tyre with nitrogen

RM15 of nitrogen for 4 tyre actually is a good deal for driver who dont bother to check their tyre pressure. Incorrect tyre pressure cause more tyre wear. So do you still prefer RM15 for longer tyre life or change your tyre for shorter life span(RM200 per tyre).

Nitrogen has been introduced long before its arrived in Malaysia. In Australia and some shops in Singapore, nitrogen is pumped as free service. However due to the newly introduction of nitrogen in Malaysia, most shops has to bear the cost of the system which is few thousand ringgit. By the way the filter will be changed and costs around a thousand ringgit.

Normal compressed air heats up better that nitrogen. If you refer back to your KIMIA book, nitrogen is one of the most inactive molecule where you can get it in abundant. Therefore most of the time, you'll find that your tyre pressure with nitrogen wont go above 3 PSI of your normal pressure for 20KM of mild drive. Where else normal air gets you to 6 PSI. So dont underestimates what 22% of non-nitrogen gas can do to you tyres.

ambayah said:
I personally believe and have been told from friends who use this as another business hype and another microcompressor.

The only scientific function I think it gives is maintain pressure of tire. Reduce tire weight?

at least! one agrees that this is just a big fat hype! i strongly believe that we do not need that...if pure nitrogen really do wonder n big differences than normal air! like so claimed almost constant pressure and slower air release from puncture la, do we really drive our cars like those on track that the tyre really will heat up till sumwhut like 170c? if any of u do, than fill ur tyres with nitrogen if u dont mind spending 15 bucks...thanks...the difference in mass of nitrogen molecules compared to other is not that significant...if u study chemistry...so how much u can lose weight by filling in those?

correct me if i'm wrong...sorry 4 the wrong line bout F1 not using nitrogen...

mahfudz_mn said:
at least! one agrees that this is just a big fat hype! i strongly believe that we do not need that...if pure nitrogen really do wonder n big differences than normal air! like so claimed almost constant pressure and slower air release from puncture la, high STABILITY and LESS TIRE WEAR...dont u think the F1 n other motorsports will be using them as well? nothing indicates to us that F1 tyres are filled with nitrogen...of course partially nitrogen...coz nitrogen already fill the normal air by 78%...thanks...the difference in mass of nitrogen molecules compared to other is not that significant...if u study chemistry...so how much u can lose weight by filling in those?

correct me if i'm wrong...

Just to correct what you said regarding F1 using nitrogen I have a statement regarding F1's usage of Nitrogen in races.
"As an additional note;nearly all Formula 1 teams uses NITROGEN for filling tyre. .The tyres are filled with a special nitrogen rich, moisture free gas to make sure the pressure will not alter depending on where it was inflated (this gas does not expand when hot) and NITROGEN holds tyre pressure for longer than air.A 20% Tyre pressure drop reduces tyre life by 15%."

http://www.f1-country.com/f1-engineer/tyres/tyres.html

ahh..nitrogen. why waste money to pump air into tyre when can get it free. i mean its not that hard to just go to the gas station every now n then. if ure driving f1 car another matter la. i say its bloody money wasted. :P no offense tho to ppl using it. its ur money, u decide

saga611 said:
ahh..nitrogen. why waste money to pump air into tyre when can get it free. i mean its not that hard to just go to the gas station every now n then. if ure driving f1 car another matter la. i say its bloody money wasted. :P no offense tho to ppl using it. its ur money, u decide
it depends how you look at it
:)

oh my place is rm5 per tyre.. :P then they give green cap cover..

cheehong said:
my place got free pump if do the balancing and alignment at the shop..hehe
ish
you all one by one keep saying your place your place
we all don't know where is 'your place' so could you please be more specific?
it would do us all a great deal because we won't have to post again to ask 'where?'
thx

klang, andalas.. rm5 per tyre.. maybe i go shah alam my tyre shop see how much they charge..

Nitrogen in tires

Enuf of the bickering. I understand that everybody has the right to free speech and express their opinion.

For those who have not pump nitrogen into their tires and think it's a waste of money, that's fair enough. After all, your money is hard earned.

For those who HAVE pumped nitrogen, good for you for realizing the advantages and benefits. Understand that when some ppl experience something good, they just wanna share whole-heartedly. Nevermind those who flame, but you will only know what it feels like.

For a mere Rm15, arguements can develop as such. It's not like 150 or 1,500.

Here's another way to think of it. When us guys were once virgin, we longed to find out that special feeling! For those who've already HAD that special feeling, you want it more cuz it feels damn good. No matter how good you describe it with the best of ability, the virgins can't fathom unless they experience it for themselves then they'll get hooked. This is just an analogy. Yellow or not is up to your interpretation.

Myself? I've used it when it came out I think 2003. I do all my alignments and nitrogen refill (Rm1 all 4 tires) since then.

Over and out.

i was wondering how u all can feel ur tyre is cooler with nitrogen gas?
i'm have nothing against nitrogen gas, but is just that i wish to know more...thanks

Tire cooler is the driver/owner's own phsychological interpretation unless he actually measure it or take a tire temp reading. Most ppl say tire cooler is because they heard it from the tire shop ppl promoting the benefits.

So after pumping, owners just share their feelings and also put in some of these benefits they heard from the tire shop promoting Nitrogen.

For myself, I don't feel the tire cooler or ride softer but cuz my suspension setup is not stock. My intention for Nitrogen for both my cars is to have a peace of mind and less headache for the big changes in pressure of normal Oxygen vs Nitrogen.

Prolonged tire life also depends on alignment and tire pressure which comes hand in hand. Once tire pressure fluctuates minimal with Nitrogen, off course tread wear is prolonged but in the long run. Most ppl can't see long term effects but demand for short term gain.

I think the whole idea of nitrogen use in tyre is to prevent mass air leak from the tyre. What the tyre shop tauke claim is : " U dun have to pump ur tyre for another 5 months !! after u pump it with nitrogen".

BTW, for those in Pg, it is available in all See Lee Chan tyre shop in BM town, RM 15 for all tyres.

I think i am going to try it.... coz i just burst my rear tyre due to low air pressure.....too long didn't pump the tyre. So, i think it is good for me.

Guys, need to try it lah to feel... postulation dun bring satisfaction.

Cheers

voon said:
I think the whole idea of nitrogen use in tyre is to prevent mass air leak from the tyre. What the tyre shop tauke claim is : " U dun have to pump ur tyre for another 5 months !! after u pump it with nitrogen".

BTW, for those in Pg, it is available in all See Lee Chan tyre shop in BM town, RM 15 for all tyres.

I think i am going to try it.... coz i just burst my rear tyre due to low air pressure.....too long didn't pump the tyre. So, i think it is good for me.

Guys, need to try it lah to feel... postulation dun bring satisfaction.

Cheers
please do post the results here k?
hehee
thx

if u use it when u drag its ok but less traction when cornering,, u have to know the correct air + nitrogen ratio :)