VW Old Beetle

Hi, I am in the process of getting my first beetle and need to know if there are any good workshops in the Shah Alam area. I think I saw one in Glenmarie and I also heard that there is a workshop in USJ1. Can someone give directions to the one in USJ1? Thanks

any vw turbo gosu here?
heard that we must place our turbo at the top position of the enjin right ? tats for the oil to flow out....if we place the turbo at the botom of the enjin,no pressure to push the oil out, and they will leak trough the exhaust.
any way to slove this problem ?

Turbocharger Mounting

Dear All,

From what I can gather based on data and info garnered over the years, there are a few places where the turbocharger can be mounted.

First, close to the fuel management system (carb or FI).

Second, behind the rear tail panel (that means in front of your crankshaft pulley)

Thirdly, mounted inside the cockpit (space saver).

Fourth, above the fanshroud, or with Porsche fan conversions, above the fan.

Last but not least, under the car....but the mechanics to this I still can't understand!

Anyways, best to view sites specialising in turbocharging your VW's, since they have done the R&D required to undertake such a task.

In short, why waste time, effort and money on R&D trial and error, when other people have done it and published their findings? Right or not??? :P

Take care people,

Adit

right right..whats the use of sacrificing ur precious bug to be a guinea pig..better find some one who has done it..save money and also we know the pros and cons..but i still love NA..easy to take care..

NA beelte...limited power only..bro..
actually i try to pay with cab power,than go for FI..than go for super charge....
now..wanna try turbo lor....
but,handling of beetle is difficult to improve lor....
any 1 play beetle with Huge rim here ?

im using 195/50/16 for front
205/50/16 for rear...
so far the suspension is ok...no hard bumpy..coz using kybgr2 absorber
think to find lowered spindles..

has anyone here seen an EJ20 powered volks? or a 911 porsche powered volks? or a 13b powered volks????

vwmania, dah dapat cari spindle ke belum? hehehehe, kalo ada, mungkin saya pun nak pasang. my rims setting is 195/60/15 front and back...masuk parking nangis.....

abang blackhowling got bored of jap cars? now wanna play old skool continental with turbo?

turbo??where can i get a specialist to do turbo for my beetle..anyone got jalan in kl or pj??and i asked some fella to do power steering for beetle but they dont recommend..they say its dangerous..hmm..and my bumpers growing stain already..shud i just call some fella to clean it or chrome the whole thing??..any opinion..

nefrideum said:
vwmania, dah dapat cari spindle ke belum? hehehehe, kalo ada, mungkin saya pun nak pasang. my rims setting is 195/60/15 front and back...masuk parking nangis.....
hehe...nef u try lar surf at cip1 or cb performance n do survey price for ball joint lowered spindles then convert the price..if ok we try buy it with plastic card...hehe

Turbo and what not!

Dear friends,

Turbocharging your Beetle is a simple enough job, should you have correct and complete literature with regards to it. The original engine has a multitude of bolt-on turbo systems available from renowned suppliers such as CIP, JMR, Gene Berg, CSP and as such. But at what cost to us???Tremendously mind-blowing!!!

Sure, the best cost-saving factor might seem to us as transplanting a Jap powerplant, especially those tried and tested ones such as Subaru's range of boxer engines, 12A or 13B Wankel engines, or for those die-hard continental supporters, engines from the Alfa Romeo stable. But be forewarned. If you don't have the means to support the research and development required to undertake such a transplant, you might end up just blowing your savings away, and not obtaining expectations.

First rule to transplanting an engine from another marque - Find out who has done it and glean the necessary information and data out of him/ her. Mind you, these people have spent a credible amount of dosh to get their project completed, so they might not be so free to dish out info just like that. A little bit of advice here - don't just fork out money to pay them for whatever data they can share, rather find out ways on how you could provide assistance or services, such as parts sourcing etc. to these people, which they might just accept as barter for their data.

Once you have the data required, which should consist of:
1) how to mount the engine
2) how to create an adapter for the engine and gearbox to match and work together (you can't transplant any other gearboxes into a Beetle, becoz of the limited space, and the nature of the car having a back-wheel drive configuration - note - porsche gearboxes may fit the Beetle, but only from the 912 and 914 models, and only from specific years). With the adapter sorted, next you should look into beefing up your Beetle's transmission by replacing the ring and pinion setup to a higher setup that could support the massive horsepower increase. A ring and pinion setup of 4.11 or 4.25 would do the trick.
3) please, please do not overlook your braking system. Upgrade to a front disc brake setup, or if you have the necessary R&D materials, transplant a braking system from cars such as the Starlet, Porsche 924/944, and other reasonable setups. Don't go for overkill, like transplanting a 911 or Skyline braking system, firstly becoz they might cost more than your car's worth (mahal tali daripada beruk!) and secondly, because they might just be too powerful and would just lock your tyres up all the time.
4)keep your finances in check.Some people start out with an appropriate budget, but later on blow it becoz they're never satiated with just their needs and go on an splurge on unnecessary wants, such as bigger turbochargers, overkill intercoolers,etc.
5)last but never the least, if you can get such a transplant done, you could at least sort out the bodywork and chassis strengthening. Seam welding is a must, so that you don't twist the body and chassis when standing on the throttle with glee!

OK, guys, that's enough for now. Any other queries, just holler.

BTW, EJ20 transplant has been done in Germany, and is available for perusal at www.germanlook.com. 13B transplants abound in OZ and NZ. 4AGZE? I've seen in front of my eyes, in KL!!!!

Some of the owners of such transplant cars wishes to remain anonymous, so please respect their privacy, and always ask them for permission before refering to their cars in any public forums

Adios, Muchachos!

Adit Rahim

Opocots!

To: Adelah orang tu!

No probs whatsoever dude! Heh,kerek nowadays, come back from BP never called to tell the outcome!

Hahaha...life is short, just like some midgets....can we install midgets into our gearboxes to obtain "shorter" gear ratios!!!

Just kidding!

Adit

Turbo and what not!Pt 2

Dear All,

Did anyone ever think of installing a bolt-on turbo kit to a fuel-injected Beetle engine? I can get the engine (Mexican millennium specification), just go get the turbo kit!

For all aspirant Buggers out there, tunggu aku beli Beetle model '63, nak masuk engine 13B, tapi old-school sleeper look....hehehehe! Doakan misi ini berjaya, nanti aku share spec!

VeeDubs are da bomb!

Adit

waaa..projek sleeper bug eh..sure gempak nnt..

turbo just cost a lot..really2 out of my reach..better stick with NA (for me lah)..power without control what's the use..dunno if u guys tgh kemaruk gile mau masuk turbo

heheh rilek le bro, even that day itself at Batu Pahat i was really busy jaga booth, snapping pictures and reviewing cars through out the day. Tak sempat pun kalau nak jumpa dia sebab tu i tak call dia pun, takut takleh nak entertain. Maybe some other time la kot... heheh

but very the itchy la nowadays heheh ;)

'63 with 13b in it... nak join sekali bleh? heheh...while i wait for you to start your project, i'll go water my money tree first :)