ok, senang aje... if u budget repayment period is 3 yrs, then max u can go is (+ d/payment) is 15,000. from this figure, u can roughly check what car u can get, what size and what year of manufacture and so on.
if my calculation is not wrong, at 6k max downpayment and monthly instalment of 250 for 6 years then u have a budget of 24k which allows u to buy a new kancil 660. or shop around for slightly lower used car.
these are juz few examples
1) 1988-90 honda civic SH4 1.5single carb, 1.6 twin carb. range from 18-22k
2) 1987-91 toyota corolla AE92 4dr/5dr 1.6 16v twincam. range from 18-22k
3) 1991-93 toyota corolla EE100 4 dr 1.3 12v range from 22-26k
4) 1987-1990 honda accord CA5 (or imported CA1/CA2/CA3) 2.0 12v carb range from 15k to 18k.
if u stretch to 9 years, of course the variety is wider. at 33,000 u can buy new proton saga lmss (or unofficially known as kereta kebal), kancil 850 carb, kelisa 850 EFI and err, that's it.
but check the used car market then u can buy 1990 honda accord SM4 EFI at roughly 25k, 1992 toyota corolla AE101 1.6 (orange taillamp) at about 30K, varieties of proton wira and satria depending of spec and bodysize.
it all depends on what car u want. list down ur requirement like
1) u want average family sedan, big sedan or juz a small hatchback?
2) u frequently drive alone or with 2 or 3 passengers? if mostly alone, 3 dr hatchback like satria or civic SH3 can do.
3) where u will likely spend ur time driving? city jam or normal trunk road? if 90% in urban drive u may need auto. or small car for easy manouvering and parking. small cars are not so comfortable for long distance driving though.
2 things to remember, older cars (especially more than 12 yrs) are not easy to finance. loan margin is higher as well as interest rate. and when time come to sale, if such car is more than 15 yrs old already, it wud be impossible to finance thus will lower the value more than u think.
the other thing is that, if u buy new car like saga lmst and finish repayment only after 9 years, that car will depreciate like hell and difficult to sell as it will deteriorate and there will be a lot more new models for prospect buyer to buy.
cuba kira...one year it will depreciate an average of 10%. spend wisely and gud luck! :D