turboe'd 4G15

Originally posted by Joeker@Oct 25 2004, 16:34
tatas why I say TURBOKITS ALL USELESS.
Thats why i said turbo kit is for your own driving pleasure. =)

but sometimes turbokit na also quite fun. can make fun of those stock standard gsr/vr4. when they ask "wat engine u running??" 1.6sohc turbo is ur answer and its fun to see how they react lol :lol: :lol: ;)

i have no experience on 4g15. but 1.6sohc wif gsr turbo....can gain quite alot of power from it. no lag at all. hi compression + turbo + good ems = good power. at least able to play play wif vr4 (standard la).

but....BUT!!!! keep in mind...turbochargin NA engine will definitely costs more than transplanting. I got no choice, tats y have to go NA turbo. Else, i would definitely go for transplant. remember turbochargin ur NA engine is ur last resort for upgrade!!!!

tats my opinion la.... ;) ;)

wah... akimoto, you're going to spark a lotta fire with your bold statement
"1.6sohc wif gsr turbo.....at least able to play play wif vr4 (standard la)." :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

Let the flames begin...

flames ? people can say what they want , standard specs vs standard specs , u`ll know the winner . no need to test you aready can see the big difference in terms or hp & torque , if your going to compare .

as usual those who is using turbo kit that tapau gsr , evo or vr4 can be proud off , but end then in of the day , the person who claim that must realise that his loosing his money on his engine , so that he can come out with that kind of statement . and im sure the other party will be smiling and keep saying to him self , aiyah that one turbo kit , wasting time la :lol: . both party's ego there is where the flame starts :rolleyes: .

turbo kitted 4G92 vs 4G63 standard specs also you can see the big difference la. HAhaa... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by vestax@Oct 26 2004, 02:33
flames ? people can say what they want , standard specs vs standard specs , u`ll know the winner . no need to test you aready can see the big difference in terms or hp & torque , if your going to compare .

as usual those who is using turbo kit that tapau gsr , evo or vr4 can be proud off , but end then in of the day , the person who claim that must realise that his loosing his money on his engine , so that he can come out with that kind of statement . and im sure the other party will be smiling and keep saying to him self , aiyah that one turbo kit , wasting time la :lol: . both party's ego there is where the flame starts :rolleyes: .
i think u have ur point dere also.....if i meet those kancil turbo and alway "phhissshhh" beside i just ignore them....if they continue to do so...when i pissed off then they know what is "phhissshhh" plus "GRRRrrrr"sound....and the feeling of being tailgate by a bigger car...hahaha but those kancil driver with turbo or not, i really look UP on them....can zig zag here and there..like kamikaze driver and in the end of the day in Kopi Shop, they tell thier buddy, a wira with Vr4, evo loss to me ohhh... :lol:

Originally posted by vestax@Oct 26 2004, 02:33

yup...vestax is right :)
u can be proud of ur car when tapau those stock vr4. but that vr4 driver will think like "wah...spent so much money onli can tapau my car so little...if i spend tat much on my vr4 n d result will be totally different" get wat i mean?? both party have their own reason :)

i cant transplant engine...so have to go NA turbocharge...if not...i DEFINITELY will go engine transplant :)

btw, its not 4g92 turbo...its d16y8 turbo (1.6 sohc vtec) lol ;) ;)

again...my rm1M worth of opinion :lol: :lol:

oh... sohc turbo ah? hahaha.. sorry ya! KEkeke... my mistake! Tot u meant 4G92 turbo... quite impossible oso to catch VR4... but sohc vtec turbo i no comments. =)

Eh.. now i remember... u're the guy selling off his sohc turbo kit rite? =) Sold aledi?

haha no worries mate

yea...d turbokit sold...car also sold :lol: :lol:

Cancel my visit to VAZ MAZ JB for bolt on WAJA 1.6M laaaaaaa if a lot of comments for bolt on TEBOOOO.....

Re: turboe'd 4G15

4g15 bot... get a good quality of metal gasket, if not, it will easily putus... like mine... :saint:

Sorry bro.. But the gasket sold to u isn't doing much to reduce the compression ratio. So,it's recommended to stay below 0.5 bar on stock injectors.

But I recently recon that there's a lower compression pistons from 4G15 magma or megavalve version. If i'm not mistaken la.

if only people who wants a bit power to their cars, it is ok..just run for lower boost..but dont expect to be powerful as the vr4..got the extra power to overtake, i think it is ok..maybe the owner wants to try something for their cars, itchy hands...needs to extract remaining horses..orait lor...

dun underestimate 4g92 mivec turbo.. it all depent how u mode and how much u spent......i currently having a mivec turbo...... major mod are hybrid gsr 1.8 block, fuel pump,fuel regulator,emanage blue,racing clutch,low comp. piston and conrod, turbo tdo5h rebore hybrid with tdo6 fan and etc.... spended almost 30k.... can play wif evos.... but i do smoked 1 evo 3 before...... so dun underestimate turbo... just dun mod halfway and go show ur blow of..... become a joke since a stock b16a vtec also able to smoke u......i recomment not to bot a 4g15 since the engine is already not that reliable at na mode (my experience, 4th years already oil leaking here and there)... save the money and transplant a better engine,recomment mivec 4g92 na.....reliable and gud fc... powerful also..... conclusion, if u dun hav that much budget, for get about the bot plan on 4g15, since it will shorten ur engine life and in fact it will also lead ur 4g15 to go to junkyard too.... :burnout:

In my humble opinion, through my shallow knowledge, and some little experience... Nothing isu durable if modded halfway or incomplete or improper modification...

As far as fundamental engineering is concern, we go back to the purpose the engine is designed for... Sorry, I'm not being offensive, but just imagine 30k on an EVO, what kind of result are we looking at, where every performance parts are cheaper and more durable...

Sorry for interupting again... Of course, money and good reengineering is everything automotive is all about. But as a matter of fact, there are also economic way of enjoying what we are having on hand...

Ok, for 4G15 BOT, U can look for 4G15 MAGMA pistons, which is a plug ang play low compression pistons for 4G15. On top of that, u can send ur valve for regrinding in order to achieve a turbocharged designed cam profile to reduce the overlapping so that u won't lose so much power at the low end. For fun purpose, MHI TD04L/GARRETT T25 is a nice turbo for street, but U'll expect the powerband ranged from 3k-5.6krpm. Nice for a 1.5 stroker up to 1.3 bars @ 6krpm.

If the car is to be used on street as daily drive, I won't recommend a TD05 16G, I'd advise to go for a TD05 14B at most or a TD04 HL with 1.5 bar of boost... It'll lead u up to 160WHP-180WHP... Very nice for street with not so much lag...

Management is something u really need when u turbocharged ur 4G15 as the ECU are mapped based on the Naturally Aspirated flow. E-manage is sufficient to control injectors up to 150% of the stock ECU defined capacity(cc). Higher than that, U'll face idle/low end rich problem. If you want to further increase or up boost, it's strongly advisable to have a set of injector harness and sub injectors for e-manage to handle access fuel requirement at full boost.

Basically, ur engine will last. IF TUNED NICELY. If U've extra budget, go for standalones... U'll never regret one. The only reason for regretting getting a standalone is when U messed up with the tuner.

Afterall, it's ok to BOT ur 4G15. Just my 2 cents opinion. Happ modding.

the thing is, when you bot 4g15, u feel the improvement. then you started to smoke other 4g15 until to lose to another car. then the never ending crave for power issue comes. and u continue to think how to improve the power, up boost, mod this n that, end up a failed case. not many ppl can live with a bot 4g15 n sastified with the power. but if you get a gsr or evo engine, you can boost untill 300bhp, which the power will satisfy you, coz u wont even get near to the 100% power of 300bhp coz u dont need that peak power. only this way might get u satisfied at least 80%

---------- Post added at 11:27 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:25 AM ----------

If the car is to be used on street as daily drive, I won't recommend a TD05 16G, I'd advise to go for a TD05 14B at most or a TD04 HL with 1.5 bar of boost... It'll lead u up to 160WHP-180WHP... Very nice for street with not so much lag...

this setup, is good to have 180whp, but the question is will it respond as fast as a dohc turbo ?