what hose for CAI?

I use a type some so like rubber tube.. quite good and won't bend like aluminium type. Did the CAI in S'pore..

Gen2 stock CAI is pretty good, although still can be improved. Anyway, the number of bends of the stock CAI and the air filter will prevent rain water from chocking the engine during high speed.

For CAI with open pod air filter, don't worry, just don't floor the gas during raining day and you will be fine because rain drops can hardly go through the filter and 2k rpm.

Just my worthless experience.

1298 said:
Gen2 stock CAI is pretty good, although still can be improved. Anyway, the number of bends of the stock CAI and the air filter will prevent rain water from chocking the engine during high speed.

For CAI with open pod air filter, don't worry, just don't floor the gas during raining day and you will be fine because rain drops can hardly go through the filter and 2k rpm.

Just my worthless experience.

thanks for the info... and it is not a worthless experience...

just install the hose for CAI (3inch) i bought from ninja_iga...

product review...i find that this hose is very good quality... the ring (bone, tulang.. or wat ever u wanna call the thing that makes the hose round)...is hard and not easy to dented (kemek)

ok during installing i do find it hard to install because the structure of the hose made it hard to bend around as i trying to find a suitable position... but with a strong hand and imagination...it can be done... i put the hose from my evo3 right bumper straight to the original air box... yes the opening at the stock air box is 3inch too.. so need to mod the hose to make it ngam ngam fit..

but for gsr user... pls note that space constrain is making the installation very2 hard...

pic? will post after i got my digicam back from my girl

thats all... performance wise... errkkkkk i dun fell anything lorr... but my car look cooler with the hose... lol....:_:

thanks for your business.

dude, make your own bellmouth, it'll help.
oh yea, pls make sure the airbox side is neatly sealed to prevent leaks, so it'll only suck air from the hose.

yo stan ... u sure its ok ar if he seal ? if the opening of his CAI at the bumper is too low what happens if water or everything get sucked up straight right into his airfilter? it'll be like a vacumn cleaner lolzz... i think if there's a small gap between the hose n his airfilter box opening would be better...

i have no idea how to do CAI on LMST with Apexi Power Intake (open port) without air ram extension.

gohkokeng said:
i have no idea how to do CAI on LMST with Apexi Power Intake (open port) without air ram extension.
vr easy ma.... jz the same concept... as long as the air can get from outside to inside ur engine bay... hehe...
but of coz, CAI with airbox is the best solution la... without airbox, u need momentum to force the air in.... with airbox, the TB jz sucks air directly from outside through the CAI hose....

hi,
Where can i buy the aluminium sheet? The thick type. Need it for DIY heat shield for CAI.

Any shop which sell aluminium related products. One I can think of is those signboard shops, otherwise will have to go to those aluminium factories.

Besides aluminium, I'm thinking of some kind of high heat resistant plastic. Some say that the plastic board is available in signboard shops...so might worth to check it out.

It would be much much more better in resisting heat. Or else can look for stock car air filter box in chop shop and modify it. I guess it will be an effective unit for CAI. Think of the Gen2 air filter box, that's actually a good one.

:shades_smile:

lol u know what guys and dudes here

i bought 1 TUPPERWARE i think is round type size 2.....

it is exactly ngam ngam can fit and can close tight the Apexi Power Intake

but is too big to put inside the engine bay.....hahaha bought cannot use as heat shield then use a food container liao

btw i had DIY drill something like bee hive holes on the front Proton logo on LMST

haha hope it help when high speed.....

gohkokeng,
I've actually thought of that before, by using some kind of container, and I did cut out one round shape container to fit my air filter but it just doesn't look good...freakin' yellow colour container in the engine compartment just isn't what I want...so took it off 5 minutes after the installation.

AndyChuah,
All I know is the engine respond will be a little bit better if compare with sucking in hot air from the engine bay directly. Fuel consumption...never really look into it since the day I received my driving license. The most important thing is the engine can deliver the G-force I want...hehee.

1298, u could've sprayed the DIY heatshield to another colour :regular_smile:

nitrus,
Yeah...still looking for some good paints for plastic, especially those can withstand the high temp inside the engine bay...any recommendation?

im not sure, actually those RM5/6 spray will do .. even engine covers that r sprayed with these spray paints can last... im sure other plastic parts will be fine ..

i particularly like Pylox brand, not so "wet" and drippy. juz dun spray so much at a go, give it a few thin layers ... cheers :regular_smile:

doncityZ.....make the hose bigger... pull it until ur front bumper..

as i promise.. heres my diy CAI with the hose bought from ninja_iga..

plese notice... i am trying to find a suitable item to make the funnel...i thought using pvc reducer (3' to 4'.. but too big..) mebbe i use a tupperware (drinking one)... that is cone in shape... heheheh.. but later lah i DIY..

so heres my pic.. any idea to make it better??

front
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y63/Lord_darkslide/P1030836.jpg

engine bay
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y63/Lord_darkslide/P1030837.jpg

side
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y63/Lord_darkslide/P1030838.jpg

lord_darkslide : wooooo i see intercooler! :biggrin: ... u r using your ori airbox ? drop in airfilter?

lord,
the hose u use is not smooth inside lar.. that will pose some restriction
to air coming in. but since u got turbo, not matter much i think hehe. NA cars better find a smooth interior piping and less bending.

one more i worried if put at bumper, if suddenly splash into puddle of water (or dirty water), how? coz dont have a reserve air box oledi to trap any heavy thing like water or other dirt. what happen if direct water go to air filter? is it going to damage engine?

i remember last year WRC (world rally championship), Petter Solberg's impreza stalled when he rammed into a puddle of water and the water go into hood scoop air intake. so for me i dowan to put down there.. eventho its best position for cold air intake...