VW Old Beetle

i know of an illegal race 4 years ago... between a mini turbo (with wat engine.. i dunno) vs a fully souped up EVO2 wira... it lost... but apparently, the EVO2 don simply take challenges... seems dis mini comes with long list of fallen prey... dat's y evo2 owner was interested

i wonder how was the pick-upG-fprce between the evo2 and the mini....
mini turbo just a simply terrible car on the road......run like a snake......

izzit the mini with vtec turbo eh?..ive seen one mini with vtec engine..dunno its turbo-ed or not...

soon i think bug will appear in sepang drag battle..anyone here want to take the challenge to built a drag spec bug?

To build a drag Beetle....aahhhhhh...that would be my penultimate dream. In the meantime, I'll just wallow in the quagmire I have built, and reminisce old times, and contemplate my old-school killer project. Opppss!!!

if not mistaken..the world fastest beetle is about 500+HP with porche type 4 enjin.
other those Japan heart are not inculde in the list. I have a customer who own a beeltle with 300+ in US, i will ask for details when he visit MLS. heart attack....hoho..300 HP on a RR Street Racing.

those fast bugs are the bugs that wheelies...friggin cool!

can't wait to see those wheelie action in sepang, so to those who are into dragging their bugs...cepat sikit woi!

delimaputih said:
those fast bugs are the bugs that wheelies...friggin cool!

can't wait to see those wheelie action in sepang, so to those who are into dragging their bugs...cepat sikit woi!

kasi sponsor la..after that sure bole jalan punya..and one more where to find 2.1 engine here in m'sia..have to import one

2.1 engine have to import??? Tak yah....Malaysia Boleh!

The key to getting a 2.1 engine:
Bigger bore pistons
Stroker crankshaft

Things can be gotten right here in good ole Malaysia. U just hafta know whom to ask....hehehe

how big the bore piston can go to?
come on guys...share some pic of your beetles...

any JB kaki got lobang to custom built enjin bonet ?
any 1 opened the fiber mold b4? so tat i can save some money there...gonna fit in a bolt on turbo....the origin 1 cannot use liao..thks for helping..cheers

I'm planning to change my tyres to 185X65 fronts and 215X65 rears. Any comments on this combination, good/bad or can anyone reccommend something else?

Dear MancCell,

That setup is good, and in fact perfect to some. The 185's upfront will ease steering motion, and the 215's at the back will help with grip.

My personal preference would be 145/80 R15 Michelin XZX's, or 165/80 R 15 Continentals, with 205/70 ZR 15 Falkens at the back.....hehehe. That in itself already is an overkill! Sweet steering motion (virtually effortless) with ultra-cool grip behind. I've been using this setup since 2000, and it works perfect. But the cost factor I tell U....cannot tahan. The Michelins cost RM450 each, and only available via special order from Singapore. The Falkens cost about RM 550 each, coz the tyres are ultra-rare...normally 205s only go up to 65 series sizes.

Whatever it is, the rims are most important. If U're using standard Beetle banana sport rims, the rear can't be lowered if the tyres are wider than 205, 215 would just barely pass the stock fenders clearance. If U're using aftermarket rims that are at least 6 inches in width, better stick to 205/65s...less headache!

Adit

Hi Adit,

Thanks for the info. I will be using the original steel rims in wide 5 bolt. Will that be a problem? I hope not. Maybe they are not wide enough for the rears?

After going to a few tyre shops, I could not find anything slimmer than 165/80 and was told that this is commonly used in vans. What do you think about the relatively high profile? as I was considering this size for the fronts too.

Manccell

i'm using 65 oso.. the ride feeling overall ok. not bumpy and quite comfortable...but it looks a bit odd if ur car is not lowered.. becoz the tyre oledi so thick..and the front got a huge gap.....the only part i dun like is the front...not low enough...the back is just nice....ngam ngam fill the fender....

wah lau..big bores ar..i wonder wats the maximum that beetle engine can go..i mean the pistons... and how much difference it would make..i mean the numbers...HP, torque......and how expensive.....