Vafc 2 (a'pexi) Last Price

david7879

Eibach said:
Very exciting price I think...cannot tahan think about that. But upset saying that just 'burnt away' 1K yesterday on the timing belt, fan belt, aircond belt, ring bla..bla.changed and service.
How come I will loose this oppurtunity. But really looking explaination as well if this Vafc can use with SOHC. And how it will function and HP or TQ percentage increase? Heard that the kits really good stuff to increase performance on the Vtec engine as the Vtec will fully open on the less rpm?is it so?
bro... urs is vtec sohc....???

Riezal-R

Oct 14, 2004
www.art-evo.com
I'm not sure how the application is on a SOHC VTEC, but either way the VAFC can be used to control air-flow and fuel measurements. Its just like an SAFC, with VTEC control. So even if you use this VAFC, it can be tuned to adjust your fuelling system and air correction, which will result in either fuel economy or better air-fuel ratio. Basically you will get more power out of the car, depending on application. Better fuelling, better mixture between air and fuel, so more power.

Dunno how it will be for the VTEC control part, but the AFC part can definitely be used. Do keep in mind that there is no point lowering the VTEC engagement point, if your cam timing is standard. For instance if your cam's powerband is set to come in at 5800rpm, there is no point in lowering the VTEC engagement to 5000rpm. Although you hear the VTEC kick, there is not really much power increase. It will take another 800rpm for you to really feel the VTEC power. This applies to DOHC VTEC when the high cam is engaged. Not sure if the same applies to SOHC VTEC.

Eibach

Apr 26, 2005
david7879 said:
bro... urs is vtec sohc....???
yupe...CF2 model, 2.0L SOHC (2002)...how bout yours, think to apply the VAFC as well....

Riezal-R, thanks for the brief explaination, is that so...the use of VAFC will not much effected with standard cam timing.
Anybody can confirm the function will apply the same with SOHC.
BTW, if the cam timing should be retuned, how much it cost for the job?Is it will involve the tuning of ECU as well?

Riezal-R

Oct 14, 2004
www.art-evo.com
Depends what engine you use. Like CTR B16B engine, you can only adjust the cam timing a half degree, which is not very much at all. So to 'tune' your cam, basically you need to get a cam pulley (RM500 for a cheap one) and tune it. You either get the power to come in earlier or later. But you can only get so much from a standard cams. Want more tunability, have to go for racing cams.

For very basic tuning, a VAFC unit will help. With proper tuning you can definitely increase performance. This is proven in many cases. If you couple the VAFC with few other things, like ITC and so on, you will get even more tunability. But this is so called 'traditional'. The modern way is, buy engine management system like e-Manage, Haltech, Motec, etc. These units can tune air-fuel, VTEC point, ignition timing, injectors, etc.

The common recipe last time was VAFC + ITC + cam adjustment. All this will work together. VAFC adjust air-fuel ratio and VTEC engagement, ITC helps timing of fuel ignition and cam brings the powerband closer to the VTEC engagement point.

Hope that helps.

basahboy

Feb 22, 2005
Angsana Hilir
Riezal-R said:
Depends what engine you use. Like CTR B16B engine, you can only adjust the cam timing a half degree, which is not very much at all. So to 'tune' your cam, basically you need to get a cam pulley (RM500 for a cheap one) and tune it. You either get the power to come in earlier or later. But you can only get so much from a standard cams. Want more tunability, have to go for racing cams.

For very basic tuning, a VAFC unit will help. With proper tuning you can definitely increase performance. This is proven in many cases. If you couple the VAFC with few other things, like ITC and so on, you will get even more tunability. But this is so called 'traditional'. The modern way is, buy engine management system like e-Manage, Haltech, Motec, etc. These units can tune air-fuel, VTEC point, ignition timing, injectors, etc.

The common recipe last time was VAFC + ITC + cam adjustment. All this will work together. VAFC adjust air-fuel ratio and VTEC engagement, ITC helps timing of fuel ignition and cam brings the powerband closer to the VTEC engagement point.

Hope that helps.
Bro...how much can u get out of e-manage with a b20b set up?..OTH, how good is Unichip?

Need help here...

Riezal-R

Oct 14, 2004
www.art-evo.com
Don't know how much HP you can get from B20B + e-Manage. But using something like e-Manage, will depend a lot on the tuner and engine hardware you have. Also depends how 'maximum' you want to go. If you go too much, your engine won't last long (esp with B20B setup). If you tune too cautiously, not much HP gains.

Ee Yoong Chern, well known in the Drift scene and Drift.com.my pioneer, temporarily transformed his drift monster into a circuit weapon for the Time to Attack Finale. Although necessary steps were taken to ensure maximum grip on the circuit, the drift-biased machine remembers its real purpose. Watch as MrNismo (what he's known as) ironically clock very similar times with...