used tyres

prince900

hi guys.. just wondering about "tayar korek" (used tyres) that can easily be found in Klang.

1. is it safe to be used on road?
2. if it safe, anybody knows where or which shop can i send botak tyres to be 'korek'..?
3. how long the tyres can be used..?

just need some opinions for our knowledge.. tq

If you go to Hing Leong, maybe they can help you to 'korek' the grooves back. But then i think they're quite busy with customers looking for new tyres and rims. Maybe you can buy those ready ones which they korek during freetime.

But there's one tyre shop near my place that does korek for your tyres. Its Goodwood Tyre Service or something like that. Its a corner shop at the same row as the Magnum/Toto shops.

Personally, i wouldn't recommend you to go for tyre korek because the tyres have simply reached their shelf life and should be changed, instead of rethreading it. As a matter of fact i've seen some of my frens tyres that are almost like slick tyres, only then they change and i've reminded them how dangerous is it to drive in the rain with those slicks. But in actual, once the thread level reaches the indicator level, you should start looking for a new set of tyres.

hmmm...

thank bro.. just need some opinion.. of course new tyres is safer and better but i've met a lot of people that simply change the korek one.. it's cheaper.. by the way, where are you located? do you know the cost of rethreading the tyre? tq..

prince900 said:
thank bro.. just need some opinion.. of course new tyres is safer and better but i've met a lot of people that simply change the korek one.. it's cheaper.. by the way, where are you located? do you know the cost of rethreading the tyre? tq..

please don't use korek tyres bro.. i know its cheaper but i'm sure u value ur life more rite....?? risk of bursting is high man..
can buy used tyres instead la.

in personal view, tayar korek is normally a worn out tayar.... aka botak. which means the rubber layer is very thin already. even though after korek, the groove looks ok and 'could' give reasonable grip we all must remember that the whole tyre surface is already so thin. what will happen when tyre temperature increase (when in use?). answer is air pressure increase. what will happen then, when temperature & pressure increase when tyre construction is weak?

tyre will burst. when do normally tyre temperature and pressure increase? when driving fast.

can we all imagine if our tyres burst while we are driving at a modest 80km/h?

i can..and the consequence would be very bad.

the morale is - never use tayar korek. when we see rally mechanis do that, it is actually for new tyres. either semi slick or slick tyres which they korek to give additional grip.

don't buy

hmm.. the tyre korek is not suitable to be in market coz it's not in merchantable quality and not fit for purpose.. it's obviously inconsistent with our Consumer Protection Act which stated that goods must in merchantable quality and must fit for purpose.. since it is still in the market, maybe we can advice other forummer or our relatives and friends not to buy secondhand tyres especially the korek one.. hehe just like 'ceramah pengguna' aa..

normally korek tyres are ok to be used in construction vehicles like lorries, trucks, and other heavy machineries... coz they are always at construction sites, where new tyre lifespan is not long, and cost is too expensive to change tyres frequently.

but for private usage such as passanger cars.. not recommended la.. coz we're always travellng fast, compare to trucks in worksites... so accidents are very prone to happen, furthermore, as mentioned by zan... it will explode.

did u notice that along the highway, we see lotz of burst lorry or busses tyres? same thing la... korek, or celup tyres... all end up the same.

if u looking for used tyres, dun go for korek 1, better buy those not korek 1, those used tyres which still have good thread cost will be similiar to those korek 1... when they korek, they need labour cost also..so end up price just about the same.

dun risk your life to safe just RM100 on korek tyres...

Just my 2 cents. :D

dont ever used korek tyre.......coz u only have one life.......

dont use la korek tyre

from my opinion, actually wat the member said is tru.. if tyre xplode, wat happen for your car??? maybe terbalik liao...

but, if u want to used for drift, its ok. no problem. coz u know what, tyre smoke can make your tayar botak 1... for the best choice..use la tayar korek.. jimat belanja

I've got to admit i once bought a tayar korek too. My rear tyres was punctured beyond repair and i was 1 week away from selling my old car. I thought i mights well save the extra 100 bucks and just buy a cheap RM15 used tyre. They had to korek the outer sidewall and i must say my car's balance immediately felt a little different.

Hmm y buy korek tayar lehhh?? but 2nd hand tyre better larr if low budget.
what size u 1?? PM me larr,i hv 2nd hand tyre for sale 1...

me also once bought 205/45/16 2ndhand tyre in Klang at RM70. when i came home my brother asked why i bought the korek one. i thought 2nd hand tyres is just fine, i dunno there are 2 type of used tyre, korek one & original condition one..

i use the korek one just around 1 month, then when i check for balancing, it tear a bit at the side of the tyre.. really hampeh.. then i bought new tyre but of course cheap one (RM195, i think), the important thing is it's safe..

hey bro WAJA2003, check your PM..

PM u liao...
Buy sime Astra mahh cheap lorrr...but worry hit soem ting easy bengkak only...

korek tyres are about RM35. Normal 2nd tyres with 50% thread is about RM50 -60 for 15" 195 Rims. Dun buy korek tyres cause too dangerous and risky. Buy the used tyres instead, if running out of $$$$$$$.

i would not buy them. it would be much better to buy the cheapest newer tyre than any second hand ones. my take....nuff said.