VW Beetle Custom & Performance

chuckie said:
hey, vwmania,
"next time i see u at bangsar.....then we see what going to happen."
dude, still remember that phrase that caused nightmare to u that day..anyhow, i helped u what by making the evidence more stronger.....he he he
hei bro...hahaha...where have u beenn....ada sakit ka?
we lost the carrom match u knoe...hahaha
catch u later..

sigh...nampaknya starter saya sudah kong...dunno have to fork out how many hundreds to change it.... bcause i just changed my contact point.... it din work... maybe the gap is not perfect...i'll call in some mechanics to check on my car...

nefrideum said:
sigh...nampaknya starter saya sudah kong...dunno have to fork out how many hundreds to change it.... bcause i just changed my contact point.... it din work... maybe the gap is not perfect...i'll call in some mechanics to check on my car...
nef...starter add relay....baru cun...

boleh ke? singh....how to do ... i mean modify a lot of things ar... which honda starter? wat model... i need all the information ...coz i think if change original....$$$ habis...

nefrideum said:
boleh ke? singh....how to do ... i mean modify a lot of things ar... which honda starter? wat model... i need all the information ...coz i think if change original....$$$ habis...

i think hes usin d original beetle starters tapak but usin a h22a's starter...last time it costed him 250...he said modification is not much la...i lost contact wit him...so for more details susah la....

already settle my car...it seems that the contact point that i bought a bit problem...terminal dia tak berapa cun....so terpaksa asah abit baru boleh...dan condenser aku dah hampir kong...kena beli..... any ideas? where to buy? normal kedai foreman ada ka?

spares available

call me at 016-6766075 for spare parts enquiry... still can get most of it.. don't give up yet.. new german or brazil parts..

interesting. I dont drive VWs anymore, but used to.

If you have a SOLEX 34 PICT, using a 009 is a big mistake. You should use a stock distributor.

If you have twin carbs, 009 is OK, but better carb would be Mallory.

by the way anybody looking for 84mm VW crankshaft can pm me, i have 1 unit for sale. this is for those who are serious about performance, not bolt on kiddy stuff. 84mm crank gives you 2332cc with 94mm bore.

i just wanted to clarify something, im still learning though bout bug..

let say ive a stock 1300 engine..izzit possible for me to rebore it till 94mm an use the 84mm crank so it'll have extra 1000cc? what about the reliability?

just curious..

i do think its possible...bcoz boxer engine's piston wall is quite thick? correct me if i am wrong?

encik masen,

theoretically, yes, you can do it. but in real life please dont do it.

when ayou are building a high performance engine which should pump out 150bhp around there depending on the other components and head work, you need a strong base.

best is to start with a BRAND NEW CASE. however, in malaysia, this is not really possible due to cost. Your best option is to buy a 1600 cc dual port engine case , the late model case with 8mm head studs. and start from there. Bear in mind the case must not have been machined before on the bearing saddles which means never overhauled before and still uses the STD STD bearings.

boring to 94mm will bring you to only 1914cc with stock stroke. this uses a different piston with deper piston pin, usually known as piston type A.

to get 2332cc, you need piston type B, still 94mm. you need a crankshaft like the one i have for sale. Must be high quality forged. then u need longer con rods. Cb H beam is a good choice. then u need longer head studs, preferably chromoly.

there are many more stuff to go with it to make HP.

to do all these requires a lot of agung and it is not really feasible in Malaysia. you can spend 1/5 of the amount to get 200bhp in a Japanese car.

nefrideum,

the 009 is actually a poor qualty distributor. if yor engine is original EFI, try using the original distributor with the larger vacuum. if i am not mistaken, that distributor is part vacuum, part mechanical.

the 009 is a fully mechanical advance distributor. what you are doing now is running it at a slightly higher advance to compensate the lower end.

try to put back the original distributor to determine if what i say here is true or not. you should be getting better MPG and slightly better pulling power and smoother too with the original dual vacuum distributor.

i dont sell any part and i ahve nothing to gain from this.

the same thing goes with the engines that run with the 34PICT carb.

original distributor? any pics? so that i can go search for it.. dual vacuum? ini saya tak faham.....(garu kepala)...

sorry i duno any pics, but just pay attention to those EFI engines from Japan, they come with the distributors with slightly bigger vacuum pump. those came with 34PICT also has different types.

just look hard and you will know what i mean.

1/5 of the amount i'll spent will get me a 200bhp jap car..but itu japan mari, bole wheelie? ehehhe

well, i think i got a bug engine in my dad's store, dunno etiher 1600 or 1303, but its a dual port one..i thinking of rebuilding it on semester break, and stumble upon ur post makes me thinking of making it into a monster powerplant..

btw thanks for the info..it really helps..

i'll head to chop shops to look around...near my house chop shop got a few chopped up beetles. but dunno still got or not