What's the logic???

NoName

Can someone tell me what's the logic of spending RM1.1bil to build a 'half bridge' in JB that will have NO USE at all if S'pore decides not to go ahead???

Furthermore, the cost quoted of RM1.1bil seems so inflated to me. I'm not in the construction or engineering industry but that to me seems so ridiculous. I can recall it only cost less than RM400 mil to build a gigantic stadium....

Is our administration a bunch of oxymoron???? On one had asking us to be conservative and spend wisely and reduced petrol subsidy. On the other hand, the government is spending RM1.1bil on something that have NO USE in the near future....

I get agitated reading this story every time...

Read: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/3/18/nation/13679700&sec=nation

bridges are not cheap to build. lots more calculations and engineering involved than most stadiums.

london's millenium bride cost ~20mil GBP, and it's just a pedestrain bridge.

despite the cheaper labour cost in malaysia, the scale of the project is much bigger. maybe someone else can give you a more definate answer?

and dont forget, our subcon culture.

u are right bro....calculation is important cause the supprot in middle of the sea(i consider it sea)....IF they under calculate same thing happen like kepong or even worst.

subcon is one issue lor.....but is subcon sub it to another contractor(sub subcon) then the margin is so low already....so the hunky punky thing will happen......

boggysv said:
bridges are not cheap to build. lots more calculations and engineering involved than most stadiums.

and dont forget, our subcon culture.

another stupid project from the goverment....RM1.1 bil can upgrade so many thing in our country....later RM1.1 bil not enough project stop..need extra cash..all this goverment gimmick....y singapore don't wan to share in building this bridge?

1. if project not according to schedule = extra over time = additional cost involved (an additional of RM70 Mil for these is kinda ridiculous)

2. structural design wise = more curves, higher the bridge = expensive

3. material used = concrete used on sea water, steel sheet piling, steel structures = more complex, high concrete grade = expensive

4. hiring bridge specialist consultant from oversea is an additional cost. KLIA hires a manager from oversea, monthly RM60k+ salary... -.-'

4. because singapore doesn't want to waste money to build extra bridge due to Link 2 is not fully used up except during school holidays or festivals. I do wonder why our government wants to build a new bridge zzz

then y the f#$@%#@^ our country build that bridge...wan to find way to spend some $$$ izzit....shit i realise now i hate this G already....all their stupid project never success wan...last time the north south highway got some landslide....until now the stupid project not yet complete....always travel back from kl to penang..and the stupid project still stuck there..

when they built the penang bridge most ppl said the same thing like u.. now they request another bridge.. when they built the F1 circuit.. ppl like u said the same thing ..
when they built KLIA ppl like u also said the same thing... but now ... they have to built another 1 next to it..
go figure...

i know....development is development...do u know that RM1.1 bil for only the bridge is huge....y can;t they do it straight..y must have all the funny curve thing...if this bridge will profit both side..how come singapore not join in? must be something happen between both G...right....

if can save a bit here and there...and get the extra money to build other facility for the citizen...that should be more profitable right?

got one good example...MRR2...until now how many time already it has been close for maintenance?
how much money already spend on it and when can it be done?

what a stupid excuse said that our country wheather can effect the bridge structure, they should have done R & D before building this bridge..right? how come only this bridge got problem? later if the new bridge is build in singapore...they will give excuse said that the sea effect the structure....how much they wan to spend...

if link 2 is not fully unitilized what the hell on earth they want to build another bridge???

Is this what the government calls 'work with us'??? I'm beginning to feel embarass by these actions..

MRR2 bridge cracking is exceptional but im not sure why they said weather can affect bridge structure... it is either design failure, overload or contractor use the material is not up to engineers requirement. but why the engineers did not check during construction period? arguments here... zzzzzzzzz

i think they are building another bridge is because the second link is quite a distance from johor bahru or they planning to close down the existing bridge.

The logic:
If I build a whole bridge, I'll get 30% of the fund in my pocket.
If I build a half bridge, I'll get 10% of the fund in my pocket. You know, I have 4 wives and 10 kids to feed.

I think they are trying to force S'pore's hand.

I do believe they are trying to replace the causeway (which would be demolished if the new bridge is built) and that it is more than the environmental reasons given. I think it has economic repercussions. S'pore knows this and therefore know it is to their disadvantage if the bridge goes ahead and that is why they are very reluctant to work with M'sia. What economic repercussions? Currently, because of the causeway, ships can't pass through the Straits of Johor. With a new bridge designed with that in mind, it can. That's a hint.

oh ya, and when the cargo ships land on singapore for refuelling, etc.. singapore earns from there and if the suspended bridge is build, thus the cargo ships will directly to malaysia ports and we earn.

Hehe..u will never know wat the government is trying to do and wat they r thinking. Btw, 1bil to build a bridge is not consider expensive la..

yeap.. i also think that the shipping industry had to do with this. with the current deployment.. no ship can past thru.. but with a higher bridge larger ship can go into our port. thus more business. plus.. harbour in the straits is much safer.

that's y singapore is putting in so many demands. cause it will affect thier economy.

and from what i heard. there's more benefits to malaysia. johor especially.

i believe the logic is,

Contract between Goverment and Company setup by UMNO member has been signed, Green light for Goverment budget,

if the project doesn't go on, the company own by UMNO member will make losses or go bankrupcy. So to protect their own interest, with or without singapore goverment, the project will be on.

Didn't you smell something very wrong? Malaysia and Singpore shall have some mutual agreement and the respective goverment shall only then appoint their contractor. Things is working the other way round. Malaysia goverment have already appoint contractor before both country agree to build the bridge.
Similar case happen to a bridge at Malaysia-Thailand border. No matter Thailand agree or not, Malaysia (Mr. Samy from JKR actually) is going to build the stupid bridge 1/2 way hang bridge on our budget.

That's why Malaysia will never have enough money to run, (the very WRONG) NEP which only benefit UMNO member and the gang sucks all the money running all kind of stupid and useless projects.

good point made there about how it will affect the shipping industry in both countries. I was thinking along that line too.

The way I see it there's no way that singapore will agree to build the bridge. So, the government will was RM1.1bil...

Just demolish the causeway. Then we'll see what S'pore can do.

But I do agree with BlackSamurai about the UMNO contractor situation. But that is something inherent in all government projects and not just this one. This one, if it happens, and properly, will actually be good for the country, Johor especially.

Write your reply...