Turbo Flutter..any cure? ..Need Advice.

Taemun

Dear sifus and turbo kakis,

my car is on stock turbo and diverter valve, recently after slowing down or backing-off the throttle at the back of slow cars, the pppppppppfffffffffffrrrrrrrrrr.........pppppffffffffrrrrrrr ......pppppppfffffrrrrrr .....sound coming from the engine compartment. Is it a turbo flutter? Any cure or remedy for it? Whatever feedbacks are highly appreciated. Thank you very much.

Dear sifus and turbo kakis,

my car is on stock turbo and diverter valve, recently after slowing down or backing-off the throttle at the back of slow cars, the pppppppppfffffffffffrrrrrrrrrr.........pppppffffffffrrrrrrr ......pppppppfffffrrrrrr .....sound coming from the engine compartment. Is it a turbo flutter? Any cure or remedy for it? Whatever feedbacks are highly appreciated. Thank you very much.

that is what you call compressor surge , few posibilities
1. diverter valve is jammed
2. diverter valve too stiff
3. diverter valve too big for ur setup

best to let us know wht diverter valve r u using and wht engine, wht turbo , wht system , compressor surge will bring down ur turbos life

the car is Airtrek Turbo with stock turbo and stock diverter valve.

Is it bad signs to have turbo flutter?

some old turbo cars don't even have BOV's as stock. i reckon them BOV's only remove flutter noise. nothing on the side effects on the turbine's life. :hmmmm:

Last edited by a moderator:
some old turbo cars don't even have BOV's as stock. i reckon them BOV's only remove flutter noise. nothing on the side effects on the turbine's life. :hmmmm:

nop, bov's do not remove flutter noise, thts not the correct term , bov reduces or eliminates compressor surge which causes that noise, compressor surge in long run will reduce ur turbo's life. u do not see bov's on rally cars because they have other reasons.. if u need to knw then i will explain