what hose for CAI?

lol... about water.. i already disscuss on 2nd or 3rd page... heheh yeah putting CAI straight to bumper may resolved to that... heheheh actually wat i do is.. if u look carefully the air box pic, the hose didnt straight to the air filter... i just put there ngam2 at the mouth of the air box... (actually when i install it i accidently pull it out.. so i damn lazy to put it back...hehehheh)

ok...... a puddle of water splash...i never try... but i try running this setup during raining.. running 100km/h (no dare more than that as i use federal road.. kampung road laa...)... so far ok... no problem (touchwood)hehhehehe

the hose quit smooth.. if not smooth enough... but to me calculating air drag and turbulance, pipe/hose (lol .. used to study water/air flow distro in pipes..damn hard subject )..... i think no need lor.. to think until that... fun fun diy oni... heheheh but that me lah... no cun... i take it off the next day...

happy DIY... no idea is a stoopid idea... heheheh (but sum idea will make u smack ur head and say.... damn thats stoppid... lol like trying to fix my wiper)hope any1 got idea for the funnel.. ty

nitrus: ori air box.. ori airfilter..

donCityZ : my CAI also at the bumper below there... so far nothing wrong, touchwood ... if have a super big puddle of water in front of u of course even if we dun have a CAI also we wouldn't want to drive into it right? lolzz... raining time it wont masuk wan la ... and even if we drive in a small puddle of water, the water wun kena the front bumper ... unless during flood, then go super slow la.. water wun go up the hose punya...

Lord_Darkslide : wow stock airfilter n all enough ar for turbo?? :hmmmm2:

nitrus,

i've consulted lots of rally teams regarding those running the Evo series.
apparently changing to open pod is only 2-5hp on wheel, not worth the few hundred RM spent which can be used for better things.

donCityZ said:
lord,
the hose u use is not smooth inside lar.. that will pose some restriction
to air coming in. but since u got turbo, not matter much i think hehe. NA cars better find a smooth interior piping and less bending.

one more i worried if put at bumper, if suddenly splash into puddle of water (or dirty water), how? coz dont have a reserve air box oledi to trap any heavy thing like water or other dirt. what happen if direct water go to air filter? is it going to damage engine?

i remember last year WRC (world rally championship), Petter Solberg's impreza stalled when he rammed into a puddle of water and the water go into hood scoop air intake. so for me i dowan to put down there.. eventho its best position for cold air intake...

the CAI hose is the smoothest of all the flexible hoses i've seen and used and sold.

easiest to use, and durable too.

Stalling in a water splash is quite uncommon for WRC cars. I've seen plenty of WRC cars going in flat out and splashing their way thru.
so.. it's quite a suprise for me to hear about Petter Solberg.

but like you said, do exercise caution when driving into puddles.
just to be sure.

actually guys,

i'm designing and making the 2.5" bellmouths
bit busy with work, pls be patient.

it'll be a universal kit and also one designed specifically for the Proton Wira/Satria/Putra etc

nitrus: stock enough edi... hehehe

haihz... tomorrow sunday edi.. haihz no time lor to diy bell mouth properly.. haihz...

other method i see in CAI is... thare is one honda EG9 in kuala kangsar i see the CAI intake is at the right side of the bumper... facing right side... not directly in front... i guess that good oso...no rain water shud coming in like that... but the cold air is not RAMMED into the airbox... just enough the engine suck the cold air naturally...

the best way is to make hood scoop above bonet.

u buy the carbon fibre hood from racecraft and cut a hole there and DIY a scoop..
put your pipe there.. then paint it up.

sure cool air kaw kaw go in! or put ice in ur air filter box..
haha..

donCityZ said:
the best way is to make hood scoop above bonet.

u buy the carbon fibre hood from racecraft and cut a hole there and DIY a scoop..
put your pipe there.. then paint it up.

sure cool air kaw kaw go in! or put ice in ur air filter box..
haha..

ah.

not really actually. The bumper's a high-pressure zone, and this is ideal for ramming air into the intake.

hood? the boundary layer airflow's too slow, and engine has to suck more (compared to bumper), hence not too efficient la.
will work well though.

Actually, wanna ask one question...

What if it rains? The hood scoop will sure masuk air kao kao ... Isn't it more dangerous than the bumper? hmm...

maybe..?

at least it wont (bonnet) be forced in!

dunno about which is more water-prone, no data.

sure down there is more cool air ah?

i see at afternoon aa.. the tar damn hot one ooo..
can see watery effect oso.. dat means damn hot siau..

Hi all ..
For bell mouth solution,try to use one that used for custom speaker box ( made from black plastic )..Should be nice with flexi hose & cheaper alternative.Try ask acc.shop.I got it for RM 10.00..it come with 2.5" & 3" diameter

Found an article about where the best place to put the mouth of cold air intake..
Maybe could help and give clear idea to all..
http://autospeed.drive.com.au/cms/A_1023/article.html
:X-:

bro.. very nice info... i find an intresting article about intercooler-water-spray... niceeee..... thumbs up

hello.. just wanna give a bump to this topic..hehehe

ok.. about 3 month edi i started my CAI diy project.... so here is the update how the cai now....

as for many reasonable doubt about the CAI working in rainny days plus speeding on the highway.... i found that the CAI didnt give me any problem so far during rainny days....

BUT....

pls be warn to clean ur air filter box as often as u can... mebbe every car wash.. like wat i do is... every time i wash my car... i take out the air filter and give it a vaccum... or ketuk2 here and there...wat happen when i didnt clean my air filter box for about 3 weeks.... i found out that too many sand inside my air box... probably because im driving in the rain a lot plus i use federal road oni... no highway.... (seri manjung to kuala kangsar no highway oh... and the construction at the roadside... damnnn)

so my advise... pls clean ur air filter as much as u can... if u lazy... dun install CAI... its just gonna make ur car worse oni... heheheh

dun fire me.. just my experience.....

bye

yeap.... properly installed CAI wont face any problems with rain or water splashing into ur air filter.... but of coz, many things will be sucked into ur airbox (ie. insects, dust, sand, small stones).... make sure u clean ur airfilter or airbox more often....

sHaZ said:
mine...i used 4x4 aircond hose 3 1/2"...rm3/feet..very cheap one hehe

4x4...aircon hose yea..good fitting aa???....mmm...idea...

Today whole morning thinking of how to make heatshield for my Air Filter. Think until very dulan ( frustrated). Then got a feeling want to DIY CAI. Found some small hose in my storeroom.
This are my CAI pic..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/AhLunn/IMAGE_00007-1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/AhLunn/IMAGE_00006-1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/AhLunn/IMAGE_00005-1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/AhLunn/IMAGE_00004-1.jpg

Hope all shifu here dont laugh at me..:sad_smile:

anybody interested to buy a CAI hose? Its a custom made from Ninja bro. i bought it but i cant use it. It has no use for me at all. So anybody interested?

Write your reply...