time to change. No in dillema whether to get a whole new set of get the repair kit. Bought the clutch new..

Anyone know how much is the full repair kit set + bearings ?

ben:clutch plate cost rm980.bearing around rm250

all the parts inside is replaceable so i think dun need to change a whole new set

hie

i have a set of twin plate clutch for sale

The brand is RIGID and it use the same plates as excedy clutch

also u can use the original Bearing for this clucth...just like excedy twin plates

the plates also still have 80% to 90% of treads...and also look like brand new

iam selling it at 2.6k firm

if u intrested let me know at 012-9400005

for pic pls click below

Oh~ really Thanks to all sifu(lan evo, B18C-R, Cannonfodder..etc) for the valuable information.

>__<# 2X5 lah brother lan evo(kekkekke), i change my front and centre diffrential..Panic~ coz the grinding sound still there.

B18,

The whole set should be around RM3K for a complete rebuild. Like lan evo mentioned, it's RM980/disc so multiply that by two plus another RM150 for the release bearing (optional, but knowing EVOs, yours is probably rattling already).

Then you'll have to consider the flywheel. Hopefully you'll be able to resurface the Exedy flywheel but if not, you'll need to get a new one, which'll set you back by another RM1K. So, all in, RM3K.

Almost like buying a new twin-plate clutch, innit?

cannon:980 for 2 disc.not 1 piece.:X-:

ben:ur mech can check the pressure plate,if really not nice then change.if still useable then u need to change the clutch release bearing and the clutch disc only

datus:im not sifu,i know shit.but just telling wat i experienced:X-:

Is it? Wow, that's pretty good value then.

N1 Racing's site lists down the replacement disc for the Exedy twin-plate as RM1800 so I thought it was RM980/disc.