Wastegate Explained.

kk13

Oct 29, 2005

thinkin of changing to a tial wastegate as mine is apparently stuck open...

i know it depends on the size...but any idea on the prices??

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006

thinkin of changing to a tial wastegate as mine is apparently stuck open...

i know it depends on the size...but any idea on the prices??

Don;t be lazy... check around in the marketplace... U'll find a number of ppl selling it

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
yeah i've looked on the net...

there are like one arun 300+...but i dont think these are ori...

then there are ones from 600 - 1200

but was asking arun wat price would be a reasonable amount to pay for one...

i wanted a larger mm size...

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
yeah i've looked on the net...

there are like one arun 300+...but i dont think these are ori...

then there are ones from 600 - 1200

but was asking arun wat price would be a reasonable amount to pay for one...

i wanted a larger mm size...
38mm is running at RM800 - RM900
44mm is running at RM1200 - RM1400
50/60mm sorry, not too sure. Maybe I can't afford it.

kanan

Nov 12, 2005
don't buy imitate tial suda..price n warranty dictates quality/originality most of the time

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
don't buy imitate tial suda..price n warranty dictates quality/originality most of the time
When u wanna install?? I have nothing to do recently and I thought of a nice eat to plunk it into a TD04L. Neat n hasslefree. Wuahaha...

kanan

Nov 12, 2005
When u wanna install?? I have nothing to do recently and I thought of a nice eat to plunk it into a TD04L. Neat n hasslefree. Wuahaha...

I need two pcs :bawling: . my actuator at the back underneath one. i wonder if the wastegate will be pointing down too. but at the front can easily plunk the 2 inch pipe at the flap hehe

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
I need two pcs :bawling: . my actuator at the back underneath one. i wonder if the wastegate will be pointing down too. but at the front can easily plunk the 2 inch pipe at the flap hehe

Look for short bend elbow sch 10. They should be good...

hantukubur

Jun 20, 2009
so that's the truth I'm looking for all the while.. really2 need it since i'm installing wastegate 38mm to my L2S.. is it ok? or do i need 35mm?

civic 0.5 BAR

Jun 3, 2006
need advice from all sifu,
my current setup. 1.6 sohc bolt on turbo
td05 14b boosting 1.1bar.planning boosting 1.5bar soon
i just complete custom a water / methanol injection kit to my car,it activate on 0.85 bar.would like to install wastegate b4 tune my car.

1 ) 35 or 38mm suit it?
2 ) after install wastegate can i put back rear muffler to original like inlet & outter 2 inch, will it have back pressure issue?want make it silent .lound when boost.:proud:

vishnuruben

From Facebook
Sep 25, 2010
Sifus> Did stainless steel piping for my gsr recently however i have changed 2 actuators so far as always overboost and performance also lagging. Foreman is advising me to upgrade to a 38mm wastegate, is that true or actuators are good enuf for this mod...Thanks

jawsbite

Apr 5, 2011
Sifus> Did stainless steel piping for my gsr recently however i have changed 2 actuators so far as always overboost and performance also lagging. Foreman is advising me to upgrade to a 38mm wastegate, is that true or actuators are good enuf for this mod...Thanks
Before any of the sifus in here can answer your question correctly, it would be better for you to describe boost related mod before & after the piping change, also whats the diameter of your IC piping.
Stock actuator usually will be sufficient to control boost of a stock turbo on a stock car. If what you experience is boost creep, then you could either port the stock gate or change to aftermarket wastegate. But before you even do all that, check for any leak especially the hose going to your actuator.